Kim -- read this re Aloe Vera juice & pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

sophie

Active Member
Kim,
I remember an elderly neighbor using Aloe Vera juice to help her kitties and me during some stomach bug attack. I believe it really works in some cases. Have you tried it? I also left it in my Pudge update.

Kim, I'm going to quote something from this evening's Health forum re plain unflavored Aloe Vera juice as a help in pancreatitis. It's in 4/26 thread "Newly diagnosed cat won't eat" - the entry at 7:48 pm from Cheryl A'Purrson:
We are totally new to feline diabetes, but old fogie to handling kitties with pancreatitis and/ or IBD without fd.!

Years ago a friend involved in kitty rescue recommended plain unflavored Aloe Vera juice when my older kitty was having issues and diagnosed with Pancreatitis. I was a doubter and didn't discuss with vet right away, finally asked him. He didn't know anything about it but said we could try it so we did. Gave via dropper to mouth drop at a time, initially like 1 cc/ day. Freckles did much better but being doubter thought it was other things vet used, until we ran out, came home and he threw up all over the place poor guy, looked like projectile war zone. :lol: cleaned up went and got more plain unflavored aloe juice, dosed him and next day he was out of meatloaf position running around with his brother. And eating and keeping food down.

Vet knew of good result, kept him on it rest of his life, gradual increased dose.
When Missy was diagnosed with elevated liver enzymes I didn't stop or ask just started her on aloe juice pronto, initially via dropper then mixed in one meal a day. Immediate appetite improvement. She's still on it, vet knows and recommends to others now.
She gets about 20 cc mixed in dinner of canned food, plain, unflavored Aloe Vera juice (NOT GEL).
I get it at whole foods and know it works.
Just my experience.

At this point she might need the tube feeding as probably with hepatic lipidosis :cry:
Missy 18 yr old April 2012
Dx April 23 2012 BG 415 ;Steroid induced
On Prednisolone for elev

Please take as good care of yourself as you do of Kitty. All my best, Sophie
 
YES! I am reading! I am willing to try it!

I actually searched it out last night after reading Sophie's post and it seems it is a recommended holistic supplement for Pancreatitis. It seems to have anti inflammatory effects. We have very little to lose--- I am going to try it!
 
Hadn't thought about it for kitties, but my dad used to swear by it. He kept a gallon jug in the fridge (liked it cold) and drank straight from the jug. (Yes, I'm SURE it was Aloe Vera juice :lol: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top