Kazi 8/25 AMPS (+23) 115 PMPS:124 +2.5:78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda

Member Since 2010
I was forced to skip Kazi's PM dose last night- I got home 2 hours past her normal shot time. I had her fed an hour before I made it home- BG:143. I decided to check her an hour later out of curiosity...BG:114. This morning we are at 115 and I am doing a little happy dance! ;-)

I gave her normal dose this morning with the logic that she is still a bit high for an OTJ trial & her pancreas still needs a bit of help. My assumption was that even with a food spike she can never go above 120 if we want to try for OTJ...is this correct or no?

Yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23193
 
Re: Kazi 8/25 AMPS (+23) 115 (OTJ QUESTION)

Happy dance indeed!

Amanda, would you be able to check her this morning? To see what she does?

Are you back on schedule?

Let's see what others can add to this thru the day.
 
Re: Kazi 8/25 AMPS (+23) 115 (OTJ QUESTION)

Yep- I have the day off so I will be home most of the day. We are back on schedule- shot was at normal time (9:00).
 
Re: Kazi 8/25 AMPS (+23) 115 (OTJ QUESTION)

Not to dampen your enthusiasm, but do keep in mind that you've still got some shed action helping to keep numbers down. That's by no means detracting from the fact that Kazi is doing beautifully.

Ideally, all numbers should be below 120. However, there have been any numbers of kitties who will throw an occasional number, usually the AMPS, that's above 120. When/if this happens, you feed a bit of LC and see if the cat's pancreas kicks in and spontaneously brings numbers back down in 3 - 4 hours.
 
Re: Kazi 8/25 AMPS (+23) 115 (OTJ QUESTION)

+1: 143. Just caught her stealing gravy from a skillet that someone left on the counter so I have a feeling she will stay higher today. :-x
 
Re: Kazi 8/25 AMPS (+23) 115 (OTJ QUESTION)

Does Kazi eat during the night at all? I started giving Raja a snack around 4 hours before her AMPS and found that the 4 hours gave her pancreas time to bring her numbers down. Likewise, a snack a +8 in AM cycle before the PMPS. Some people have results with feeding 3 hours, but Raja was even lower if I gave her the full 4 hours between. It was after her first OTJ trial when I tried this and she was successful for her second trial. I just kept doing the +7 or +8 snack at night for both of them since Nov and check Shadow's BG at that time each night now.
If Kazi's numbers are in the greens after 4 hours of eating, then her pancreas is working.. And that is a fine AMPS for her after 23.5 hours! She is looking great! Very nice work! Maybe try manipulating the times of her meals and you will see more green Preshots.
 
Re: Kazi 8/25 AMPS (+23) 115 (OTJ QUESTION)

+2: 114.

I had actually been toying with that idea- wondering if it would make a big difference for her. Not sure how I will incorporate it into my schedule just yet...but I can try and at the very least split her into 3 meals a day to see if that affects anything!
 
Re: Kazi 8/25 AMPS (+23) 115 (OTJ QUESTION)

+3.5: 114. That was kind of anti-climatic huh? :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top