Holly and Josie
Member Since 2012
AMPS - 154
Fed, waited 1.5 hours and retested - 225, gave .25 units
+4 - 365
+5.5 - 363
I am so upset that she is going to be in the mid 300's or higher all day. Especially since I know that if I give her enough insulin, she doesn't have to be. I am really beginning to think that .25 is just not enough, even at low numbers. This is the second time this has happened. Once could have been a fluke, but I don't think twice is.
The thing that confuses me, is what do I give her when she is at lower numbers? Lately, we have been giving what I call a "very skinny" .50 when she is in the mid 300's. That seems to work well. But the question is, is that same dose safe to give if she is between 200-250?
My thinking is that if she is at 350, and we give her a "very skinny" .50 and she gets down to 113, how low will she go if we give her that same dose at 225? Or does it not work that way? Maybe she will still just get down to the low 100's?
I have been looking at spreadsheets this morning and it seems that some kitties need a sliding scale where as others need a consistent dose? Maybe Josie needs a consistent dose?
It just scares the crap out of me to shoot my "very skinny" .50 (which I am guessing is somewhere around .4, but I don't know for sure) into her when she is in the low 200's. But at this point, I am beginning to think I don't have a choice. I don't want her to have such high numbers all the time and it seems ridiculous to let her rise to 300 every day so that I can safely shoot her dose. For one, it gets us off schedule and for another, the point is to not let her get to 300.
Fed, waited 1.5 hours and retested - 225, gave .25 units
+4 - 365
+5.5 - 363
I am so upset that she is going to be in the mid 300's or higher all day. Especially since I know that if I give her enough insulin, she doesn't have to be. I am really beginning to think that .25 is just not enough, even at low numbers. This is the second time this has happened. Once could have been a fluke, but I don't think twice is.
The thing that confuses me, is what do I give her when she is at lower numbers? Lately, we have been giving what I call a "very skinny" .50 when she is in the mid 300's. That seems to work well. But the question is, is that same dose safe to give if she is between 200-250?
My thinking is that if she is at 350, and we give her a "very skinny" .50 and she gets down to 113, how low will she go if we give her that same dose at 225? Or does it not work that way? Maybe she will still just get down to the low 100's?
I have been looking at spreadsheets this morning and it seems that some kitties need a sliding scale where as others need a consistent dose? Maybe Josie needs a consistent dose?
It just scares the crap out of me to shoot my "very skinny" .50 (which I am guessing is somewhere around .4, but I don't know for sure) into her when she is in the low 200's. But at this point, I am beginning to think I don't have a choice. I don't want her to have such high numbers all the time and it seems ridiculous to let her rise to 300 every day so that I can safely shoot her dose. For one, it gets us off schedule and for another, the point is to not let her get to 300.