Jumping issues - Neuropathy - getting worse

Status
Not open for further replies.

NicoleC46237

Member Since 2020
Over time Lou has been having more issues jumping. He used to be a super agile cat but since his diagnosis I've noticed him become less and less graceful to the point now that he has fallen off the kitchen table a few times, can't jump onto the couch or recliner all the time and needs help getting on our bed sometimes. I feel like this is something I need to have the vet involved in but I'm leery about taking him without knowing ahead of time what it could be since they are on lockdown now and I can't go in the building with him. Does that make sense? Does this sound like neuropathy?
 
Hi Nicole, yes it sounds like diabetic neuropathy you are describing. It is very common in unregulated diabetic cats.
Once the blood glucose levels return to near normal the neuropathy will improve.
You can also give Methyl B 12 tablets which help resolve the condition over time as well.
It is not something the vet can give you as they don't keep it. It is not the Vitamin B injections they give.
You can save yourself a vet visit.
You can buy it online from lifelink.com....it is called Zobaline for cats.
The tablets can be crumbled over the food and the cats don't seem to notice it is there.

My Sheba had it badly for seversl months, I gave her Zobaline and when her BG levels improved she eventually returned to her normal self and could again jump up on chairs and the bed and walk up the stairs easily.
 
Hi Nicole, yes it sounds like diabetic neuropathy you are describing. It is very common in unregulated diabetic cats.
Once the blood glucose levels return to near normal the neuropathy will improve.
You can also give Methyl B 12 tablets which help resolve the condition over time as well.
It is not something the vet can give you as they don't keep it. It is not the Vitamin B injections they give.
You can save yourself a vet visit.
You can buy it online from lifelink.com....it is called Zobaline for cats.
The tablets can be crumbled over the food and the cats don't seem to notice it is there.

My Sheba had it badly for seversl months, I gave her Zobaline and when her BG levels improved she eventually returned to her normal self and could again jump up on chairs and the bed and walk up the stairs easily.
Thank you so much for the info and the reference to get it too! Lou and I are so fortunate we found this group! How much should he get a day?
 
I read the info on the product and it answered that question. I've already ordered a bottle and it should get here by the 23rd at the latest! Thank you so much!!
I’m glad I could help. It is hard to see them struggling with mobility but it will get better with time, better BGS and the Methyl B12.

You are home testing and feeding the correct food so you will get there. I would suggest getting some tests in during the first half of the cycles, not just the nadirs if you can, and if the numbers are dropping fast, give some food to slow down the drops. It might help stop any bouncing.
Are you feeding during the cycle as well as before the shots?
 
I’m glad I could help. It is hard to see them struggling with mobility but it will get better with time, better BGS and the Methyl B12.

You are home testing and feeding the correct food so you will get there. I would suggest getting some tests in during the first half of the cycles, not just the nadirs if you can, and if the numbers are dropping fast, give some food to slow down the drops. It might help stop any bouncing.
Are you feeding during the cycle as well as before the shots?
He has food available 24/7. I give fresh food at the 6 hour mark and at his shot times. I did find testing more often easier when I didn't have extra people home during the day (darn pandemic) - they throw off my routines lol. I just bumped him up to 3U this morning.... it's the highest dose yet but usually he doesn't stay at high doses long. I just wish he would regulate :(
 
He has food available 24/7. I give fresh food at the 6 hour mark and at his shot times. I did find testing more often easier when I didn't have extra people home during the day (darn pandemic) - they throw off my routines lol. I just bumped him up to 3U this morning.... it's the highest dose yet but usually he doesn't stay at high doses long. I just wish he would regulate :(
Except for the 2 hours pre-shot of course - forgot to specify on the food being down. So I guess 20/7 lol
 
I received the Zobaline yesterday and gave him his first 3 mg pill with his tuna treat after his PMPS last night. He ate it down wonderfully. In the last 2-3 days I have really seen him decline and I'm scared. Please tell me that I'm doing everything I can for him with this pill and that it will get better. My heart is breaking for him. He is still purring, eating, cleaning, peeing and pooping but watching him fall off things, not be able to get on the couch or chairs and his walk being so staggering is just so sad.

I literally had a nightmare last night that I had to put him down because he couldn't walk anymore and was suffering and it is hanging on to me today I think. I just don't want my baby suffering. :(
 
Once his numbers come down some the zobaline will start working . It not a magic pill all on its own but the combination should help him tremendously. I know its hard but believe me, unless there is some underlying issue, Lou isnt half as concerned as you are. I know its tough to see them like that. We all know.
 
Was Lou staggering when you got that low BG of 79 today, 4/18?

Wondering if he is dropping low other times, and you are not catching it. Maybe the staggering is a sign of hypoglycemia for Lou.
 
