Just need to vent

Status
Not open for further replies.

Catcrzymom

Member Since 2016
I am feeling rather overwhelmed today. Having a Sugarbaby sure turned my life upside down. I can't plan to go anywhere for the evening because I have to be home to give Garfield his injection. I rarely go out in the evenings but once a month I try to get out with my sister in laws for a bit. Now I'm not sure how to do that!

I took Garfield to the vet yesterday and he has an ear infection. They put an antibiotic in his ears that is suppose to last two weeks. ($60) They said he needs some basic dental ($320) work. I feel like I'm being drained emotionally , physically and financially. And I don't see any improvement with his bg numbers. He bounces up and down. Today I did his bg 6 hours after injection and he was 608! My gosh how long does it take to get his numbers lower? I don't know if I am helping him get better or not. I live on a small fixed income and I am drained! Bought his insulin today and it was $58! Got about half a bottle of test strips left and the new bottle will cost $60!

If I get a human meter what is recommended? Is reading it different than the Vet meter? I just put out $175 for the meter kit. I hate to complain. I love my Garfield to pieces! Does anyone else feel trapped like I do? How do you make plans to do anything in the evenings? My sister in laws want to get together one night about 6. Garfield gets his injection around 7. I would need to leave home by 5:30 to meet them. I can't give him his shot that early so how do I work this?

Thank you to any and all who help.
 
Ok, once you get on a better budget you'll be a lot happier I think. Firstly, the meters. Ditch whatever you are using stat. All I have to say is that a $175 meter kit better take my cat's BG, record it in my notebook, and give my cat his injection itself for that kind of money!! Go to Walmart, buy a Relion Prime. The machine is $15 and you can buy a box of 100 strips for $19 and some change after tax. The numbers really aren't that different. Human meters read a little lower.

Next, do some research and try and find a cheap vet office in your area. There is an amazing clinic in my city that charges about 50% less than the going rate for all services. A dental cleaning cost me $110 last year and that was including the anesthesia, the pain meds, the antibiotic shot and the pre-anesthesia bloodwork. An annual exam and shots cost $40. A glucose curve costs $50. I go to them and honestly I wouldn't be able to afford to not go to them.

Ask his doctor about switching to a long lasting insulin. If he has been on insulin since the end of January and his numbers are still looking like that, it's time to switch in my opinion. Remember that Marks Marine pharmacy in Canada can ship you a 10ml vial of Lantus for $119 which could potentially last up to six months if you take good care of it. Not bad.

I haven't felt trapped, just paranoid to leave him alone. I have no life anyway so I never go anywhere except work and school and back but I know that when I do want to go out to dinner or something, Diego will A) have to be under somebody else's care for an hour or 2 and B) will be the only thing on my mind the entire time. The day I took him home from the vet's office after he was diagnosed was the day I felt like I was leaving with a newborn child. The seriousness of his condition and the sense of responsibility all hit me in the face at once and knocked the wind out of me for the next month. I never did resent him but I resented myself for not catching it quicker, not doing something to prevent it in the first place, etc. There's a lot of emotional stress that comes with a chronically ill pet. It's underestimated and so nobody ever talks about it but, I was extraordinarily stressed out for an entire month. I wasn't capable of calming myself down for an entire month. On top of worrying about him CONSTANTLY, plus work and school, I actually developed acid reflux as a result of severe stress and prolonged lack of restful sleep. It happens and it's not uncommon to feel trapped and emotionally spent. When something happens to a little creature whom you love just like you'd love your own human baby, your brain really doesn't know the difference. Like you, at first I didn't think I was going to be able to afford his diabetic treatment, which made me even more upset and panicked. I'm doing this all on my own. I don't have a spouse or anyone that can help me, and most of my friends are all too freaked out to even touch him. It's absolutely frustrating and angering sometimes when you feel the weight of all the responsibility of your baby's care and well-being resting entirely on you. That's why message boards like these are so helpful to keep you grounded :) I think that once you switch to cheaper supplies and get him on an insulin that works for his body, both of your lives will be more peaceful. Look into finding one or two people who you can trust with your cat's life to train, and then you'll have a backup in case you want to get out of the house and just relax for a few hours off-duty. You are definitely not alone in this though.
 
