Kaz PMPS -404

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claire and Kaz

Member Since 2022
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee

Hello All

So I think that there may be something wrong with the insulin I received from Mark's in Canada it seems like the only logical answer to Kaz's increased numbers.

So yes 7 days ago we had the treat issue but the next day I started using a new insulin pen (got three from Marks first and last order I think as huge waste money if this is the issue) and I have noticed that Kaz's numbers keep going up even when I increase the insulin dose.


So as I mentioned I ordered insulin at a Pharmacy in Canada as the cost was much less and this Forum strongly recommended this Pharmacy.


The insulin arrived a while ago and it was packed with ice and the box was still cold and the strip that came with the pens said the insulin was still good and was at the correct temp during transit.

The insulin took 7 days to get to me and would have been in customs for at least 2-3 days.


So about 4-5 days ago I started using one of these pens and did not really think much about it till tonight. Kaz’s numbers have been way higher than they should have been and I had to increase the insulin by .25 but still the numbers are high.


So I went on line to research insulin that was not kept at the correct temperature and found that it would not be as effective so now I am thinking that even though the package stated the insulin was good it may not be. Only tried one of the pens but I am now a bit worried and think that maybe I should pick up a insulin pen tomorrow as well and try that insulin to see if Kaz’s numbers go back to where they were.

Wanted to see if anyone else could suggest another reason why this could be happening. He's happy, he's eating and I am trying to do a Ketone test but I am positive this will be fine.

Thoughts????
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee

Hello All

So I think that there may be something wrong with the insulin I received from Mark's in Canada it seems like the only logical answer to Kaz's increased numbers.

So yes 7 days ago we had the treat issue but the next day I started using a new insulin pen (got three from Marks first and last order I think as huge waste money if this is the issue) and I have noticed that Kaz's numbers keep going up even when I increase the insulin dose.


So as I mentioned I ordered insulin at a Pharmacy in Canada as the cost was much less and this Forum strongly recommended this Pharmacy.


The insulin arrived a while ago and it was packed with ice and the box was still cold and the strip that came with the pens said the insulin was still good and was at the correct temp during transit.

The insulin took 7 days to get to me and would have been in customs for at least 2-3 days.


So about 4-5 days ago I started using one of these pens and did not really think much about it till tonight. Kaz’s numbers have been way higher than they should have been and I had to increase the insulin by .25 but still the numbers are high.


So I went on line to research insulin that was not kept at the correct temperature and found that it would not be as effective so now I am thinking that even though the package stated the insulin was good it may not be. Only tried one of the pens but I am now a bit worried and think that maybe I should pick up a insulin pen tomorrow as well and try that insulin to see if Kaz’s numbers go back to where they were.

Wanted to see if anyone else could suggest another reason why this could be happening. He's happy, he's eating and I am trying to do a Ketone test but I am positive this will be fine.

Thoughts????
I'm no expert but before I even saw your post I looked at Kaz's spreadsheet. I think he may be dropping low during the day while you are working & maybe even at night while your sleeping. It could be the insulin though. I started Panzer on a pen that I received from DCIN in the summer because I thought maybe the vial we had was starting to not be any good as we were at the bottom. His numbers were not as high as Kaz's but they were higher than what Panzer usually is. Now they have finally come down to where he normaly is.Hopefully one of the experts you tagged will be more helpful, that's just my thoughts. If you can I would get a +4 or +5 tonight if you can.
 
I'm no expert but before I even saw your post I looked at Kaz's spreadsheet. I think he may be dropping low during the day while you are working & maybe even at night while your sleeping. It could be the insulin though. I started Panzer on a pen that I received from DCIN in the summer because I thought maybe the vial we had was starting to not be any good as we were at the bottom. His numbers were not as high as Kaz's but they were higher than what Panzer usually is. Now they have finally come down to where he normaly is.Hopefully one of the experts you tagged will be more helpful, that's just my thoughts. If you can I would get a +4 or +5 tonight if you can.

Having to take my other cat to the hospital tomorrow as I think he has early stage kidney disease so hoping to pick up a new pen at same time. Sucks as I think I have three bad pens which is a lot of money I'll never buy across the boarder again.
 
Having to take my other cat to the hospital tomorrow as I think he has early stage kidney disease so hoping to pick up a new pen at same time. Sucks as I think I have three bad pens which is a lot of money I'll never buy across the boarder again.
I don't blame you but he could be bouncing up that high from dropping to low or it could just take a few days for the new insulin to set in. I was completely stumped by Panzer's numbers when I started him on a Lantus solo star pen. He was on insulin glargine in the vial before the pen. I thought maybe because it was kinda of a different kind of insulin but really not. So I made a post & tagged a few of the ladies you tagged & I got one response. Now his #s are in the 60s at the moment. I'm thinking what the heck LOL.
 
Having to take my other cat to the hospital tomorrow as I think he has early stage kidney disease so hoping to pick up a new pen at same time. Sucks as I think I have three bad pens which is a lot of money I'll never buy across the boarder again.
Sorry about your other kitty hopefully things will come back good for your other baby. :bighug:
 
I agree that it’s possible he’s dropping lower overnight the last 3 nights. They are big drops from PMPS to +3. Maybe try getting a later test in to see if he’s dropping much lower. Also with you not being able to test during the day we don’t know how low he’s been dropping during the am cycle.
 
Claire, I am thinking of you. I hope you have resolved the situation with Kaz and your other kitty (is it Zach?) Are they okay? Are you okay? Do you leave for the UK soon? Have you decided on the "vacation dose?" I've been away a lot and just recently have been available more. I have thought of you and Kaz (and your mum, and the trip to the UK, etc.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top