Just keep doing what I'm doing for awhile??

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
Hi all.

Today I'm doing my second blood glucose curve - last weekend was the first time I did one and BGC was done at the vets on October 9, 2019 (everything is posted on the spreadsheet as well as the lab work that was done) Freckles had been getting 2.5 units of Lantus twice a day but a recommendation from a forum member suggested to drop it. Today I started with 1.5 units insulin. Freckles is now completely off the kibble. She is currently eating 1.25 cans Fancy Feast (Turkey/giblets pate) and .25 can Royal Canin wet. She weighs 8 lbs 12 oz. There are no other known health conditions.

Do I keep doing what I'm doing for another week since I just reduced her insulin today? BG numbers are usually in the 20's (350-450)?

Thanks in advance for any advice/suggestions.

Judy
 
Hello Judy! Is this your first post on the LB&L Forum? If so, WELCOME! Did you come from FB or another forum?

Nice job on the avatar (adorable JAP)...and your signature and SS!

I noticed you said on your SS that you ran out of strips - one suggestion for that is to buy a human meter and matching strips to keep as a 'backup'. So you would never find yourself in a position of being out of strips just in case JAP decided to go into lower numbers.

Have you had a chance to read the stickies at the top of this forum? I know there's a ton of info - just start with the first one and work your way down. Did you reduce this morning? If so, just wondering why.

I'm an early to bed, early to rise gal so others will join in to perhaps answer other questions you have this evening. At any rate, welcome to the group - lots of folks here from Canada too! :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Judy!! I'm in your neighbouring province of Alberta!

Freckles is so cute! I love his face :) Like Sue said, you've done a really excellent job setting yourself up for success by getting Freckles transitioned to wet food, setting up a spreadsheet, and signature. I can't find your previous post where a member suggested a dose reduction but it might be helpful if you post the link in here so that we can have a couple other members take a look at Freckles situation and see if 1.5u is a good starting dose.

For now I would say hold your current dose since you have gotten that advice from a member who may have more insight to Freckles specific situation :)

When it comes to Lantus, how long you hold a dose depends on the dosing method that you follow, on the board Lantus members have 2 to choose from: Tight Regulation(TR) and Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). Have a look at the description of these methods Here and decide if one of these could work for you. You can also choose the option of following your vet's advice which is definitely ok, it just makes it a little harder for us to give guidance here, that being said, we have a lot of experienced members so if you would like to stick with your vets treatment plan just make sure to keep Freckles spreadsheet up to date and if you are ever in a tough situation someone here should be able to help. If you do decide to follow wither TR or SLGS add it to your signature so that members here can provide feedback for dosing as you move ahead.

In both TR and SLGS. We only increase or decrease by 0.25u at a time. How long you hold a dose depends also on whether you follow TR or SLGS.

One other thing to note is that our dosing methods are designed for a human meter, I see you use the Alpha track, this is definitely ok, but if you're open minded to using a human meter you will save a lot of money on strips. I use the freestyle lite, i like it because it only needs a little drop of blood and it reads quickly. I got mine at shoppers for free with the purchase of 100 strips.

Like Sue said, have a look through the stickies, it's a lot of information but dont be shy with the questions :) I especially recommend reading the sticky on hypos for safety reasons

Welcome to the Lantus Basaglar and Levemir Group! I'm looking forward to following Freckles Journey!!

Good luck :D
 
Hello Judy! Is this your first post on the LB&L Forum? If so, WELCOME! Did you come from FB or another forum?

Nice job on the avatar (adorable JAP)...and your signature and SS!

I noticed you said on your SS that you ran out of strips - one suggestion for that is to buy a human meter and matching strips to keep as a 'backup'. So you would never find yourself in a position of being out of strips just in case JAP decided to go into lower numbers.

Have you had a chance to read the stickies at the top of this forum? I know there's a ton of info - just start with the first one and work your way down. Did you reduce this morning? If so, just wondering why.

I'm an early to bed, early to rise gal so others will join in to perhaps answer other questions you have this evening. At any rate, welcome to the group - lots of folks here from Canada too! :bighug::bighug:


Thanks for your reply and welcome Sue. I will go and get a human meter ASAP! I have read some of the stickies throughout the entire FDMB Board - there is a LOT of information. I reduced this morning since Freckles is newly diagnosed - Sept. 23, 2019 - other forum members thought 2.5 units (vet's advice) was too much too fast and that Freckles may have gone right past the optimum amount. I will post the link when I figure out how to do that! lol
 
Welcome to you and Freckles.