Last edited:
The first few months of having a sugarbaby are really stressful. :banghead::banghead::banghead: Give yourself a chance, and get out from under that veterinary prescribed meter and costly strips. o_O I use one from CVS and I like it fine. Reli-On is great, too. You have friends here who will help you to cope.:bighug::bighug:Venting is good. We all feel like we're going to explode from time to time..and learning how to handle diabetes is a very scary thing.

The dental is probably a must have.lots of problems come from a cat having a sore mouth...and a lot of pain....does your vet use Care Credit? It's a form of vet insurance that lets you spread payments out over a series of months. Or sometimes vets will let you do some work for them in exchange for at least part of their fee. The key is to be really sincere when you talk to them.

Many of the members here are more experienced at helping others to adjust their insulin doses, so that your kitty's numbers come down. Where are you giving the insulin? In his scruff? Maybe much of his inslin is trapped in tissue that doesn't release insulin readily.

Try his abdomen or flank..there are more blood vessels there. Did your vet explain how to handle your insulin so it doesn't break down? It's also concievable that you've gotten a bad bottle of insulin..it does happen.

Do you have other kitties on dry food, and perhaps he's sneaking food from them? Part of his numbers might be due to the ear infection, and when that heals his numbers may change. And what is his environment..is he particularly stressed out by anything? Another cat trying to pick on him? A change in diet? There are many variables that can be adjusted.

The first month is the hardest, trust me. You're scared and lonely, and you want some time off. Eventually it will happen..but your kitty needs time to adjust, and perhaps his insulin isn't working, when another might work very well.

Give yourself some time, ok? :bighug::bighug::bighug: It really does get better.
 
Ok, once you get on a better budget you'll be a lot happier I think. Firstly, the meters. Ditch whatever you are using stat. All I have to say is that a $175 meter kit better take my cat's BG, record it in my notebook, and give my cat his injection itself for that kind of money!! Go to Walmart, buy a Relion Prime. The machine is $15 and you can buy a box of 100 strips for $19 and some change after tax. The numbers really aren't that different. Human meters read a little lower.

Next, do some research and try and find a cheap vet office in your area. There is an amazing clinic in my city that charges about 50% less than the going rate for all services. A dental cleaning cost me $110 last year and that was including the anesthesia, the pain meds, the antibiotic shot and the pre-anesthesia bloodwork. An annual exam and shots cost $40. A glucose curve costs $50. I go to them and honestly I wouldn't be able to afford to not go to them.

Ask his doctor about switching to a long lasting insulin. If he has been on insulin since the end of January and his numbers are still looking like that, it's time to switch in my opinion. Remember that Marks Marine pharmacy in Canada can ship you a 10ml vial of Lantus for $119 which could potentially last up to six months if you take good care of it. Not bad.

