Kitty 4/28 amps and pmps-- Frustrated and Over PZI!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning All!

Kitty pmps 377-- I shot 3.2. I consider staying at 3.00, but thought I would try the 3.2 on the lower preshot and see what it gives us.

She is scheduled for fluids today. Even though her preshots are higher than I would like--she acts like she feels great, other than the arthritis-- and she looks Great!

I just want to Thank all that are "filling in" for Sue! I can't tell you how much I appreciate your help, and knowing someone is here to assist us. I am looking foward to Sue's return, but also hope all of you will stay around and continue to help our Group. Once again, "Thanks!"


Kim and Kitty
 
Re: Kitty 4/28 amps and pmps

Morning Kim,

I think you made the right call with 3.2u at a lower PS to see if it will give you a little more traction. We would really like to see those PS's start coming down.

Have a great day.

Robin
 
Re: Kitty 4/28 amps and pmps

Disappointing-- pmps 493.

She got fluids an hour before the test- and I do have to feed her some while administering them. The "excitement" of the fluids and the food, I am sure spiked her some.

I will shoot 3.2 after she finishes eating.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how or why we are losing our pink preshots?

I am about to give up on prozinc. It seems like it is very unpredictable.

Frustrated in Kittyville!
 
Nothing different going on.

I am single and work a full time job- 6 days a week and travel a lot with work. It is very hard to get mid cycle numbers.

I might take her to the vet for a curve tomorrow--- but, we all know how those numbers can be influenced. I truly have thought about hiring a vet tech to come in and test her mid cycle each day. I am at a loss-- and in the 3 months I have been here, I have yet to see many cats with regulated numbers on prozinc.

There are a few cats that have gone OTJ--but very few have become
regulated that I have witnessed-- 200 preshots and nadirs in the 100s.

Asher, Sam, Samwise, Henry, Harley.... These moms and their Kitties have tested,tested,tested and tried everything--- but, none appear totally regulated. I know I am ranting (thanks for letting me!)

I think maybe I should just shoot 3.5 like the vet said and be like most owners and just let it ride. I don't want to do that-- because I love Kitty- but, I am seeing very few positive results.


Sorry can't test more-- I do the best I can.
 
This is the best and safest place to rant, so rant all you like.

The problem would be if you went with one of the L's more mid day testing would be necessary.

Getting a friend or the vet tech to come in and test is a great idea and would work with any insulin.

If you can't get any tests during the week you could resign youself to curve on your day off, make any adjustments you want and be ok with it until the next weekend.

Actually there have been more than a few that have gotten regulated or OTJ on PZ but once they get there they tend to dissappear off the board.

I'm gonna go look at your ss again.

You should maybe go over and read the stickies for Lantus and Lev to see if one of them would work for you.

Robin
 
I hope you did not feel criticized by my saying it is hard to guess without more data. That is a statement of fact, not a criticism. Of course you are doing the best you can, and nobody can ask more. Life is hard that way. Now that you are doing preshot testing, maybe you should try following your vet's recommendation for a bit. AnD if that doesn't work, it's not out of line to consider changing insulins. The problem is that their protocols require even more testing. You have quite dilemma. I don't envy you this situation. :sad:
 
I want to help Kim...what can I possibly do? study the SS....talk to you? I wonder if anyone lives close by? I'll look at brb.
 
No one lives close by-- I live in a rural area in eastern NC. I am fine with testing, shooting etc -- just frustrated!

We have been through DKA, after our vet suggested once a day dosing. I am now giving sub Qs-- we are trying so hard and just getting no where. Well, she does act better and looks better-- so all is not lost.

There are very few vets in the area--- and none that I have found that support home testing etc.

I will be fine, there is no way I will quit on Kitty- I am just frustrated.
 
yep, i can totally understand your at the end of your rope...and very frustrated.
you can only do what you can do Kim. that is the reality.
you feed the low carb...you give insulin.....most importantly you love on and care for kitty, give her security, warmth and whatever else she wants from you (sans kibble)
insulin change will not work well for you...unless....and this is a big unless....
my friend cindy and mouse puts in 13 - 15 hour days at work...she has like 14 cats...she does 5 days a week, but is very busy on weekends.
pzi was not working for mousie after years and years.
she switched to lantus knowing full well she could not do what the lantus folk do.
she settles for a curve when she can.
and basically hanging in the blues is good enuf for her.
she does'nt take chances...she shoots low...she keeps her expectations realistic.
would you like to try this.
with levemir preferably.
with that i could help you.
 
lori and tom said:
yep, i can totally understand your at the end of your rope...and very frustrated.
you can only do what you can do Kim. that is the reality.
you feed the low carb...you give insulin.....most importantly you love on and care for kitty, give her security, warmth and whatever else she wants from you (sans kibble)
insulin change will not work well for you...unless....and this is a big unless....
my friend cindy and mouse puts in 13 - 15 hour days at work...she has like 14 cats...she does 5 days a week, but is very busy on weekends.
pzi was not working for mousie after years and years.
she switched to lantus knowing full well she could not do what the lantus folk do.
she settles for a curve when she can.
and basically hanging in the blues is good enuf for her.
she does'nt take chances...she shoots low...she keeps her expectations realistic.
would you like to try this.
with levemir preferably.
with that i could help you.

