Just about to start Lantus

Jackie and Molly

Member Since 2020
Hello,

I posted an introduction this past weekend. My Molly was diagnosed a week ago today, and I am still waiting for insulin from Canada.

I am going low carb and I cut out the dry food and treats. She eats two cans of fancy feast a day and an occasional freeze dried treat.

My vet prescribed one unit twice a day, but that was the dosage when she still had dry food in her diet.
I want to go low and slow and start at 0.5 units twice a day, however the syringes I received from the pharmacy don't have half unit markings.

Is there a way around this? Maybe a way to measure half a unit in these syringes? I just don't want to give her too much insulin!

any advice is welcome!

Thanks!
 
Welcome to the L&L forum! Molly looks like a sweetie! I can't wait to see Molly's progress:cat:

I am going low carb and I cut out the dry food and treats. She eats two cans of fancy feast a day and an occasional freeze dried treat.
Sounds like you're on the right track regarding her diet:smuggrin:
My vet prescribed one unit twice a day, but that was the dosage when she still had dry food in her diet.
Hopefully someone will be along shortly to give dosing advice. Dry food does have an impact on kitties overall #s. Removing it from their diet allows the insulin to be more effective so to speak. Some doses do have to be adjusted once dry food is no longer available.
the syringes I received from the pharmacy don't have half unit markings.
You can get syringes at your local Walmart. I order from ADW diabetic supply https://www.adwdiabetes.com/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI9qio_taX5wIVyEXVCh2aCgpLEAAYASAAEgKxtPD_BwE
You want 3/10ml with the 1/2 unit markings. Relion and BD are the brands at Walmart. You can order w/e brand you prefer from ADW. 1/2 unit markings are crucial for fine dosing. Kitties need very small amounts of insulin.

Again welcome. Be sure to read the stickies at the top of the L&L forum. Take it slow because it can be info overload.:p
Someone should be along shortly to help get your Spreadsheet and signature set up.:)
Have a wonderful day!
 
Spreadsheet setup
For your signature, click on your name at the top right of the screen, and click on signature at left.
You may need to abbreviate, since the space is limited. You can look at other people's signatures for examples.

Those stickies are packed full of info, like Briere said. We tend to review them over and over! I think the signature instructions are there too; I just couldn't find them.
But don't let all the setup intimidate you -- ask anything if you need to! I think it took me 4 hours to get everything set up, lol, but it was WELL worth it;) Most people are likely more efficient than I was.
You can get lots more help with dosing, etc. when we can see those BG numbers and patterns.

Welcome Jackie -- Molly has the most precious face:cat:
 
She really is a sweet girl! Thank you for your reply. I live in NY and the pharmacies in my area do not sell more than 10 syringes without a prescription and unfortunately the prescription my vet wrote was filled using needles without the half unit markings.

Luckily I was able to order them from ADW - thank you so much for that information!

Have a great day!
 
Last edited:
Not to bombard you with information, but....

This post will help you get started. It contains information about what to put in your signature and generally what you need to get started. It will help you to help us.

It will be helpful if you can track Molly's blood glucose numbers now that you've changed her diet, that would be great. It's also another reason to get your spreadsheet set up. My understanding is that the Candian pharmacies may be delaying shipments due to the cold weather we've been experiencing in the US. You may want to call and double check when your insulin will be delivered. FWIW, you can always check around for the cost of one pen.
 
Not to bombard you with information, but....

This post will help you get started. It contains information about what to put in your signature and generally what you need to get started. It will help you to help us.

It will be helpful if you can track Molly's blood glucose numbers now that you've changed her diet, that would be great. It's also another reason to get your spreadsheet set up. My understanding is that the Candian pharmacies may be delaying shipments due to the cold weather we've been experiencing in the US. You may want to call and double check when your insulin will be delivered. FWIW, you can always check around for the cost of one pen.


I've heard about this and was concerned, it took me a long time to even get through to someone at the pharmacy. Luckily it was shipped monday. It's on track to get here saturday, and I really hope it makes it!

In the meantime I've been trying to test Molly's BG but she is not having it. I'm not having trouble getting blood, but getting her to stay still :(. I'm going to keep trying but I really hope I can get the hang of it by the time her insulin comes.
 
Spreadsheet setup
For your signature, click on your name at the top right of the screen, and click on signature at left.
You may need to abbreviate, since the space is limited. You can look at other people's signatures for examples.

Those stickies are packed full of info, like Briere said. We tend to review them over and over! I think the signature instructions are there too; I just couldn't find them.
But don't let all the setup intimidate you -- ask anything if you need to! I think it took me 4 hours to get everything set up, lol, but it was WELL worth it;) Most people are likely more efficient than I was.
You can get lots more help with dosing, etc. when we can see those BG numbers and patterns.

Welcome Jackie -- Molly has the most precious face:cat:

Thanks for your help! I think I set the spreadsheet up correctly. I just started hometesting today and this morning was my most successful reading! (still a challenge though- I hope we get used to it soon) I am at school right now so I am unable to test her again until around 6 p.m. Her BG was 445 at the vet and this morning it was 215
 
Good morning Jackie!

That is quite a drop from the vet's reading. It's good though, she has to feel better. I hope you have a great day at school.

If you want, on your SS, on the sheet1 tab, you can right click, rename, the sheet to 2020. No big deal:) Comments are great, and very helpful to look back on. Some people fill up the comment section, and some just note changes. I like to use it and read others.

Your signature is good - you can also add LC FF diet or similar, and then SLGL or TR when you decide which to follow. The more you can fit into your signature, the less you'll get repeat questions about what Molly eats or what method you are following, etc.;)

I typed this out, then saw Sienne and Gabby above -- Sienne is awesome:)
 
I'm not having trouble getting blood, but getting her to stay still :(
Hi Jackie!
Are you having trouble getting Molly to stay still while the test strip 'sucks up' the blood droplet? If so, I was told that you can use the edge of a credit card to 'scoop' up the droplet, or your fingernail. Once the droplet is either on the credit card/fingernail kitty is free to go.

FWIW, my niece was watching me test Freckles' blood one time and she saw the credit card in the kit. She thought the card was there because I used it so much to pay for my cat's bills and supplies! :facepalm:
 
Back
Top