I haven't felt trapped, just paranoid to leave him alone. I have no life anyway so I never go anywhere except work and school and back but I know that when I do want to go out to dinner or something, Diego will A) have to be under somebody else's care for an hour or 2 and B) will be the only thing on my mind the entire time. The day I took him home from the vet's office after he was diagnosed was the day I felt like I was leaving with a newborn child. The seriousness of his condition and the sense of responsibility all hit me in the face at once and knocked the wind out of me for the next month. I never did resent him but I resented myself for not catching it quicker, not doing something to prevent it in the first place, etc. There's a lot of emotional stress that comes with a chronically ill pet. It's underestimated and so nobody ever talks about it but, I was extraordinarily stressed out for an entire month. I wasn't capable of calming myself down for an entire month. On top of worrying about him CONSTANTLY, plus work and school, I actually developed acid reflux as a result of severe stress and prolonged lack of restful sleep. It happens and it's not uncommon to feel trapped and emotionally spent. When something happens to a little creature whom you love just like you'd love your own human baby, your brain really doesn't know the difference. Like you, at first I didn't think I was going to be able to afford his diabetic treatment, which made me even more upset and panicked. That's why message boards like these are so helpful to keep you grounded :) I think that once you switch to cheaper supplies and get him on an insulin that works for his body, both of your lives will be more peaceful. Look into finding one or two people who you can trust with your cat's life to train, and then you'll have a backup in case you want to get out of the house and just relax for a few hours off-duty.
Thank you so much for your reply. After reading the first sentences I was laughing! Yes, for that amount they should be doing all that. I will keep the meter as a back up and will go to Walmart and get the one you recommend. Are the numbers different on the human meter from the vet one? I mean if my vet meter says his bg is 600 is it the same on the human meter?
I so relate to all the emotions and feelings you expressed. I had another fur baby, Romeo, who was my shadow. He was 14 and passed away a little over a year ago from cancer. I am still grieving his loss and then to get slammed with Garfield being diabetic just was so overwhelming. I cried so much the first month. I too couldn't keep myself calmed down. I was afraid I was hurting him when I gave him his injection or when I did his bg test.
The tech at the vets office who really helped me a lot, told me that I wasn't hurting him at all. She suggested I use the hind feet, largest pad for his bg tests. She showed me how to do it and it is easier for me than using his ear or front paws. I couldn't get much blood from with of those places but from the back paws I get enough.
I do not resent Garfield and I feel bad that I didn't find out sooner he had diabetes. I also feel bad because I let him graze all day on dry food. He was up to 30lbs but I thought it was because he's a big cat. Then he started losing fur, then losing weight, his back legs started looking weak and he was starting to limp, his eyes started looking glazed and he just acted like he wasn't feeling good. That's when I knew I had to get him to the vet immediately. So I kick myself for not getting him to the vet sooner. He was down to almost 13lbs the end of January when he was diagnosed. He's now up to about 15lbs. Still looks a bit sickly from the hair loss, and he still limps a bit in the back legs.
I also worry about him when I am not home. If I have to go out to the store I try to go during the afternoon when I know he's napping, and I am not usually gone long. It's rare that I go out evenings but once in awhile I like to get out.
I just have to reconcile myself to the fact that my life is different and I have a baby who needs me and depends on me. That's life! And Garfield IS worth it!
Thank you again for your reply and suggestions. I really appreciate it!
 
The first few months of having a sugarbaby are really stressful. :banghead::banghead::banghead: Give yourself a chance, and get out from under that veterinary prescribed meter and costly strips. o_O I use one from CVS and I like it fine. Reli-On is great, too. You have friends here who will help you to cope.:bighug::bighug:Venting is good. We all feel like we're going to explode from time to time..and learning how to handle diabetes is a very scary thing.

The dental is probably a must have.lots of problems come from a cat having a sore mouth...and a lot of pain....does your vet use Care Credit? It's a form of vet insurance that lets you spread payments out over a series of months. Or sometimes vets will let you do some work for them in exchange for at least part of their fee. The key is to be really sincere when you talk to them.

Many of the members here are more experienced at helping others to adjust their insulin doses, so that your kitty's numbers come down. Where are you giving the insulin? In his scruff? Maybe much of his inslin is trapped in tissue that doesn't release insulin readily.

Try his abdomen or flank..there are more blood vessels there. Did your vet explain how to handle your insulin so it doesn't break down? It's also concievable that you've gotten a bad bottle of insulin..it does happen.

Do you have other kitties on dry food, and perhaps he's sneaking food from them? Part of his numbers might be due to the ear infection, and when that heals his numbers may change. And what is his environment..is he particularly stressed out by anything? Another cat trying to pick on him? A change in diet? There are many variables that can be adjusted.

The first month is the hardest, trust me. You're scared and lonely, and you want some time off. Eventually it will happen..but your kitty needs time to adjust, and perhaps his insulin isn't working, when another might work very well.

