Just gave a fur shot on high glucose number

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa & KitKat

Member Since 2017
Out of the last 4 insulin shots, I have gave 2 fur shots. Is there anything I can do besides wait until the next time to give a shot. His number this morning was 471, I hate to see what it will get up to today. I had given a fur shot on Thursday, so I shaved some hair on his back so I could see better and when I started giving his shot he jumped. So, I guess he did not get any insulin. If anyone knows of anything I can do PLEASE, let me know.
 
Out of the last 4 insulin shots, I have gave 2 fur shots. Is there anything I can do besides wait until the next time to give a shot. His number this morning was 471, I hate to see what it will get up to today. I had given a fur shot on Thursday, so I shaved some hair on his back so I could see better and when I started giving his shot he jumped. So, I guess he did not get any insulin. If anyone knows of anything I can do PLEASE, let me know.

I will tag one of our Lantus experts to guide you, are shooting to close to the spine? maybe that's why he jumps? in the meantime here is a link on how to shoot, we all have had a fur shot at one point or another, I cannot advise you on what to do but someone will very shortly, I use ProZinc, and I have had a fur shot I have been advise not to shoot again, but Corky's numbers have not been as high as your Buddy., relax breath in and breath out, :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-shoot-your-cat.2904


@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
 
This is Kit Kat Not Buddy, his vet just started him on ProZinc. He had him taking vetsulin, but I wanted him on a longer lasting insulin and he had Prozinc. I am going to try and watch what I feed him today and maybe give his shot a little earlier tonight. I am just worried sick about him. I have to go see about my other cat, I will be back.
 
You should never give a second shot even if you see the needle pierce both sides of the skin tent and the insulin squirt across the room. You have no idea if any insulin went in or how much. The repercussions of a fur shot compared to overdosing your cat are far less. As long as your cat doesn't have ketones, you need to shoot at PM. The only adjustment you could really make is if you need to move your shot time, you could shoot earlier tonight.
 
This is Kit Kat Not Buddy, his vet just started him on ProZinc. He had him taking vetsulin, but I wanted him on a longer lasting insulin and he had Prozinc. I am going to try and watch what I feed him today and maybe give his shot a little earlier tonight. I am just worried sick about him. I have to go see about my other cat, I will be back.
Sorry, well in that case give Kit Kat only 0-10% carbs only, give several small meals, did yo checked his BG 1/2hour after the fue shot, did all the insulin went on his back, maybe some filtered thru , any of the mI will tag my ProZinc expert Suzanne :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
I did check his BG @11:34 a.m. and he was @362, maybe some insulin got through. All Kit Kat has is Royal Canin Glycobalance and I don't believe it is low carb. I am going to have to go on the hunt for low carb food. Buddy, ate Dr Elsey's dry. I am not sure if the food chart has been changed in a while.
@Teresa & Buddy
Hi Teresa as others have said
Can you start a new signature spreadsheet for Kit Kat? I think it's confusing members thinking it's still Buddy you are talking about :bighug::cat:
I will need to know how to set up a new signature spreadsheet, I do not remember how.
 
I did check his BG @11:34 a.m. and he was @362, maybe some insulin got through. All Kit Kat has is Royal Canin Glycobalance and I don't believe it is low carb. I am going to have to go on the hunt for low carb food. Buddy, ate Dr Elsey's dry. I am not sure if the food chart has been changed in a while.

I will need to know how to set up a new signature spreadsheet, I do not remember how.[/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top