Just got a reading of 248 - should i shoot 3 units still???

Status
Not open for further replies.

higgs

Member
hey guys, i don't know if this is the right forum... have to run out in about 5 minutes...

tony's BG has been in the mid 300's up to mid 400's before every shot for the past week... (haven't done a curve as our schedules won allow it until the weekend...)

anyway, he's currently on 4 units of caninsulin in the morning and 3 in the evening... should i shoot 3 units? I'm thinking of only shooting 2. I have to go out for the next 3 hours and don't want to risk hypo...

suggestions?
 
Re: Just got a reading of 248 - should i shoot 3 units still

I am sorry you didn't get a reply in time. I hope you went with the 2 units. You should be able to test in +3 and know if he is going too low. With the change to wet lo carb and his numbers lowering, you might want to start over at one unit and slowly increase, instead of trying to decrease?

The trouble is that no one on the board is currently using your insulin, so people are reluctant to give dosing advice. There are a few people who used it in the past, but they may not be on the board when you need help. One thing that would really help is to set up a spreadsheet so we have some history of your shots and doses when you do need advice. Here is the spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/previewtemplate ... ode=public Choose Use This Template. If you have any questions, just ask.
 
Re: Just got a reading of 248 - should i shoot 3 units still

It would be a good thing to lower the dose a lot when you get a number like that.
I used caninsulin and my cat got OTJ on caninsulin, but only because i changed to 100 % wet food and at every preshot desided what the dose would be because after the food change the number dropped.
With a number like that, my cat Prop didn.t even need one unit to go to low within +3 and +4. So if you have changed a 100 % to wet, I would begin as Sue suggest at 1 unit morning and evening and then do a lot of testing. And remember if you are not home to test at +3 and +4, then always give a lower dose rigth now.
The first week after I changed to wet Props preshotnumbers went from the 300's to the 150. And after 10 days she was OTJ. Before that she had been on a mix of wet and dry food. It helped a bit on the numbers, but didn't take her all the way.
 
Re: Just got a reading of 248 - should i shoot 3 units still

Thanks for the Advice!

So i gave him 2 units and at +3 he was at 105. :) This morning he was back up to 385. He is indeed on an all wet, low carb diet.

I have a spreadsheet set up, but haven't plugged in any info as of yet. this weekend i'm thinking of doing a curve on him to get a more accurate picture... life's just been so crazy busy as of late!

thanks again guys! after all, if it weren't for this site, i would have gave him 3 units because that's what the vet told me to do. :D
 
Re: Just got a reading of 248 - should i shoot 3 units still

Have you considered switching insulins? If I remember correctly, you're in Canada, so you don't need a prescription. A slower acting insulin would help out quite a bit, and you'd get a lot more advice because more people are using it. A slower insulin has less dramatic highs and lows, so it's safer.

I personally would recommend a human insulin like Lantus (glargine) or Levemir (detemir), but many people also have good results with Prozinc. Bandit went into remission on Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top