Give yourself some time, ok? :bighug::bighug::bighug: It really does get better.
Yes I do have Care Credit. I've been using it for him and I'm almost at my limit.
He gets his injections in the top side (not scruff) and I rotate sides. I have other cats but I have changed their food to the canned Friskies pate, just in case Garfield were to get into their food. No dry food for any of my fur babies.
I can't think of any thing that would stress him out. My other two cats, my girls, don't bother him. If anything they lick him and love on him.
I'm going to check into getting a different meter. And when I take him back to see the vet in 2 weeks I will talk to her about the dental.
Thank you for the suggestions and input. I really appreciate you taking the time to reply.
 
I cried so much the first month.

Two weeks in, he stopped eating. His stomach was upset due to a combo of just starting out on insulin, and other underlying things going on. Either way, cats can't go long without eating before it gets dangerous. Two weeks into this insane journey, I knew absolutely nothing about diabetic cats yet but I was sitting on my bedroom floor with my cat in my lap, trying to syringe feed him some blended up food at 11:45 PM on a weekday. I had nothing on but underwear (syringe feeding gets messy) just SOBBING because I felt like I was torturing him. The connection that you form when you take care of somebody like that is indescribable. Eventually they make progress and little by little they get stronger. I felt like I was doing everything wrong but it wasn't until my vet pointed out that his coat looks great and he's gained a pound that I started to cry happy tears instead of sad tears. These days he's not yet where I want him, but he knows that I'm part of the reason why he feels better. He'll dance on my head every morning so I can wake up, test him and give his breakfast and shot. Once that bond forms between the two of you, everything becomes worth it. He made me realize that the career path I'm going for is right for me. He's the best first patient I never wanted him to be. You're doing great and he does appreciate it. Cats are such emotionally intelligent creatures.
 
Last edited:
OH rats, CatcrzMom,:( I was hoping to find you a way you might lose some of the stress. I sure hope you can get some relief. When we don't know what else to do, we drag out the hugs..so here's a few to start you off.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I had nothing on but underwear (syringe feeding gets messy) just SOBBING because I felt like I was torturing him.

Eep, I've been there too.:nailbiting: All of us have. Yup, it's worth it when you get kitty kisses or a soulful look that says "Thank you". Awesome post:woot:.
 
Bad teeth/gums and an ear infection can make BG control very difficult. My Badger has a chronic ear infection due to polyps. Some preshot BGs would be below 100 and sometimes above 400. Last September I had the polyps surgically removed and not I gt consistent BG below 150 with an insulin does of about 1/3 of that before.
 
Oh gosh, I can SO relate to everything you've said about feeling trapped! I finally got to see my grandchildren for the first time in 8 months! They live about 15 hours away and it's so hard to find anyone who'll give Goof his shots. My mother in law volunteered to do it this time, but informed my husband that she hated it and won't be doing it again. What I don't understand is that she used to give her horses shots all the time! I have several people that will house/critter sit, but the shots are another thing altogether. I wonder what these people would do if their beloved pet became diabetic?

We can't even take Goof with us as our son and granddaughter are both terribly allergic. We could stay at a hotel nearby, but it'd cost us nearly $150 a night due to the additional "pet charge", but we just can't afford that. So I guess it's gonna be a long time before I see them again.....
 
Are the numbers different on the human meter from the vet one? I mean if my vet meter says his bg is 600 is it the same on the human meter?
Too high is too high, it doesn't matter what the actual number is. The difference you will be looking at is 50 becomes your "hypo alert" number, instead of 68. Normal is under 120.
 
