Kazi's first successful glucose check.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda

Active Member
And her number this morning is 144. I lost it and started crying I was so happy! She was diagnosed on the 4th and changed over to low carb/high protein wet food on the 18th-- at that time I was afraid of giving her the entire dose so she's been getting around 1/2 a unit of the Vetsulin. We haven't switched from that because I wanted to get the blood glucometer first.

The next step is to check again this PM when she is due for her next shot right? I'd like to try and do a curve but I hate to prick her that many times when it takes me a few attempts each time as it is.

Cross your fingers for us!
 
Shooting 1/2 unit of Vetsulin with a PS of 144 could drop the BG too low. What was the previous dose last evening? I would check the BG at two hours after shot (+2) and maybe at +4 depending upon the +2 reading.
 
I had read that below 150 you don't give anything- so she didn't get any insulin this morning. Last night she got approx 1/2 a unit.
 
Welcome to the vampire club!

You can start taking more frequent tests after a few days when the pricking gets easier on you and Kazi, and believe me in a week you'll be an old hand. You're doing great!
 
Gratz on your first test!!! It really does get so much easier.. and now you know it's possible, so you can have a "tough luck Kazi, it's happening" attitude :). You'll hear it here lots.. the more you test the better.. I buggered up Nova's ears so bad for quite a while when I first started testing, you would think she'd never talk to me again.. but.. she volunteers (for the treats ;) )..

I am 150% sure, it IS way worse on us then it is on them.
 
We are at 194 at +6 from her last check, 18 hours since her last shot. Not what I was hoping, but still not bad?

Is there a link to info somewhere on dosing- as in what number with the vetsulin I don't shoot at? I plan to switch insulin here soon but with her numbers being pretty good I am hesitant to throw everything off.
 
The rule of thumb is no shot below 200. However, the specific number depends upon history of how the cat responds to the insulin. Some caretakers give a reduced dose at low BG based on experience.

In summary I think you have shot/measured BGs as follows:

Monday night gave 1/2 unit with no BG (+0)
Tuesday morning +12 BG 144
Tuesday afternoon +18 194

Depending upon the +24 reading some insulin may be appropriate.

When did you feed in relation to the above?

For the time being I would not change insulin since the Vetsulin seems to be working. With a diet change and a little Vetsulin insulin may no longer be required after a short time.
 
She is fed around 8:45AM and PM and given a shot directly after finishing- so usually somewhere around 9:00-9:10 . Days that I work in the morning its a bit later...shot by 9:20 or so. So Monday night fed and then shot around 9:00. Checked bg at around 9:00 this morning and fed directly after.

At +24 her PMPS was 305 so I gave her 1/2 unit. I am dissapointed that it rose so much the last 6 hours but am hopeful she just needs more time to let things heal.
 
Just to give you some kind of timescale -- the best-dosed of cats often do indeed heal, needing less and less insulin.

The fastest I've heard of for this process is about 12 days, with average being closer to 8 weeks.

For the first week or two, I wouldn't even look for signs of it, just keep that blood sugar in the healthy low ranges all the time. If you can't keep the numbers under about 200 all the time, healing may take longer or may not happen.

Best regards,
Steve
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top