KHAN-FINALLY ready to switch to LANTUS! +12 do it now?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
Ok Khan's spreadsheet is attached. He has been on fancy feast low carb for 6 wks, Humulin N for longer and being monitored for about 6 wks (not all the early data is on SS). I FINALLY received the Lantus solostar pens from Canada.. What should I give him to start with? Do I start tonight or wait until the weekend? I know start low but how low? 0.25? I will read all the stickies.. If it is easier for someone to call me send me a PM and I'm open to chatting. Either I give him the Humulin N or the Lantus since his time to get insulin is now. He ate 20 mins or so ago. thanks.
 
bump for feedback

hi there

Good work on the spreadsheet.
I am not familiar with Humulin, what has your vet advised you?
Have you received any other dosing options here on the board?
Do you know Khan's ideal weight?


Just so you are aware, Suggestions for Advice Givers we do like to encourage, as well as the rest of the board, to keep all advice public, for the safety of your kitty and peer review.

Keep your advice public. Helping cats is a team effort, and it's undermined when people are receiving offline advice, unknown to the rest of the group. Many sets of eyes are better than one

We would love to see you posting daily if you can, or at least once a week, so we can keep up to dat date on your kitty's progress.
Let's see what others can suggest.
 
Thanks- I will post daily and probably more than once. My vet is all about switching to lantus. We were both waiting very anxiously since it took over 2 wks to get the lantus. His recommendation is from ACVIM 2005 Dr. Jacquie Rand. He is not familiar with Lantus, knows I'm working with this board and is very excited to see how well Khan reacts to the Lantus. In fact he is so on board that the clinic diabetic cat protocol will most likely be changing from Humulin N to lantus! Really appreciate the support I get from here. I'm a bit nervous right now to inject the lantus. Vet's recommendation is based off that study and Khan's wt. I can't seem to find what the vet wrote up-darn it! but I do have all the insulin information and study..which states: if under 360 Bg give o.25 U/kg SC every 12 hrs based on cat's ideal wt and moniter w/glucose curves daily for 3 days. well I have to work tomorrow so it just maybe best if I wait until friday night to do this. Plus I'm not sure if the needles came with the pens or not. Pens are something VERY new to me.
 
Khan isn't even 10 pounds he had lost over 6 pounds when he was hospitalized back in may or June..I have to look back at my calendar..then I'll post exact dates for him. I didn't get to this board until right before labor day when it was recommended I put him down. I was appalled and NO WAY!! I believed there was something more I could do and I was determiend to find the people to help me. Wa LA..here I found this board.. it took reading here to understand Lantus and then to discuss with my Vet switching..but took over 2 wks to get ..today I just received the Lantus. I am very anxious to get going on it.. I believe he will regulate with this. do the pens come with needles ? and then I purchase new needles to put on for second injection?
 
Ok this is what I'm going to do.. give Humulin N right now, buy needles tomorrow..this will give me time to talk to my vet again, buy needles and read more of the stickies. I will post again tomorrow Khan's numbers and be ready to give the Lantus. I will get up every hr if I have to test him. He sleeps rt next to me.
 
Given that we're probably past your shot time, I'd suggest giving the N, if you've not already done so. Starting on the weekend is likewise an option.

Lantus initial dose can be based on the ideal weight of your cat. If your can you give us Khan's ideal weight and we can look at your current SS/dose of N and make a suggestion as to a starting dose of Lantus. You have the formula correct: initial dose = ideal weight in kilograms x 0.25. However, if the cat has previously been on another type of insulin, that dose can be taken into account.

Just for the future, while there is usually a crowd hanging around in LL, it's best to give a little larger window if you need a hand with a dose recommendation.

DO NOT use the needles that come with the pen!! Use a syringe. The pens will only dose in either whole (maybe half) units. You need a syringe, preferably one with half unit markings, in order to better calibrate doses. If you've read the protocol, you will note that doses are often changed in increments of 0.25u. The pens cannot dose with that degree of accuracy.
 
when you pull the cap off the pen you will see a little grey circle at the top. you just stick your syringe in that and draw up the insulin that way, then shoot. don't roll or shake the lantus -- it is ready to go as is.
personally i'd start at 0.75 or 1u every 12 hrs, from looking at your numbers. he had some action at 0.75u with humulin, tho maybe it was from eating less or exercising more or something.

look at the tilly protocol, tho, and see what his dose would be if he were dosed by weight... (if you can't find a copy of tilly quickly, you'll find a link to it if you click the first link in my signature)
 
I was just going to say that too - you'll want to get syringes with 1/2 unit markings, makes measuring much easier!
We also like to suggest a +11 or +11.50 spot check - just a little heads up before your PMPS or AMPS is due, if you can of course, when you need a dosing suggestion.
Do print out the stickies, especially the protocol we follow here.
Read other condo's, spreadsheets when you have free time too - lots to learn by visiting others!
 
Yes I completely agree... read read read.. it is best to know what to be prepared for and be confident. I feel so stupid because I thought I had to buy seperate needles for the pens. I didn't realize the insulin is drawn up. I have the syringes-same as what I've been using for the Humulin N. 0.3ml 29 gauge 1/2" super thin syringes from walgreens. Are these ok for Lantus as well-just confirming.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top