just tested cat first time with relion prime....

Status
Not open for further replies.

mirnta

Member Since 2015
And all I got was "lo"?? That means the number is below 70? What does that mean is it good?? So confused...this is 5 hrs after shot..please help!
 
It means your cats BG is <20 which is not good. Could be a potential hypoglycemic episode.

Do you have high carb food with gravy on hand? or some sugar like Karo or honey or pancake syrup or maple syrup?

Would you please test again ASAP. Could be a wonky reading.

P. S. Please test yourself too with a fresh lancet. Acts like a control test.
 
Re-test ASAP.
If still low, give your cat several drops of Karo Syrup or honey, NOW
 
Well he's still eating the dry which is high carb..hes walking around acting totally normal..maybe I just didn't do it right?? Ahhhhh ill try again as traumatic as it was..
 
What is that new BG reading. We really need one right now or you need to get in a car and to an emergency vet immediately. This potential hypo could be life threatening to your cat. Many cats show no signs of hypoglycemia until they suffer seizures.
 
Ok!! Well now it says 257! I must've done it wrong...now its super high...he may have been stressed too, I know I was..ugh
 
:bighug:Take a deep breath and relax. He's safe now. And congratulations on your first two tests!:bighug:
 
Thank you! Omg...that was terrifying!! But now I know how to do it! And his num is lower than at the vet, that is good!! SIGH....
 
Hugh sigh of relief here that the numbers are not LO. We were just about to have you edit your post and get that 911 icon on your post. Our hearts were in our throats too and we were scared for you and Miel.

As stressful and traumatic as it was to get that additional BG test, it would have been more traumatic if you had not been able to test and it actually was hypoglycemia and you had lost your kitty Miel.

You might want to print out this document on How to Treat Hypos, and make sure you know how to treat hypoglycemia in the future.

We suggest that you always test before you shoot insulin. It's what we call the pre-shot test and it can help you determine if your kitties BG levels are high enough to give the insulin. We recommend that new members do not give their kitty insulin if the BG is <200. There are of course, always exceptions to this, such as ketones or DKA history.

3 units of insulin is a large starting dose for any insulin. Testing will help you to help keep your kitty safe.
 
Thanks so much! Sorry to scare ya!! Pheewwwww.....i thought his numbers were supposed to be below 120..so why are we not supposed to give a shot if its below 200?
 
You have to have room for the insulin to drop the glucose and you don't know how much it will drop with the dose.
 
Once you have data showing that it would be safe to shoot at a lower number, you can follow your insulin protocol to do that safely. You have to be home testing in order for it to be safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top