How do you make plans to do anything in the evenings? My sister in laws want to get together one night about 6. Garfield gets his injection around 7. I would need to leave home by 5:30 to meet them. I can't give him his shot that early so how do I work this?
Hi,
Vetsulin/Caninsulin is what we call an 'in and out' insulin. That's to say, it enters the cat's system, does it's stuff, and then leaves the system; often in less than 12 hours (and sometimes in much less than 12 hours, which can sometimes be one of it's problems...). This is different to long-lasting insulins like Lantus and Levemir which build up a little residual store or 'depot' in the cat's body. Because these insulins form a 'depot' (which benefits from being kept stable) folks here usually find that the long-lasting insulins work best with 12 hourly shots. But this may not be necessary with Vetsulin/Caninsulin...

Because Vestulin/Caninsulin tends to be an 'in and out' insulin that means it's possible to be more flexible with the timing of shots (and indeed with the dosage). It's not so essential to give shots exactly 12 hours apart. A shot given a bit early or late isn't usually a big deal.
And if you want to, it's possible to shift the timing gradually, maybe by 15 - 30 mins a day, so that you can, over a few days shift the shot time back an hour or more if you wish. But this may not be necessary.... If/when you start hometesting Garfield's blood glucose you will become aware of how long the insulin is lasting in Garfield's system. And, if it's all 'done and dusted' by say, 10 or 11 hours after his shot, then you may well be able to give the next shot at +10 or +11 if you want to go out for the evening...

When Bertie was first diagnosed and I realised it might be harder to go out in the evenings I started to invite folks to my house instead (so I could have some social life but still be home to test Bertie). And if I wanted to go out, I tried to arrange that we met at lunchtime instead of the evening.

Some folks here 'train up' a willing volunteer (friend, family member, neighbour) to give shots in their absence. But we don't all have someone willing to do that...
If you want to attend an important event then, to be honest, the occasional skipped shot isn't the end of the world (though you may not want to do this if Garfield is in high numbers and/or there has been any history of ketones/ketosis).

Don't worry. Your social life doesn't have to be over because you now have a diabetic cat. But sometimes it can need 'tweaking' a bit.
And the plus side of the situation (yes, there is one) is that it becomes really easy to get out of the more dreary social events by saying, once you've had enough, that you'd really love to stay longer but you absolutely have to go home 'to shoot your cat' (that generally raises a few eyebrows...)... :smuggrin:

Eliz
 
I'm so sorry your having such a difficult time! I know it's really no comfort, but all I can say is, we've all been there. I can relate so well to everything you are feeling, as can we all!

Squallie has been on insulin for about 9 months now, and I STILL schedule trips outside the house around his insulin. Mostly I try not to be out when I know he will hit nadir, I am paranoid about him dropping too low and me not being there for him. And of course, mealtimes, and shot times, and test times...well, I really don't go out much at all, lol!

Don't let it stress you too much-easier said than done, I know-it will get better! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Catcrzymom -

I'm sorry that you're feeling so overwhelmed at the moment - a feeling we are all very much familiar with. The early days can be especially tough. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

We'll do all we can to help you. I note that your kitty is on a fairly high dose of Vetsulin for a cat with a relatively recent diagnosis. I know that it can seem a bit intimidating to think about spreadsheets at a time like this, but if you could manage to start recording Garfield's tests it might help us to help you a lot more to determine how his insulin is/isn't working for him, and hopefully use the information to help improve his regulation and also to reduce your stress. The spreadsheet would also give you much more of an at-a-glance view of the safety of a particular dose and that should also go some way to giving you a bit more peace of mind. I'm posting a link to the spreadsheet how-to. I hope you'll give it a go. There are members who can do the initial set-up for you if you'd like some help with that. Then all you'd need to do is record the dates and test results as you go along.

Spreadsheet how-to Sticky


Mogs
.
 
@Catcrzymom -

I'm sorry that you're feeling so overwhelmed at the moment - a feeling we are all very much familiar with. The early days can be especially tough. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

We'll do all we can to help you. I note that your kitty is on a fairly high dose of Vetsulin for a cat with a relatively recent diagnosis. I know that it can seem a bit intimidating to think about spreadsheets at a time like this, but if you could manage to start recording Garfield's tests it might help us to help you a lot more to determine how his insulin is/isn't working for him, and hopefully use the information to help improve his regulation and also to reduce your stress. The spreadsheet would also give you much more of an at-a-glance view of the safety of a particular dose and that should also go some way to giving you a bit more peace of mind. I'm posting a link to the spreadsheet how-to. I hope you'll give it a go. There are members who can do the initial set-up for you if you'd like some help with that. Then all you'd need to do is record the dates and test results as you go along.

