Holly and Josie
Active Member
Not complaining, just unsure of what to do!
AMPS - 148 (waited and tested hourly). Finally, 3 hours later she was at 172. Gave .25 units. We were nervous about shooting into such a low number (particularly one that wasn't really rising much), so we tested often.
+1.5 - 238
+5 - 265
+6.5 - 200
+10.5 - 124
Wow, it actually looks like she might be responding to a reduced dose. Previously, reduced doses have not worked for her. If we gave her .4 or .5, she would have unshootable pre-shots. If we have her .2 or .3., she would appear to "run out" of insulin and have awful (400+) pre-shots. Well, it looks like this time a reduced dose may have worked. However... it still looks like she may have an unshootable pre-shot. Despite the small dose! Unless she makes a big jump in the next 1.5 hours, it seems like that might happen.
So the question is... if she gets up to 150+ should we give her .25? Would that be safe? Last night we did, BUT that was 3 hours after the insulin had worn off. Today it would be an hour, at most, because my husband has to leave for work. I'm a little worried that the insulin might hit her too soon.
Secondly, how do people feel about shooting on an "as needed basis"? Is that OK to do? We seem to be getting to the point where we just cannot give her insulin every 12 hours. I was told to reduce the dose, and at first I thought if only the shot wouldn't wear off that might work. But it still seems her numbers aren't really shootable. We kinda shot as needed this weekend and she was getting shots every 14-18 hours or so. It made me nervous, knowing she wasn't on insulin at all for hours at at time. I'm really not sure if that's OK. Believe me, I would rather shoot every 12 hours, but I'm not sure I have a choice!
AMPS - 148 (waited and tested hourly). Finally, 3 hours later she was at 172. Gave .25 units. We were nervous about shooting into such a low number (particularly one that wasn't really rising much), so we tested often.
+1.5 - 238
+5 - 265
+6.5 - 200
+10.5 - 124
Wow, it actually looks like she might be responding to a reduced dose. Previously, reduced doses have not worked for her. If we gave her .4 or .5, she would have unshootable pre-shots. If we have her .2 or .3., she would appear to "run out" of insulin and have awful (400+) pre-shots. Well, it looks like this time a reduced dose may have worked. However... it still looks like she may have an unshootable pre-shot. Despite the small dose! Unless she makes a big jump in the next 1.5 hours, it seems like that might happen.
So the question is... if she gets up to 150+ should we give her .25? Would that be safe? Last night we did, BUT that was 3 hours after the insulin had worn off. Today it would be an hour, at most, because my husband has to leave for work. I'm a little worried that the insulin might hit her too soon.
Secondly, how do people feel about shooting on an "as needed basis"? Is that OK to do? We seem to be getting to the point where we just cannot give her insulin every 12 hours. I was told to reduce the dose, and at first I thought if only the shot wouldn't wear off that might work. But it still seems her numbers aren't really shootable. We kinda shot as needed this weekend and she was getting shots every 14-18 hours or so. It made me nervous, knowing she wasn't on insulin at all for hours at at time. I'm really not sure if that's OK. Believe me, I would rather shoot every 12 hours, but I'm not sure I have a choice!