waaaaaaaaait :-) must clarify a couple things.
pzi worked great for us actually. i absolutely loved the stuff. and so did Mousie. Mousie was exceptionally regulated on pzi. many admired her regulation on it even, with her perfect curves she gave us. buttttt, we did not use prozinc. we used pzi, by Idexx. if it was still available i'd still be using it actually. it's flexibility was our saving grace given the hours i work. we only switched to lantus because our pzi was discontinued over some stupid technicality and because i fell into $200 of free lantus. :-D

since many of you came along after our switch to lantus, thus probably not aware of my Mousie and I, I must explain a couple things. Mousie is a Type 1 diabetic, unlike probably 95% of other diabetic cats. she is indeed a different breed of diabetes than most kitties seen here so while she never went into remission on pzi, she's not going to on lantus or any other insulin either because remission does not happen in Type 1's like it does in Type 2's.

just wanted to clarify that pzi didn't fail us but it was pzi, not pz, and Mousie is not a candidate for remission like many here strive for. i will agree that my expectations are realistic for sure. i expect to keep her in the best numbers i can for as long as i can and see if she can make it to be the longest living insulin dependent diabetic kitty on the planet **anti-jinx** :-D given that she was diagnosed at 4.5 years old and is now nearing 9.5 years old, we may just make it as she still runs around like crazy, and has not developed any other complications, and still seems oblivious to the fact she has a disease. yeahhhhhhh. she still is typically under 160 i'd say about 85% of the time, and under 100 probably 50% of the time, as she was on pzi, and while she still has to have her insulin every day, i have no problem with those numbers or giving her that insulin for the next 9 years or however long she chooses to put up with me :-D

now to the lantus thing. yes, i went in to lantus knowing full well i cannot live by the meter like many do if typical protocols are followed. i just let everyone know up front what i could and could not do and where i could, i DID do the extra testing, i.e. nighttime, weekends, holidays, etc..... that was no problem for anyone giving me guidance either. they understood there's no way in hell i can do mid-day testing during the week so i would make up for it by doing it at night or on the weekends. simple.

our shots are very rarely 12 hours apart but often during the week more like 11 & 13 hours or even 10 & 14 hours sometimes depending on how busy work is. the only time we have a problem with shot schedule and an effect on Mousie is if we work exceptionally long and two shots are due within let's say 8 or 9 hours of each other. often then i have to reduce or skip so as to avoid serious overlap that results in too low of numbers. for us that's no big deal as Mousie tends to get right back on track with her numbers within the next two shots. for others, that causes big problems and keeps kitty out of control though soooooooo

bear in mind that Mousie has never been one to run wild with her numbers. she's made this dance relatively easy for me, other than the first few months on each insulin so while i say do what you can with what works for your life, if your kitty has other concerns like a history of ketones or is especially sensitive to insulin or has pancreatitis or whatever, each person has to take all that into consideration when deciding what to do and what their goals are. i think everyone's number one goal should be to have a happy healthy kitty for as long as possible, even above remission in my opinion.

and yes, i don't do curves very often. for us there's not much need in all honesty after all these years. i do amps and pmps and once in a while i get a spot check here or there. to be 100% honest, if i do any testing between shots it's more often because Mousie looks a bit "off" or is acting a bit hyper and sure enough when i do those spot checks, she's a bit on the low side and needs some food. like i said, she makes it all pretty easy for me so while we're probably not a very good example to use as far as religious testing or analyzing data and making adjustments, we certainly are as far as working with what you've got to work with.

i'm just not too comfortable telling people with complicated kitties to do as we do though so do keep that in mind when comparing your kitty to mine and making decisions as to what to do next. i do think though that lantus and levemir work fantastically well in kitties, especially if the human can have patience, but i would like it to be a bit more flexible and forgiving than it is so it could work it's magic for even more kitties :roll:
 
sorry cindy for making you the example. i echo what you say about the difference between pzi and pro zinc and i have to admit...the pro zinc in my opinion is just not cutting it.
pzi seemed to be a better quality insulin...or at least we knew better how to work it.

as for using you as an example i did'nt remember mousie being so well regulated all along...but the point is still the same. it can be done without the 'regimen' it would be done much more conservatively without remission being the goal....or even days of greens.
just some routine blues and even amps and pmps.

thomas and i have had such success with levemir after 1 year struggeling on pro zinc.
and to be sure..at dx in '07 thomas was on pzi for a total of 28 days and went otj..no more insulin for 2.5 years until he had to go back on. by that time there was no more pzi. and the pro zzinc had us in the chronic 600's. thank god never a ketone, not a one.

i wish i could come over and test your kitty everyday for you! and teach you levemir.
i really really do. but of course we work with what we have.

cindy i'm surprised you saw this....glad you are reading here...we certainly need help as you might be able to see. lots of unsettled kitties and nervous mommies.

lori
and lord thomas.
 