Spreadsheet how-to Sticky


Mogs
.
I have had help getting the speed sheet set up. I just don't know how to use it. I'm on an iPad 2. I do keep a daily journal on paper. Just haven't figured out how to use the SS.
 
Ok, once you get on a better budget you'll be a lot happier I think. Firstly, the meters. Ditch whatever you are using stat. All I have to say is that a $175 meter kit better take my cat's BG, record it in my notebook, and give my cat his injection itself for that kind of money!! Go to Walmart, buy a Relion Prime. The machine is $15 and you can buy a box of 100 strips for $19 and some change after tax. The numbers really aren't that different. Human meters read a little lower.

Next, do some research and try and find a cheap vet office in your area. There is an amazing clinic in my city that charges about 50% less than the going rate for all services. A dental cleaning cost me $110 last year and that was including the anesthesia, the pain meds, the antibiotic shot and the pre-anesthesia bloodwork. An annual exam and shots cost $40. A glucose curve costs $50. I go to them and honestly I wouldn't be able to afford to not go to them.

Ask his doctor about switching to a long lasting insulin. If he has been on insulin since the end of January and his numbers are still looking like that, it's time to switch in my opinion. Remember that Marks Marine pharmacy in Canada can ship you a 10ml vial of Lantus for $119 which could potentially last up to six months if you take good care of it. Not bad.

I haven't felt trapped, just paranoid to leave him alone. I have no life anyway so I never go anywhere except work and school and back but I know that when I do want to go out to dinner or something, Diego will A) have to be under somebody else's care for an hour or 2 and B) will be the only thing on my mind the entire time. The day I took him home from the vet's office after he was diagnosed was the day I felt like I was leaving with a newborn child. The seriousness of his condition and the sense of responsibility all hit me in the face at once and knocked the wind out of me for the next month. I never did resent him but I resented myself for not catching it quicker, not doing something to prevent it in the first place, etc. There's a lot of emotional stress that comes with a chronically ill pet. It's underestimated and so nobody ever talks about it but, I was extraordinarily stressed out for an entire month. I wasn't capable of calming myself down for an entire month. On top of worrying about him CONSTANTLY, plus work and school, I actually developed acid reflux as a result of severe stress and prolonged lack of restful sleep. It happens and it's not uncommon to feel trapped and emotionally spent. When something happens to a little creature whom you love just like you'd love your own human baby, your brain really doesn't know the difference. Like you, at first I didn't think I was going to be able to afford his diabetic treatment, which made me even more upset and panicked. I'm doing this all on my own. I don't have a spouse or anyone that can help me, and most of my friends are all too freaked out to even touch him. It's absolutely frustrating and angering sometimes when you feel the weight of all the responsibility of your baby's care and well-being resting entirely on you. That's why message boards like these are so helpful to keep you grounded :) I think that once you switch to cheaper supplies and get him on an insulin that works for his body, both of your lives will be more peaceful. Look into finding one or two people who you can trust with your cat's life to train, and then you'll have a backup in case you want to get out of the house and just relax for a few hours off-duty. You are definitely not alone in this though.
I found out that the kit I got for $175 came with a box of 25 strips and a box of 50 test strips. Plus 2 packs of lancets and the meter and a lancet injector pen. I did go to Walmart today and got the Relion Prime meter ($9) and a box of 50 strips($9). I will use up the stuff I got from the vet and then use the Relion meter. Thank you for the suggestions!
 
Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning, pre-shot, test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening, pre-shot, test)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

The nadir is the lowest glucose between shots. There is a general period when it will happen which is specific to the insulin being used and testing then helps make sure your cat doesn't go too low.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Its hard for all that love their pets and basically they look to us to do what we do lol and thats love them and care for them naturally and when you have had a bad day I can bet the first thing at your feet is Garfield because he loves you unconditionally and thats why we do what we do. I can see you already have gotten great feedback on the supplies as I have not started to do any of that yet but I will be as well and I just swiped my debit card for a surgery for my Midnight for 3500. and a balance depending on the extra days that left me with hopefully a weeks worth of groceries and he still is not out of the woods yet as the diabetes in him is interferring with his recovery so they said tonight. Hang in there there will be better days its just not today is all!

Love Midnights Mommi
 
I can use mine on an iPad, but it is slow. My phone is quicker. You have to set it up on a laptop though.
 
@Marje and Gracie - Do you know how @Catcrzymom can use her spreadsheet on an iPad? (I've never used one so can't help. : ( )

She has to download google drive and Google sheets both. Then she would go to google drive and locate the SS. When she clicks on it, it will ask if she wants to open it in google sheets and she would,mod course, say yes. After that, it should always be in google sheets. I find that when I open any SS in FDMB now from my iPad, it automatically saves them to my google sheets on my iPad.

She can always PM me if she needs more help. I did send her a PM back a week or so ago to help with the SS.
 
She has to download google drive and Google sheets both. Then she would go to google drive and locate the SS. When she clicks on it, it will ask if she wants to open it in google sheets and she would,mod course, say yes. After that, it should always be in google sheets. I find that when I open any SS in FDMB now from my iPad, it automatically saves them to my google sheets on my iPad.

She can always PM me if she needs more help. I did send her a PM back a week or so ago to help with the SS.
That's really odd. Mine opens fine from the sheets app. I didn't have to do anything special
 
She has to download google drive and Google sheets both. Then she would go to google drive and locate the SS. When she clicks on it, it will ask if she wants to open it in google sheets and she would,mod course, say yes. After that, it should always be in google sheets. I find that when I open any SS in FDMB now from my iPad, it automatically saves them to my google sheets on my iPad.

She can always PM me if she needs more help. I did send her a PM back a week or so ago to help with the SS.

Thank you for your help, Marje. :)


Mogs
.
 
Just wanted to say Hi. I see you're in Maryville. I live in Lebanon and work in Collinsville, so we're just a hop, skip, and a jump away from each other!

Petsmart has wellness plans that are a great deal. I pay $33 a month for Bud and all office visits are free, the yearly vaccinations are covered, even a yearly dental and so many diagnostic tests are included. It's been great. And for the procedures that you do have to pay for, you get a 20% discount. Just wanted to let you know that was out there.
 
Just wanted to say Hi. I see you're in Maryville. I live in Lebanon and work in Collinsville, so we're just a hop, skip, and a jump away from each other!

Petsmart has wellness plans that are a great deal. I pay $33 a month for Bud and all office visits are free, the yearly vaccinations are covered, even a yearly dental and so many diagnostic tests are included. It's been great. And for the procedures that you do have to pay for, you get a 20% discount. Just wanted to let you know that was out there.
Thank you the information Stacy! Nice to know someone is close! Are they very good with your baby at Petsmart? I've been taking my cats to Horseshoe Lake Animal Hospital for years and love Dr. Mollet. She's been great. I'm just a bit Leary of taking Garfield somewhere different right now. Especially in the beginning of his diabetes treatment.
I don't live too far from the hospital in Maryville.
 
Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning, pre-shot, test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening, pre-shot, test)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

The nadir is the lowest glucose between shots. There is a general period when it will happen which is specific to the insulin being used and testing then helps make sure your cat doesn't go too low.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
How do I get the spreadsheet to show in my signature?
 
