Just wanted to say hello and thank you

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tudor

Member Since 2022
This is my first post here. I've been lurking on this forum for a week or so. Our 13 yr old cat Mishu has been diagnosed with diabetes on 13 June 2022. We've been pretty scared since then and went through some rough days and nights because he was in a bad shape and we weren't sure what to do. And the vets in my area (I'm in Romania) have little to no experience in treating pets with diabetes.

Luckily I found this forum and thanks to the huge amount of helpful information I found here, Mishu is now well! That's why I wanted to say a BIG THANK YOU to the community. I learned a lot from your posts. We're in the earlier stages of the treatment so Mishu is not completely out of the woods, therefore I may call for help here sometimes.

Now a little bit of information about our cat's problems. Exactly two weeks ago on a Friday, when we got home in the afternoon we found that Mishu puked everything he ate and was lethargic. His breath smelled bad. My wife said it smelled like acetone. Mishu stopped eating for almost three days and was feeling pretty bad. We had to feed him with a syringe.

Over the next few days we went to two vets, did blood tests (BG was 329, 292). Found ketones in urine. The cat was most likely into DKA; the vets didn't tell me that, but I figured it out based on the symptoms.

We started the insulin treatment with human insulin I got from a relative. Back then I had no idea there are different types of insulin so I didn't pay much attention on exactly what type of insulin was. The vet prescribed 2 UI, twice a day. Two days later the cat was feeling better, eating better.

Then we switched to Caninsulin. The vet said that's the insulin prescribed for pets. After a couple more days Mishu's problems started again: puking, not eating, lethargy. BG was all over the place, from 400 to 89. Something was not working.

That was about the time I started perusing the information on this forum and learned about the different effects different type of insulin have on the cat's BG. One day out of curiosity I went to the fridge to check what type of human insulin I gave to the cat in the beginning, when he started to feel better. It turned out to be Lantus! This time, knowing what Lantus is and how it's different from Caninsulin, I made the decision to switch back to Lantus. Now, three days later, Mishu is feeling much better, he eats well and the BG numbers are pretty good.

Thanks again,
Tudor
 
Hi and welcome! I must say, if English is not your first language your command of it (at least written) is impressive. Very well-written first post.

I am glad to hear Mishu is feeling better but glancing at your spreadsheet, not to alarm you, but in my opinion the numbers indicate 2 units of Lantus might be too much and that could be very dangerous. Do you know about hypoglycemic conditions and do you have what they call a "hypo kit" with high carb food, honey, or karo syrup?

Read this: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

I am not one of the experts though so let me tag some other members for some expert advice on the 2 units of Lantus ASAP!

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
@FrostD
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Yes, I've learned all about the hypoglycemic issues and I prepared my hypo kit, based on the information on this forum. I am aware 2 UI may be too much, so I'm ready to lower the dose a bit. I've just been waiting to get some more data from the BG tests during the last three days. Today I finally received a batch of 0.3ml syringes so I'll be able to fine tune the insulin dose. It was so difficult with the 1 ml syringes! Neither the vets nor the pharmacists I asked even knew there are insulin syringes smaller than 1ml!
 
Welcome. Did you start lantus on the night of 6/20? It takes a week for the depot to build so I need to know that. A drop under 50 earns a lower dose and he has been at 50 without another test in 30 minutes later to see if he dropped lower. He very well might need less insulin. You dint want to skip if he was DKA which it sounds da like happened so you need higher carb food and honey or karo to prevent a drop under 50.
 
He needs to eat every few hours. How’s his appetite now?

His appetite is normal now. He eats small portions every few hours, we give him low-carb wet food anytime he asks for it. Since I’ve noticed his BG staying low after switching to Lantus, I also let him eat some Royal Canin diabetic dry food.
 
If feeding diabetic dry you can’t do TR. It is very high carb. You need to follow SLGS especially if feeding diabetic dry.
 
Yes the Royal Canin diabetic is actually high carb, it makes no sense! The best thing you can do for your cat is feed zero dry food, 100% wet/canned/raw diet for the win -- diabetic or not.

Dr Lisa Pierson says:

The three key negative issues associated with dry food are:
1) water content is too low
2) carbohydrate load is too high
3) type of protein – too high in plant-based versus animal-based proteins

In addition, dry food is very heavily processed which includes being subjected to high temperatures for a long time resulting in alteration and destruction of nutrients.


**However** If you are already giving insulin AND feeding dry food then do not make a change to the food without more data as it could drastically lower the insulin required and a hypo could result
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Just reading through the thread…..
Have you been testing a gown for ketones to see that they have not reappeared?
To keep them away you need to make sure
  • You are feeding 1 and a 1/2 times as many calories as Mishu normally eats. So lots of small snacks during the day and night.
  • Don’t skip and doses of insulin. If the BG is low, stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. You can post and ask for help as well.
  • Test daily for ketones to make sure they are not coming back. You were very lucky he didn’t get sicker in the beginning.
  • Add warm water, a teaspoon to each snack so he is getting extra fluids.
Was he put on any antibiotics at all?
Looking at the spreadsheet I can see you are not testing much at all during the PM cycles. Do you think you could test at least once during the pm cycles…..especially if the BG is a green preshot or it is dropping lower. Is he eating well for you.
The BG look to be getting lower as the depot fills so you need to be careful that he is not dropping too low. If you get a BG like you did today at +5 52 it is a very good idea to feed some food and to test again in an hour to see the BG is rising.
Do you have a hypo kit set up with some high carb food and honey in case of low numbers. If not please get one set up asap.
im really glad to see you are using the 0.3 ml syringes
Keep asking questions. We are happy to help you
Bron
 
Welcome I would also add to your signature had ketones and DKA so members know. Just tap on your name above then tap signature and add it then Save
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top