KAZ - AMPS 532 / Ketones 0.8 - HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just happened to see this.
Weruva Truluxe has a chicken and beef (shredded meat) with pumpkin that is 4.9% carbs on a dry matter basis - On The Cat Wok. Tina loved it. Steak Frites is 7.5 (DMB) and has the lowest phosphorus, if that matters to you! You can pick the potatoes out of the Steak Frites.
Paw Lickin' Chicken was a big hit. Smells like people eatin' chicken and I tested it.

Of course it is important for Kaz to approve the food you choose!
Thanks Tina add to my list.
 
Trying to get urine is a nightmare with my cat and I have finally mastered this blood pricking so the blood monitor seemed the easiest way to go.

I will still try to get urine once a week on a weekend but it takes hours as my cat deliberately moves the saran wrap. Hes very clean and doesn't like to leave mess unless he wants to show me something.
 
I would keep some of the higher carbs ones as well as you might need them if the BG drops very low.
Also you might need them if we need to raise the insulin dose and the BG isn’t quite high enough.(this is because of the DKA in case someone reading this is wondering why).
So I’d keep some in the 10-14 carb range and some in the 15-20 carb range. Not a lot but a few.

I would not feed fish all the time. Try and vary it if you can.

Not everyone who comes here stays and posts every day once they are comfortable and can manage the dosing themselves.
We rarely find cats die from diabetes, it is almost always from something else such as kidney failure or cancer.

I hope his tummy settles…is it diarrhoea?


As I work from home today I am trying to do an ear prick every 2-3 hours. I had expected Kaz's numbers to go into the pink and then stay there if I fed him during the day however he appears to have gone back into the black.
I am going to give him a small amount of Tiki as he's hungry but wanted to check in. His next dose of insulin is at 6.15pm (4 hours from now).
 
Trying to get urine is a nightmare with my cat and I have finally mastered this blood pricking so the blood monitor seemed the easiest way to go.

I will still try to get urine once a week on a weekend but it takes hours as my cat deliberately moves the saran wrap. Hes very clean and doesn't like to leave mess unless he wants to show me something.
I follow her till she goes to the pan, let her get in and start. Then lift her tail and slip a low edged tupperware container under and she finishes in it.
It was a struggle when we started also but now it's almost like she got to where she expected it.
 
Just happened to see this.
Weruva Truluxe has a chicken and beef (shredded meat) with pumpkin that is 4.9% carbs on a dry matter basis - On The Cat Wok. Tina loved it. Steak Frites is 7.5 (DMB) and has the lowest phosphorus, if that matters to you! You can pick the potatoes out of the Steak Frites.
Paw Lickin' Chicken was a big hit. Smells like people eatin' chicken and I tested it.

Of course it is important for Kaz to approve the food you choose!
My cats love Paw Lickin' Chicken and Chicken Frick A Zee, they are just like people chicken even in their smell... but they're pretty low calorie (Paw Lickin' Chicken is just shredded chicken breast -- so if your cat likes non-pate foods with some shreds to chew on, this might be a winner -- the Paw Lickin' Chicken is also shredded chicken... just more dark meat in there. Sometimes I just used these as a food topper... they loved it.
 
Trying to get urine is a nightmare with my cat and I have finally mastered this blood pricking so the blood monitor seemed the easiest way to go.

I will still try to get urine once a week on a weekend but it takes hours as my cat deliberately moves the saran wrap. Hes very clean and doesn't like to leave mess unless he wants to show me something.
Can you purchase a blood ketone meter in Australia (I used the Nova Max Plus ketone meter, but I have no idea if that's available to you.) I never even tried to stalk him to the litter box (I was afraid to irritate him in the litter box... even though he was the sweetest, most tolerant cat I think I have ever had.)
 
Can you purchase a blood ketone meter in Australia (I used the Nova Max Plus ketone meter, but I have no idea if that's available to you.) I never even tried to stalk him to the litter box (I was afraid to irritate him in the litter box... even though he was the sweetest, most tolerant cat I think I have ever had.)

I have been using a blood monitor for ketones since he came out of hospital but I try to do a urine one once a week.
 
My cats love Paw Lickin' Chicken and Chicken Frick A Zee, they are just like people chicken even in their smell... but they're pretty low calorie (Paw Lickin' Chicken is just shredded chicken breast -- so if your cat likes non-pate foods with some shreds to chew on, this might be a winner -- the Paw Lickin' Chicken is also shredded chicken... just more dark meat in there. Sometimes I just used these as a food topper... they loved it.

