Ketones Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kshoopla

Member Since 2023
Hi, although I have learned a lot about glucose levels, ketone testing is kind of new for me. I do know that my cat is testing low and has ok numbers. However, I have noticed that each time I test for ketones (approximately once per month), he goes up .1

Per his spreadsheet attached to my bio, the first test was .2, then .3, .3, .4, and today .5

Although it's low and increasing in very small increments, will it continue to rise and is there anything I can do to regulate? He gets .75 units twice per day and eats low carb dry and wet.

Thank you for any insight!
 
A blood ketone result if 0.1 or 0.5 is nothing to be concerned about

However I am concerned when I look at your spreadsheet. It looks as if you are only testing every so often and rarely during the cycles. Looking at the SS we have no idea if the 0.75 unit dose is anywhere near a good dose.
It is really important you test before every dose to see it is safe to give the dose and then try and get a test in during the cycle. At night you could get a before bed test in. At the moment you are not following SLGS.
Do you think you could do some more frequent testing to keep Stan safe?
 
I agree with Bron, as well. The minimum number of tests needed to ensure that your cat is in safe numbers is 4. You always need to get a pre-shot test in order to know if it's safe to give insulin. You also need to get one additional test during both the AM and PM cycle. Glargine dosing is based on how low the dose brings your cat's numbers. You have no idea if your cat needs a dose increase or a dose reduction. Those numbers that are over 300 could be the result of Stan dropping to 30 earlier in the cycle.
 
Hi, although I have learned a lot about glucose levels, ketone testing is kind of new for me. I do know that my cat is testing low and has ok numbers. However, I have noticed that each time I test for ketones (approximately once per month), he goes up .1

Per his spreadsheet attached to my bio, the first test was .2, then .3, .3, .4, and today .5

Although it's low and increasing in very small increments, will it continue to rise and is there anything I can do to regulate? He gets .75 units twice per day and eats low carb dry and wet.

Thank you for any insight!
Thank you. I do need to test more. I got out of the habit because I saw that he never doesn’t need a shot after testing consistently for months in the beginning. The .75 was what his curves dictated after trying both .5 and 1. But I’m sure things can change and I will test more. Thank you for the info.
 
I agree with Bron, as well. The minimum number of tests needed to ensure that your cat is in safe numbers is 4. You always need to get a pre-shot test in order to know if it's safe to give insulin. You also need to get one additional test during both the AM and PM cycle. Glargine dosing is based on how low the dose brings your cat's numbers. You have no idea if your cat needs a dose increase or a dose reduction. Those numbers that are over 300 could be the result of Stan dropping to 30 earlier in the cycle.
Thank you, I wasn’t aware that Glargine dosing is based on how low it brings the numbers.
 
I agree with Bron, as well. The minimum number of tests needed to ensure that your cat is in safe numbers is 4. You always need to get a pre-shot test in order to know if it's safe to give insulin. You also need to get one additional test during both the AM and PM cycle. Glargine dosing is based on how low the dose brings your cat's numbers. You have no idea if your cat needs a dose increase or a dose reduction. Those numbers that are over 300 could be the result of Stan dropping to 30 earlier in the cycle.
When you say I need to know if I should increase or decrease the dose, do you mean each time, or just one change for a 2-week period to reassess?
 
When you say I need to know if I should increase or decrease the dose, do you mean each time, or just one change for a 2-week period to reassess?
Since you are following the SLGS method here is the info from the yellow sticky
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Any tests since 8-3?

@Kshoopla
 
There is always the possibility that you would need to reduce the dose more than once in a one week (not 2 week) period. If you're unsure, post and ask for help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top