As a bit of precaution, since Freckles is sitting in high numbers, I'd like to add another item to your shopping list. Could you pick pu some Ketostix? With nadirs that are in the 400s, I'd encourage you to test for ketones.

Is Freckles still eating dry food. If so, your only option with regard to dosing methods is Start Low Go Slow. The dry food you're giving your kitty may be keeping his numbers in the stratosphere. Please consider transitioning your cat to a low carb canned food diet. This food chart was developed by a vet (Lisa Pierson, DVM) and is on her website on feline nutrition. There is a wealth of information on the website. Low carb food is below 10% although most people feed their cats around 5% carb, give or take.

 
Welcome to you and Freckles.

As a bit of precaution, since Freckles is sitting in high numbers, I'd like to add another item to your shopping list. Could you pick pu some Ketostix? With nadirs that are in the 400s, I'd encourage you to test for ketones.

Thanks Sienne. I just found out about and ordered Ketostix this afternoon and I should get them in a couple of days.

Is Freckles still eating dry food. If so, your only option with regard to dosing methods is Start Low Go Slow. The dry food you're giving your kitty may be keeping his numbers in the stratosphere. Please consider transitioning your cat to a low carb canned food diet. This food chart was developed by a vet (Lisa Pierson, DVM) and is on her website on feline nutrition. There is a wealth of information on the website. Low carb food is below 10% although most people feed their cats around 5% carb, give or take.

Freckles is not eating dry food anymore. The vet had prescribed Dry Royal Canin but after some reading, I decided to wean Freckles off of it - Freckles has not had dry kibble for 2 days now. Freckles is currently eating Fancy Feast - Turkey and Giblet Pate (@ 2% carbs)
 
Hi Judy!! I'm in your neighbouring province of Alberta!

Freckles is so cute! I love his face :) Like Sue said, you've done a really excellent job setting yourself up for success by getting Freckles transitioned to wet food, setting up a spreadsheet, and signature. I can't find your previous post where a member suggested a dose reduction but it might be helpful if you post the link in here so that we can have a couple other members take a look at Freckles situation and see if 1.5u is a good starting dose.

For now I would say hold your current dose since you have gotten that advice from a member who may have more insight to Freckles specific situation :)

When it comes to Lantus, how long you hold a dose depends on the dosing method that you follow, on the board Lantus members have 2 to choose from: Tight Regulation(TR) and Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). Have a look at the description of these methods Here and decide if one of these could work for you. You can also choose the option of following your vet's advice which is definitely ok, it just makes it a little harder for us to give guidance here, that being said, we have a lot of experienced members so if you would like to stick with your vets treatment plan just make sure to keep Freckles spreadsheet up to date and if you are ever in a tough situation someone here should be able to help. If you do decide to follow wither TR or SLGS add it to your signature so that members here can provide feedback for dosing as you move ahead.

In both TR and SLGS. We only increase or decrease by 0.25u at a time. How long you hold a dose depends also on whether you follow TR or SLGS.

One other thing to note is that our dosing methods are designed for a human meter, I see you use the Alpha track, this is definitely ok, but if you're open minded to using a human meter you will save a lot of money on strips. I use the freestyle lite, i like it because it only needs a little drop of blood and it reads quickly. I got mine at shoppers for free with the purchase of 100 strips.

Like Sue said, have a look through the stickies, it's a lot of information but dont be shy with the questions :) I especially recommend reading the sticky on hypos for safety reasons

Welcome to the Lantus Basaglar and Levemir Group! I'm looking forward to following Freckles Journey!!

Good luck :D

Here is the link to the previous conversation regarding my vet having Freckles at 2.5 units every 12 hours. It was suggested to go back to 1 unit every 12 hours. I went down to 1.5 units but can go down to 1 unit if the experienced people on board here feel that is the best place. I'm gone for 12 hours during the work week though so I can only get full day readings on the weekend if that needs to be considered.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-food-is-best-and-easily-available-in-canada.220681/
 
You can definitely follow TR while you work but 12 hour days make it tough. SLGS might be a good start for you. Let’s see what other members say :)
 
Back
Top