Have both these I bought them when Kaz would not eat these are 2% carbs he ate it but he prefers the Tiki which is also real chicken and don't think theres a lot in it yes Tiki is 0 carb but 2 isn't that much either.
 
Have both these I bought them when Kaz would not eat these are 2% carbs he ate it but he prefers the Tiki which is also real chicken and don't think theres a lot in it yes Tiki is 0 carb but 2 isn't that much either.
Darcy loved the Tiki Cat After Dark ... especially the one with the little Quail Egg on top. But I had to switch off of it because it was too high in phosphorus (kidney problems.) I still smile thinking about him eating the little eggs with such excitement :-)
 
How long are you going to be home this stretch? Is it days or just one day?
He could do with a dose increase but my only concern is if you are not there to monitor it?
If you are going to be around I would increase the dose to 1. 75 units.
Have you tested for ketones since yesterday? What was yesterdays results?
If you could put the results in the remarks column of the SS that would be helpful. thanks.
 
How long are you going to be home this stretch? Is it days or just one day?
He could do with a dose increase but my only concern is if you are not there to monitor it?
If you are going to be around I would increase the dose to 1. 75 units.
Have you tested for ketones since yesterday? What was yesterdays results?
If you could put the results in the remarks column of the SS that would be helpful. thanks.

I have been posting the Ketones directly on the spreadsheet I did it the same way other members appear to do it.
Yes I can be home more for the next three days as it the weekend and Monday is the Boston Marathon so I work from home.
I will increase to 1 3/4 (1.75)
 
Sorry I was looking in the remarks column. :rolleyes:

Will be interesting to see how he goes with the new dose.

I just added it to the remarks column as well I put it in blue so it stands out.
I also updated all my insulin amounts from 1 1/4/ 1/1/2 to 1.5 / 1.25 which seems more standard on the site.

How many cycles do I do this before I check in with you again (obviously if there are issues with his BG I will check in immediately) about either remaining at this dose or readjusting again. (6 cycles like last time?)

Thank you ever so much as I know I am really relying on you it is so appreciated don't think I could do this without all the help I have been getting from you and others on this site.

Claire
 
How many cycles do I do this before I check in with you again (obviously if there are issues with his BG I will check in immediately) about either remaining at this dose or readjusting again. (6 cycles like last time?)
Six cycles unless something happens. But we will keep an eye on it.
In the pm cycle are you able to test again after you get a test at +3 that has a drop from 524 to 318? That’s a big drop and I think he is probably dropping further and that is why you are seeing the black AMPS over the last 5 days.
Can you give some food at +2 in the cycles to see if we can slow that big drops?

Thank you ever so much as I know I am really relying on you it is so appreciated don't think I could do this without all the help I have been getting from you and others on this site.
That is what we are here for ….to help you get through this difficult time. And nothing gives us greater pleasure than seeing Kaz improving. :bighug:
 
Yes I can give food at +2 in the evening cycle.

So just to confirm

Food/ insulin - 6.15pm

8.15pm ear prick / food (Tiki or DM or does it matter)
10.15pm ear prick food ( Tiki or DM or does it matter)

Usually go to bed around 10.30 pm but if you want me to set an alarm and feed him again at 12.15pm I can. Assuming trying to get a curve.
 
Yes I can give food at +2 in the evening cycle.

So just to confirm

Food/ insulin - 6.15pm

8.15pm ear prick / food (Tiki or DM or does it matter)
10.15pm ear prick food ( Tiki or DM or does it matter)

Usually go to bed around 10.30 pm but if you want me to set an alarm and feed him again at 12.15pm I can. Assuming trying to get a curve.
If the +4 test is much lower than the preshot test like it has been, I think I would set the alarm and get another test in just to see how low he is going and of course that he is still safe.
I think I would try some of the DM at +2 to see if we can slow the drop.
 
If the +4 test is much lower than the preshot test like it has been, I think I would set the alarm and get another test in just to see how low he is going and of course that he is still safe.
I think I would try some of the DM at +2 to see if we can slow the drop.

Hi Bron - I knew this was getting too long so started a new thread I still unsure how to tag someone in a new thread. I know how to start a new conversation with someone but not tagging on a live thread so I posted the link below.)

Thanks Claire

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-588-pmps-534-kaz.262165/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top