June 9 - JOLIE AMPS 124!

Jolie/Rochel

Member Since 2022
Question: AMPS is in normal range (20-min post-breakfast 124; was 154 right after eating and 157 when I woke up). Was 123 +5 last night PMPS. SHOULD I GIVE 0.25 this morning? I'm consulting with FB Sugarcats group and they think I should skip the dose. (I will be going out for a few hours soon and don't want her to go hypo while I'm away!)

Last night had a successful first run of 0.25 U - with help of tech. Jolie is very crafty and picks up on any attempt to do anything "fancy" with her. But we accomplished it. Very happy with the result!!

Question: I am defintely leaning toward skipping dose this morning, pending your responses. Is it considered OK for low-level diabetic cat to skip doses while establishing a cycle at the beginning of treatment?


Last edited: 21 minutes ago
Rea
 
Question: AMPS is in normal range (20-min post-breakfast 124; was 154 right after eating and 157 when I woke up). Was 123 +5 last night PMPS. SHOULD I GIVE 0.25 this morning? I'm consulting with FB Sugarcats group and they think I should skip the dose. (I will be going out for a few hours soon and don't want her to go hypo while I'm away!)

Last night had a successful first run of 0.25 U - with help of tech. Jolie is very crafty and picks up on any attempt to do anything "fancy" with her. But we accomplished it. Very happy with the result!!

Question: I am defintely leaning toward skipping dose this morning, pending your responses. Is it considered OK for low-level diabetic cat to skip doses while establishing a cycle at the beginning of treatment?


Last edited: 21 minutes ago
Rea
I will tag Elise @tiffmaxee if she doesn't see this I would definitely skip this morning since you won't be home to monitor

Rochel go back to this title

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/june-9-jolie-157-amps.264307/#post-2960868 and change it back to Questions about U-100 syringes so there is no confusion

Rochel when you post the AMPS don't keep changing it do it like this
AMPS-157/154 however long it was that you got it/ 124 however long this test was
And fix it on your spreadsheet
 
Last edited:
Diane, OK! - was not sure how to log this. So, please clarify , should I have written something like:

(yesterday) PMPS: 123 +5
(today) AMPS 157 +10; 154 +10.5+; 124 +11
 
Diane, OK! - was not sure how to log this. So, please clarify , should I have written something like:

(yesterday) PMPS: 123 +5
(today) AMPS 157 +10; 154 +10.5+; 124 +11
Forget about putting the 123 @+5 , in your title that was last night
The 157 I see was last night @+11
What ever the actual BG was this morning that's what you put in the AMPS cell for today and in your title
So was that 154? then you got 124 is this correct?

When you get a chance go back to your post here
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/june-9-jolie-157-amps.264307/#post-2960865
It's confusing to members , go back and put what you had there before which was
Questions about U-100 syringes OK
 
Last edited:
Did you recently change to a low carb diet?
Just posted this on Sugarcats in FB. Gotta run!

Yes, i did recently did finish her transition to LC canned diet fully about 1.5 weeks ago.

But for years Jolie's been eating a lo-carb food (Instinct canned lamb and chicken, both I think well under 8%, for YEARS - no dry food for ages). She started on the 23% Royal Canon P/R in February this year and then switched to RAWS beef (20.5%) in May. I was basing that choice on possible food allergies possibly contributing to long-term IBD inflammation. This was when all the vets thought it was triaditis problem and no diabetic involvement. She started losing weight prior to February this year, prior to the food switches from Instinct to the new ones. So why was she losing all that weight, if not diabetic?
Also, another factor is that I just weaned her off of steroids that she was on for about 2 months during this whole phase. Current vet thought perhaps the diabetes was steroid-induced, but not sure. The point is: why did she lose all the weight early this year and present with highly elevated liver values in the first place? Basically, before February, she was eating Instinct canned and taking no medications. For years.
Her liver values did go down as of last labs 2 weeks ago, but are still elevated. She has other markers of disease if you look at her labs on the spreadsheet. Thank you!!
 
Just posted this on Sugarcats in FB. Gotta run!

Yes, i did recently did finish her transition to LC canned diet fully about 1.5 weeks ago.

But for years Jolie's been eating a lo-carb food (Instinct canned lamb and chicken, both I think well under 8%, for YEARS - no dry food for ages). She started on the 23% Royal Canon P/R in February this year and then switched to RAWS beef (20.5%) in May. I was basing that choice on possible food allergies possibly contributing to long-term IBD inflammation. This was when all the vets thought it was triaditis problem and no diabetic involvement. She started losing weight prior to February this year, prior to the food switches from Instinct to the new ones. So why was she losing all that weight, if not diabetic?
Also, another factor is that I just weaned her off of steroids that she was on for about 2 months during this whole phase. Current vet thought perhaps the diabetes was steroid-induced, but not sure. The point is: why did she lose all the weight early this year and present with highly elevated liver values in the first place? Basically, before February, she was eating Instinct canned and taking no medications. For years.
Her liver values did go down as of last labs 2 weeks ago, but are still elevated. She has other markers of disease if you look at her labs on the spreadsheet. Thank you!!
Put NS on your SS we can straighten out how to fix your titles when you get home
and I can have someone look at your labs
@Jolie/Rochel
 
Are you supplementing B12? I definitely think it’s ver6 likely the steroids that caused her bg to spike. Some start to return to normal in a few months and I strongly suspect she will too.

Lantus usually kicks in around +2 so if her bg had been over 150 and you left right after eating she would have been fine. With a bg almost normal skipping was the way to go.
 
Back
Top