Was Lou staggering when you got that low BG of 79 today, 4/18?
Wondering if he is dropping low other times, and you are not catching it. Maybe the staggering is a sign of hypoglycemia for Lou.
No - he is staggering all day/night, not just at his low time. He is just quickly declining before my eyes. Even when his numbers have been high in the last few days he has been walking knock-kneed and pigeon-toed on his back legs. He's not quite walking on his hocks yet but he's crossing his feet when walking a lot and they are very weak and wobbly when he's walking and standing.
 
Once his numbers come down some the zobaline will start working . It not a magic pill all on its own but the combination should help him tremendously. I know its hard but believe me, unless there is some underlying issue, Lou isnt half as concerned as you are. I know its tough to see them like that. We all know.
Thanks - I just need to hear that there is hope - even if it's down the road. :cat:
 
Good idea to get the potassium levels checked as low potassium can cause weakness in the limbs and inability to lift the head and needs vet attention.

Sheba had neuropathy badly which progressively got worse and used to alarm me and was hard to watch. She could only walk a short distance before she had to sit and recover before continuing, she also used to slip and slide on the wooden floors and her legs would suddenly give way and she would half fall. She also had trouble going up stairs and could not jump on the bed or chairs. Eventually she fully recovered.
 
Good idea to get the potassium levels checked as low potassium can cause weakness in the limbs and inability to lift the head and needs vet attention.

Sheba had neuropathy badly which progressively got worse and used to alarm me and was hard to watch. She could only walk a short distance before she had to sit and recover before continuing, she also used to slip and slide on the wooden floors and her legs would suddenly give way and she would half fall. She also had trouble going up stairs and could not jump on the bed or chairs. Eventually she fully recovered.
Our house has no carpet - I have too many allergies so that was something we looked for when we were house hunting. Unfortunately it's now an issue for poor Lou. I'm thankful to see that a full recovery is possible
 
Is he kind of walking with his knees down?

It could be neuropathy with a touch of arthritis too. Most cats get arthritis when they are older. Although at 9 Lou isn't very old.
His knees are getting lower on the back each day but I'm not thinking it's arthritis.... but it could be. He is still so young but who knows. Maybe once I post a video you guys will be able to see for sure if I'm missing something.
 
Yes, let us see a video when you get a chance.

The best thing WE can do, is try to get Lou better regulated. WE because we are in this together. Everyone here that is helping you is part of that WE. He's headed in that direction, getting better regulated, with the SLGS Prozinc dosing protocol. But I'm wondering if it's possible for you to try the MPM (Modified Prozinc Method) protocol?

I know you have the farm to take care of, plus your son, plus the other cats, plus your work from home job, plus your family AND all of life's other responsibilities. So you're already stretched pretty thin. But take a look at the MPM protocol and see what you think.
>>>>> Sticky PROZINC DOSING METHODS It's in the second half of the document.

MPM is more aggressive, and the dose reduction point can be lowered from the standard 90 mg/dL that SLGS uses. You don't have to lower the reduction point all at once, but maybe 10 BG points at a time. You need to test more, and try to smooth out (aka slow down) the drops in BG levels with food.

 
Yes, let us see a video when you get a chance.

The best thing WE can do, is try to get Lou better regulated. WE because we are in this together. Everyone here that is helping you is part of that WE. He's headed in that direction, getting better regulated, with the SLGS Prozinc dosing protocol. But I'm wondering if it's possible for you to try the MPM (Modified Prozinc Method) protocol?

I know you have the farm to take care of, plus your son, plus the other cats, plus your work from home job, plus your family AND all of life's other responsibilities. So you're already stretched pretty thin. But take a look at the MPM protocol and see what you think.
>>>>> Sticky PROZINC DOSING METHODS It's in the second half of the document.

MPM is more aggressive, and the dose reduction point can be lowered from the standard 90 mg/dL that SLGS uses. You don't have to lower the reduction point all at once, but maybe 10 BG points at a time. You need to test more, and try to smooth out (aka slow down) the drops in BG levels with food.
I have 2 small videos but can't figure out how to post them. I could use some help on that.

I have thought about trying the modified method - it doesn't seem that I'll be changing much, just the values that I'm basing the changes on mostly if I'm reading it correctly. I'll read it again though to be sure though.
 
UGH!! I'm trying to embed from facebook and I keep getting "The specified URL cannot be embedded as media." I am really not usually this computer illiterate. :( Can I just put in a link to the FB post?? Does everyone have FB so they can see it?? It is on the group site....
 
No, not many people here have facebook and are in that group.

I am a member, so I could see the post in the link. So go ahead and post the link for other people that are members.

Yes, that does look like diabetic neuropathy. Not too bad yet. Lou's only walking partially on his hocks, and a bit of a wobble in his step.

Maybe put the video on your personal facebook page? Link from there? Instead of from the group website, which is a closed group and you have to be a member to see anything on the group site.

The other option, is to put the video on your Youtube account. Then link from there. Or a link from these sites may work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top