jakes
Member Since 2012
Our 12 year old male neutered cat, Martin, was diagnosed with diabetes about a year ago. Up until that point we had just been feeding him low-quality dried food simply because we didn't know any better, but we did some research online and decided to switch to low-carb canned foods. We did not put him on insulin, but we did take him in to have his blood sugar checked occasionally and it seemed like the switch to canned food had helped it enough that he didn't need insulin.
A couple of weeks ago we noticed he was drinking a lot more water and urinating a lot more than normal. Unfortunately we didn't act quickly, and after this had been going on for awhile we took him to the vet to have him checked out. He was in DKA, and the vet gave him lots of fluids and some insulin to try to balance him out. This was on a Saturday, and our vet closes early on Saturdays and is not open on Sundays. Saturday night he was completely lethargic, not even moving, so we rushed him to the emergency clinic. We didn't think he was going to make it - his PCV (red blood cell count) was extremely low due to the DKA, but he recovered and on Monday morning he was discharged to us. We immediately took him to our normal vet, who asked us to start him on 1 unit of U40 PZI insulin twice a day and to get our own meter to keep an eye on his BG.
On Monday night his BG was at 508, so still very high. Our meter (a ReliOn Micro) maxes out at 600, and AM pre-shot today was 600+. 5 hours after we gave him his PZI insulin this morning his BG was down to 348, but then 3 hours after that it was back to 600+. Our vet asked us to increase the dose to 2 units U40 twice a day, so we just gave him his first 2 unit shot about an hour ago.
We're having a hard time getting blood from his ear to test his BG, sometimes having to poke him 15-20 times before we get blood. It's pretty miserable for us and also for him, and he's clearly pretty unhappy right now. I know the vet has told us that stress can increase his BG level, so I'm wondering if the stress of us repeatedly poking him to get blood might be part of the reason his BG is so high.
He's barely eating his canned food, although we have some low-carb dry food (EVO turkey & chicken) that he's willing to eat a lot of. We're worried about feeding him the dried food though because we don't want to bring up his blood sugar even more.
Really we're just trying to figure out where to go from here. We're really worried that we spent all this money and put ourselves and him through all this stress to get through DKA, and that now his quality of life is going to be awful or something else is going to happen and he's just going to die soon :sad: He keeps trying to hide from us, probably because we keep poking him with needles and lancets. This is all very new to us, and it's difficult to adjust to, so I'm really just looking for reassurance and advice.
Thanks everyone :smile:
A couple of weeks ago we noticed he was drinking a lot more water and urinating a lot more than normal. Unfortunately we didn't act quickly, and after this had been going on for awhile we took him to the vet to have him checked out. He was in DKA, and the vet gave him lots of fluids and some insulin to try to balance him out. This was on a Saturday, and our vet closes early on Saturdays and is not open on Sundays. Saturday night he was completely lethargic, not even moving, so we rushed him to the emergency clinic. We didn't think he was going to make it - his PCV (red blood cell count) was extremely low due to the DKA, but he recovered and on Monday morning he was discharged to us. We immediately took him to our normal vet, who asked us to start him on 1 unit of U40 PZI insulin twice a day and to get our own meter to keep an eye on his BG.
On Monday night his BG was at 508, so still very high. Our meter (a ReliOn Micro) maxes out at 600, and AM pre-shot today was 600+. 5 hours after we gave him his PZI insulin this morning his BG was down to 348, but then 3 hours after that it was back to 600+. Our vet asked us to increase the dose to 2 units U40 twice a day, so we just gave him his first 2 unit shot about an hour ago.
We're having a hard time getting blood from his ear to test his BG, sometimes having to poke him 15-20 times before we get blood. It's pretty miserable for us and also for him, and he's clearly pretty unhappy right now. I know the vet has told us that stress can increase his BG level, so I'm wondering if the stress of us repeatedly poking him to get blood might be part of the reason his BG is so high.
He's barely eating his canned food, although we have some low-carb dry food (EVO turkey & chicken) that he's willing to eat a lot of. We're worried about feeding him the dried food though because we don't want to bring up his blood sugar even more.
Really we're just trying to figure out where to go from here. We're really worried that we spent all this money and put ourselves and him through all this stress to get through DKA, and that now his quality of life is going to be awful or something else is going to happen and he's just going to die soon :sad: He keeps trying to hide from us, probably because we keep poking him with needles and lancets. This is all very new to us, and it's difficult to adjust to, so I'm really just looking for reassurance and advice.
Thanks everyone :smile: