Kitty Cat 9/17 dose reduction following hypo

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Christina & Kitty Cat, Sep 17, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Christina & Kitty Cat

Christina & Kitty Cat Member

Previous thread
    PM+11 is 400.

History:
    9/13 keytones small
    9/15 hypoglycemia
    9/16 reduced from 1u lantus to 0.5 AM & PM

Having trouble getting in touch with vet. What should I do about insulin dose now regarding reduction?
    Carryover from previous post, @Wendy&Neko Does this advice still stand?

Last edited: Sep 17, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Sue and Luci

Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

I would agree with Wendy and give .75 this morning

3. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

I wish I was more educated but I would be inclined to agree with Wendy. I am a veteran of this site but by no means an "expert".
    If you are worried about hypo ( as I would be) go with the safe dose. You have everything you needs should Kitty go low and know how to use, But I would be worried about the keytones

4. Christina & Kitty Cat

Just heard back from the vet. she said to put him back on 1u 2x day, not 0.75u, to get out of the 400s. Does this sound okay to you guys?

5. jt and trouble (GA)

Kitty just had a hypo scare. I think Wendy's suggestion is valid. Does the vet know about the hypo?

6. Christina & Kitty Cat

yes, she does. but I just called to speak with her on the phone instead of email to talk through it. waiting on a call back. the vet office I usually go to had a fire (everyone is okay) but things are probably hectic over there so I just want to call and make sure theres no miscommunication.

7. Sue and Luci

I'm ordering better syringes with half/quarter lines today, but for now i'm still estimating.