Its hard for all that love their pets and basically they look to us to do what we do lol and thats love them and care for them naturally and when you have had a bad day I can bet the first thing at your feet is Garfield because he loves you unconditionally and thats why we do what we do. I can see you already have gotten great feedback on the supplies as I have not started to do any of that yet but I will be as well and I just swiped my debit card for a surgery for my Midnight for 3500. and a balance depending on the extra days that left me with hopefully a weeks worth of groceries and he still is not out of the woods yet as the diabetes in him is interferring with his recovery so they said tonight. Hang in there there will be better days its just not today is all!

Love Midnights Mommi
I hope Midnight is doing well. Thank you for your reply. I appreciate you taking the time to do that.
What we do for our fur babies, right? :)
 
How do I get the spreadsheet to show in my signature?

You open your signature box by going to the top right side of the page and clicking on your sign on name....choose "Signature" and the box will pop up

Then just copy the link from Google and "paste" it in the signature box and "save"

When you're on your spreadsheet, look at the top right for the "Share"....click that and a new box will come up with the link to copy along the top
 
Thank you the information Stacy! Nice to know someone is close! Are they very good with your baby at Petsmart? I've been taking my cats to Horseshoe Lake Animal Hospital for years and love Dr. Mollet. She's been great. I'm just a bit Leary of taking Garfield somewhere different right now. Especially in the beginning of his diabetes treatment.
I don't live too far from the hospital in Maryville.

I work on Horseshoe Lake Road! Small world... I go to the O'Fallon Petsmart and I love Dr. Friedman there. I understand not wanting to switch vets if you love the one you have. Just wanted to give you the info if you need to switch for financial reasons.
 
I work on Horseshoe Lake Road! Small world... I go to the O'Fallon Petsmart and I love Dr. Friedman there. I understand not wanting to switch vets if you love the one you have. Just wanted to give you the info if you need to switch for financial reasons.
Bud is so handsome! He reminds me of my Romeo that I lost Oct 16,2014 to Cancer.
Yes, it's is a small world! I hope everything works out well for you and your Sugarbaby Bud! :)
 
You open your signature box by going to the top right side of the page and clicking on your sign on name....choose "Signature" and the box will pop up

Then just copy the link from Google and "paste" it in the signature box and "save"

When you're on your spreadsheet, look at the top right for the "Share"....click that and a new box will come up with the link to copy along the top
Not correct on the latter part. Don't click on "share". Click on "publish to the web" and then copy the address that comes up and paste that I to your signature block. When you click publish to the web, you also want to be sure the box is checked that automatically updates the SS each time you make a change.
 
Not correct on the latter part. Don't click on "share". Click on "publish to the web" and then copy the address that comes up and paste that I to your signature block. When you click publish to the web, you also want to be sure the box is checked that automatically updates the SS each time you make a change.
I wasn't given the option to publish on the web. I only was able to share.
 
Do you mean 3 hours before his evening shot?

No, +3 is 3 hours after the shot

Each cycle is 12 hours, so on each cycle there's a +1 to +11 that corresponds with how many hours since the last shot....then you're on the next cycle and it starts over again

A +9 would be 3 hours before the next shot.....Understand?
 
No, +3 is 3 hours after the shot

Each cycle is 12 hours, so on each cycle there's a +1 to +11 that corresponds with how many hours since the last shot....then you're on the next cycle and it starts over again

A +9 would be 3 hours before the next shot.....Understand?
Ok. Does it matter if the +3 is morning or evening?
 
Example:

Insulin given at 8am and 8pm

AMPS - Morning preshot blood test - taken at about 7:30am then food given
Dose: 6 IU Caninsulin - given at 8am

11am = AM+3
2pm = AM+6
5pm = AM+9


PMPS - Evening cycle preshot blood test - taken at about 7:30pm then food given
Dose: 6 IU Caninsulin - given at 8pm

11pm = PM+3
2am = PM+6
5am = PM+9

I hope the above gives you a better idea of how the times are recorded. Using the + system instead of conventional hours helps everyone to better understand each others' spreadsheets because different cats are on different insulins (where effect relative to dose time is different) and because members of the board are likely to be in different time zones.


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top