Wow--thanks got the detailed response!

Truly, my goal is not to get Kitty in remission. My Kitty is 15.5 and I care about her quality of life-- more than the quanity. We have had a Great life together and I want to keep her around as long as her quality is good. I am not
looking non-diabetic numbers.

I know Prozinc is the most flexible insulin and for that reason my first choice. But, we don't seem to be getting a good response from it.

I keep thinking things will stabilize-- but....

We will continue the dance with Prozinc for now. I have inquired about lev from two of the better vets in town and neither have used it.

Thanks again for sharing your experiences with Mousie!
 
I think overall we have gotten overly conservative in the PZI forum and many kitties here are underdosed. The ones I have seen go OTJ or come close have either had "easy kitties", have had low-dose kitties, or have dosed more aggressively, either higher doses and keeping the pressure on green nadirs, or doing something like TID. With the exception of a few kitties who have been overdosed and have benefitted from a dose decrease, I see lots of cats where the doses just seem to hover in a small range and never get increased enough to see what an increase will do. I think we (myself included) have seen this "resistance" to a dose where a lowered dose actually works better, and then have run with that to the point where we seem to recommend that for almost every cat, and encourage all this fine tuning that for at least some cats never gets them the insulin they need.

I know I am guilty of all of the above, and I know when I see others suggest the same thing I start going nailbite_smile maybe they are right and maybe the dose is too high. But from a reality check perspective, I think more or less across the board if you don't have clearcut rebound or inverse curves, and a cat is in #s consistently higher than greens & blues, the odds are the dose is too low.

On the Ls, correct me if I'm wrong, but I think they basically just shoot the cr*p out of stuff like liver-training rebound and general dose resistance, and don't ask questions. Right? I mean on the Ls if you see pinks and yellows you keep on a dose increase path, no one ever muddles around with "is the dose too high", right? I think that's where we really suffer on PZI, there's so much variability in how we approach doses that then we all just collapse at some point in a huge puddle of confusion. I guess I can only speak for myself, and I know I am tired and grumpy right now and should probably stop typing. ohmygod_smile

Ok done ranting. :-D

For Kitty, my recommendation would be to increase 0.2u every third day, and get in an early to mid cycle spot test (+2 - +6 or so) as many cycles as you can. She's not going to come down from those numbers on her own, and my experience is that after about 2 days on a dose it is unlikely to improve, with a few exceptions. Of course your schedule might not permit that, so I would say do the increases when you can - I wouldn't want you to keep increasing w/o being able to get in some spot tests at least every other day to be sure she is not getting unexpected low nadirs.

As to your thoughts on not getting much response, my experience is that is due to a dose being too low. With Bix I saw some drops here and there but nothing consistent until I got systematic about dose increases. It is scary though I know.
 
Hi Kim,

This is your 4th cycle on 3.2u, you could stay with it until you get another curve then think about going to 3.4u.

Please feel free to look at my Harley's ss, he is very well regulated these days, most days he is below 150 and has been flirting with OTJ (anti jinx) lately but isn't quite there yet. This is a marathon to be sure.

Robin
 
oh you just made me realize ... I miss Bix!...

you are right Joanna..for the most part. many folks are under dosing and fear is rampant.
with someone right now who I thought might be overdosing so far so good with the experiment...except don't think she should have dropped dose so soon again.

for the L's...no. I know we all get that impression her in this room. I don't practice the protocol. but generally the numbers are flatter. so in that way you are safe shooting a much lower number becuase all things being equal you should not expect big drops or big rises. thomas can float on a 86 for like 8 hours. shot on a 120 .
As for their protocol...i don't know what the heck they are doing and i certainly am not comfy with some of it.
but protocol or not...they just seem like better insulins.
and you know i would not say this...lightly.

i will stick with this room as i spent so much time here. and this will be the last time i bag pro zinc as it's not good for moral.

so i'm done.

lori
and lord thomas.
 
LOL Joanna! I'm tired & grumpy also!

Thanks Cindy for posting, it did help to read about your experience. I've been thinking I don't know how in the world I can keep up with a schedule like this. I want what's best for Thumper but this is seriously taking over my life, I've been letting everything else go. It's no ones fault but my own. I'm so consumed with taking care of her. I've also been thinking every day I will get the "magic" dose but it's something different each day. I've got to figure out how to relax about it. I keep reading but I'm not retaining anything cause I'm tired. With that said I need to quit rambling! Thanks to everyone for your help & support!
 
Robin-- thanks and I agree that I need to increase to 3.4-- probably sooner rather than later! I have looked at your Harley's ss and am most impressed I admire your effort and results. Just to clarify an earlier statement I made-- my reference to Harley was Laura and Harley.

Joanna--I agree with you. I think we are conservative and most are concerned with hypo-- heck look at Kitty's preshots, and I still wake up at night to look at her and be sure she is breathing!!!!! lol


So, I will see were Kitty is tomorrow morning and increase If necessary!

Judy-- I didn't take your comment concerning data as criticism.

Thanks to all Of you!
 
i put three different songs for you where you requested them...i think on thumpers thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top