12/3 Karamelle AMPS 84 +1 91 +3 37 +4 32 +5 68 +6 104 +8 348 PMPS 519!! +3 404

JoM

Member Since 2023
Hi, Im back! Havent been here in ages, so I dont have the last day to post here. Karamelle has been having some wonky readings the past couple of weeks and it appears its not over yet. Ive been talking to Kim on Facebook but she and Chris suggested I post here again. so here I am.
I really dont know whats going on, but she keeps getting hypo events even tho Ive been lowering the dose and not even giving any insulin at times.
 
That sounds stressful and confusing! I'm new and very definitely not equipped to advise on dosing issues, but I'd recommend adding a question mark prefix to your post title, to help get some eyes on it.

Also, are there other variables that might contribute to her system being more unregulated? Other ailments, changes in diet, stressors, etc?
 
That sounds stressful and confusing! I'm new and very definitely not equipped to advise on dosing issues, but I'd recommend adding a question mark prefix to your post title, to help get some eyes on it.

Also, are there other variables that might contribute to her system being more unregulated? Other ailments, changes in diet, stressors, etc?
Yes, Karamelle has Pancreatitis. And I just realized she hasnt eaten today since 5am. Its 2pm here now. I gave her some wet food and she gobbled it down. Not sure why she isnt eating the dry. Could be a flare of Pancreatitis, which she really hasnt been getting. She also threw up some bile, so I gave her some cerenia. She gets Ondansetron 2x and Buprenorphine 1x every day.
 
Poor baby. This is far beyond my depth, but I've seen people give advice on these kinds of things before. The best way to get their attention is to add the question mark prefix to your subject and probably also an eye-grabbing version of your question (instead of "haven't posted for awhile"). Something like "wonky readings help" or similar maybe. There are a lot of posts in the Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars subforum every day and people will skim and prioritize posts that jump out at them as requesting help.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Hi Jo, been a while since we last chatted, and that was about bouncy numbers too. 3/31 Karamelle Amps 243 +3 392 +6 390 PMPS 529

Good thing you skipped this morning, that depot is really strong! Do you know how much food she ate last night? You could try upping the ondansetron to 3-4 times per day, it doesn't last 12 hours.

Looks like she's been doing this really deep diving the last couple weeks. I too was curious if anything has changed the last couple weeks.

Out of curiosity, how is your Lev supply doing? It'll be phased out of Canada end of this month.
 
Hi Jo, been a while since we last chatted, and that was about bouncy numbers too. 3/31 Karamelle Amps 243 +3 392 +6 390 PMPS 529

Good thing you skipped this morning, that depot is really strong! Do you know how much food she ate last night? You could try upping the ondansetron to 3-4 times per day, it doesn't last 12 hours.

Looks like she's been doing this really deep diving the last couple weeks. I too was curious if anything has changed the last couple weeks.

Out of curiosity, how is your Lev supply doing? It'll be phased out of Canada end of this month.
I have quite a bit of Levemir as I just got 5 new viles and have one left from the last batch, so 6. Thats not good news for long term tho, sigh.
As far as food, it looks like she ate 4g at 8pm, 12g at 1:08am, and 4g at 5:03am. No dry food since but Ive gotten 85g of regular low carb weruva in her and she ate a small amount of the higher carb (9.8%) at +4. I'll keep giving her the wet food till she eats the dry again. This is new. Shes been eating so well. So much so, I had tried only giving the Ondansetron at night, but it wasnt quite as good, so I gave it to her this morning.
I cant explain this new development at all. Everything is the same as far as I can tell. My fat cat Oscar had recenty been pushing her out of the way and eating out of her microchip bowl. he has his own with the same food in it. Anyway, I moved hers to another room on top of a dresser and put another one for Oscar where hers used to be. She can still eat out of that one too as I programmed it for both. But this all happened just a couple days ago. Doesnt explain all the craziness the last couple of weeks.
Her last two BG readings which I havent posted here yet are +6 104 and +8 348. So shes back to bouncing.
What I have noticed is she has been drinking a lot of water. She was just at the vets a couple weeks ago and all this craziness started that night. 11/18/25.
 
Has she had recent bloodwork at that last vet visit?
yes, I took her in on 11/18/25 because she had intermittent diarrhea and vomiting. (Nothing of note on the blood work.) It was the day all this craziness with the BG started. She threw up earlier today, just some bile. And tonight I found some diarrhea on the floor in the corner of the bathroom (in one of her usual spots). But I just took a stool sample in yesterday (finally saw her going. It was part of the bloodwork) and it was normal. Her ultrasound in March mentioned gastroenteritis/IBD and to run a GI panel. But I dont believe we ever did that. It also mentioned biopsies and GI FNA and a hydrolyzed protein diet (which Young Again is). But she still, hasnt eaten any of her dry food today. Im not sure why. I hope it isnt permanent, because Id never be able to get enough calories in her with the wet food. She just wont eat it consistantly. Fortunatley she is eating it today. Maybe the reason for the diarrhea. Her PMPS BG reading was 519!!!!! I hope it doesnt go any higher. I gave her the reduced dose of 0.75u.
 
YA is not really hydrolyzed. The pork is, but it's also got chicken meal and herring meal, which are not hydrolyzed proteins. If she was allergic to either fish or chicken (common allergies in cats), then YA wouldn't be a good option..
 
YA is not really hydrolyzed. The pork is, but it's also got chicken meal and herring meal, which are not hydrolyzed proteins. If she was allergic to either fish or chicken (common allergies in cats), then YA wouldn't be a good option..
Shes been doing well on it tho. I dont think there are any true hydrolyzed low carb dry foods, are there?
 
You are correct, all the true hydrolyzed foods seem to have extra carbs in there. I checked out the YA cause of my IBD kitty, and the herring meal would make it a no-go for her.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Australia and the UK will continue to have it until end of 2026. This is what I found for Canada (Marks) Canadian notice
Interesting. I called Marks Marine, where I get it from, and they didnt know anything about it, but said they had plenty in stock, but that what they have expires 10/27. I have 6 viles left. Going by the usage so far, one vile is lasting me about 2.25 months. If I bought another 5 now, with that expiration date, Id end up throwing some out. Anyway, Im playing it by ear. Going to contact them periodically and see if they get any new ones with later exp dates.
 
Back
Top