Kazi 7/15 AMPS:126 +4.5:111 PMPS: 134 (1hr late)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda

Member Since 2010
We were at 120 for PMPS yesterday- did not have the nerve to shoot our regular dose and then set an alarm throughout the night. I dropped her dose from .25 to .10 and it looks like we're still doing good this morning! I went ahead and tried to give a smidge more today- .15, but with these tiny doses that gets hard to tell whether you're really giving more or not! Just need her to continue on this trend of dropping her AMPS and PMPS by 20 every couple of days 2 more times- Mommy wants an OTJ trial Kazi girl!

Link to yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19749
 
Re: Kazi 7/15 AMPS:126

Just a thought to consider...

Shifting doses they way you have the last couple of cycles may result in some wonky numbers. When you change a dose, the effect is often not immediate since you have the shed to consider. If you were worried about Kazi's dose last night, you might have wanted to get spot checks since the shed was still based on a slightly larger dose.

Kazi is doing great. Since Kazi is doing so well, at some point you are going to have to bite the bullet and begin to shoot your regular dose at lower numbers. One of the truisms of Lantus is, "Shoot low to stay low." Take a look at Mocha's condo for the last day for a beautiful example. It is nerve wracking the first couple of times and I would encourage you to shoot low at a time when you'll be home to monitor and when you can post so we can offer moral support.
 
Re: Kazi 7/15 AMPS:126

Last night I set an alarm and got a +7 to keep an eye on things- 129. As a general rule she doesn't seem to have a big drop- 40pts or so but obviously somewhere in there we are getting a second dip to give me lower PMPS again once she starts to rise. I would have shot the normal dose if she had given me the 120 in the AM but I had to get some sleep...busy afternoon with work today. Hoping her reduced dose is enough to hold her and doesn't screw everything up. :?
 
Re: Kazi 7/15 AMPS:126

Kazi is doing great!

The next step, if you want Kazi to have a good chance of going OTJ and staying there, is to bring his whole range down to green. The goal is to have him under about 120 all the time because that is the range where his pancreas can heal the best. I probably would have kept the 0.25 dose because it brought him to green, and I would want to see if it could start bringing green more often. I would suggest getting a late night spot check tonight, and if he doesn't get some green, consider increasing the dose back to 0.25. It's up to you, of course.
 
Thank you for the advice! I guess I'll be setting the alarm again....will go for +8 tonight and see where that takes us. If I could just be home for the crucial points- +6 through +8 I wouldn't worry so much. Tomorrow I can be home until +7, so depending on where we're at I may pop back up to .25.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top