Josie 3/23 -78 at 4.5+

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice. You didn't go overboard with the high carb so I would think her rise should be slow and steady.

I havn't looked at your ss but what ever dose you gave her last I would decrease it obviously. Even if you get a high PS because that is a bounce from the higher carb food and low numbers and will clear her system by itself.
 
Grayson & Lu said:
Looks like you're pretty much out of the woods. Thank goodness! Now BREATHE - I'm sure you haven't for a while now!!!

Great job!

To tell you the truth I haven't breathed in eight weeks. (Or eaten... or slept...) But I love her so much and I am DETERMINED to make this work for her.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Nice. You didn't go overboard with the high carb so I would think her rise should be slow and steady.

I havn't looked at your ss but what ever dose you gave her last I would decrease it obviously. Even if you get a high PS because that is a bounce from the higher carb food and low numbers and will clear her system by itself.

This is what is SO confusing to me. On this dose she goes too low. She has gone pretty low 4 times out of the last 8 days. That's like 25% of the time. Medium carb food is becoming part of her regular diet. So you would think to decrease but when I do, she's high. Really high. It's almost as if she needs a certain amount of insulin to remind her pancreas to work and then when it does work the dose becomes too much. So I feel like I am always choosing between underdosing and overdosing her. Surely there must be a "right dose".
 
Holly, can you recap the numbers from today?

And because there are so many kitties in PZI lately that I can't keep them all straight, are you using u100 syringes, or if not, do you have them?

Carl
 
OK, that's not cool... tested again, 70. Didn't believe it so I tested again, 128

Which is it?

I guess I'll test again for the best out of 3. Her poor ears!

Carl, I will be back to answer your question just as soon as I figure out what the heck she's doing right now!
 
Sigh... let's just go with 113 at 6+. Poor thing was growling at me and I don't blame her. I told the poor girl "just one more test" She must think I'm a total liar. 4 tests in 5 minutes? But the 70 test was the most off so I don't think that one's accurate.
 
carlinsc said:
Holly, can you recap the numbers from today?

And because there are so many kitties in PZI lately that I can't keep them all straight, are you using u100 syringes, or if not, do you have them?

Carl

I am currently using the U40's, but I just bought the U100's. I have them in two sizes, 30 and 31 guage. Not sure which ones to use when I start using them.

Today...

AMPS - 228, gave .5
+3.5 - 280
+6 - 316
+7 - 376
+8 - 416
+9 - 355

PMPS - 371, gave .5
+2.5 - 222
+3.5 - 137
+4.0 - 114
+4.5 - 78
+5 - 87
+5.5 - 97
+6 - 113 (I think)
 
OK, great. Thanks for the numbers!

Robin mentioned earlier that whatever the dose was, it might be good to go a little less. With the u100's that will be a lot easier.
As far as which to use.... not a big difference. The 31's are just a tiny bit smaller needle. Most u40's are 29 guage, so they are both a bit smaller than that.

Do you have the conversion chart printed out? Many people hang it on the fridge for quick reference. An easy dose would be anything in increments of .2 units. Those line up better with the lines on the u100 syringes. For instance, if you skinny that current dose down to a .4, it would be 1 unit on the u100 syringes. (The multiple is the U40 dose times 2.5 equals the u100 dose. If your u100 syringes have 1/2 unit markings, it makes it much easier too. A dose of .2 would line up with the .5 mark, .6 would line up with the 1.5 mark.

If you see a number in the morning in the 250-300 range, then maybe try .4u (1.0 on the u100 syringe)?


Carl
 
carlinsc said:
OK, great. Thanks for the numbers!

Robin mentioned earlier that whatever the dose was, it might be good to go a little less. With the u100's that will be a lot easier.
As far as which to use.... not a big difference. The 31's are just a tiny bit smaller needle. Most u40's are 29 guage, so they are both a bit smaller than that.

Do you have the conversion chart printed out? Many people hang it on the fridge for quick reference. An easy dose would be anything in increments of .2 units. Those line up better with the lines on the u100 syringes. For instance, if you skinny that current dose down to a .4, it would be 1 unit on the u100 syringes. (The multiple is the U40 dose times 2.5 equals the u100 dose. If your u100 syringes have 1/2 unit markings, it makes it much easier too. A dose of .2 would line up with the .5 mark, .6 would line up with the 1.5 mark.

If you see a number in the morning in the 250-300 range, then maybe try .4u (1.0 on the u100 syringe)?


Carl

Thank you for the suggestion! I have the link to the conversion chart, so I'll print that out. I will try the .4 dose. It will be interesting to see if what we have been giving her really is .5. That's what we call it, because it looks to be halfway between 0 and 1 unit. But we might be off sometimes. Hopefully switching to the U100's will make her #'s more consistent. Thanks again for your advice!
 
OK, so I am just getting a good look at the U100's for the first time and I am SO confused. I thought they were more precise than the U40's but it looks like it just goes from 10 units to 100 units. With 5 markings between each. So I guess I'm not sure where 1 unit even is. It seems like it would be halfway between 2 and 0. But that almost seems less accurate than the U40's. I am probably being really stupid here, but I am just so confused!
 
Any way you can take a pic and post it here?
Those must be pretty large capacity syringes. I thought you could get them that hold a lot less total units. Most of them are 1/2 cc or 3/10 cc size, which would hold 50 or 30 units total. Those have a mark for every unit, and some even come with marks off the other side of the centerline that show half units.

Let me see if I can find those pics. They were posted here recently.

Carl
 
carlinsc said:
Any way you can take a pic and post it here?
Those must be pretty large capacity syringes. I thought you could get them that hold a lot less total units. Most of them are 1/2 cc or 3/10 cc size, which would hold 50 or 30 units total. Those have a mark for every unit, and some even come with marks off the other side of the centerline that show half units.

Let me see if I can find those pics. They were posted here recently.

Carl

Yeah, I was just reading up and it seems that some of them are marked for every half unit, some every 1 unit and some every 2 units. I got the every 2 unit kind, which doesn't help! Guess I'll just have to get a different brand. So it looks like I'll have to stick with the U40's at least through tomorrow morning.
 
carlinsc said:
Any way you can take a pic and post it here?
Those must be pretty large capacity syringes. I thought you could get them that hold a lot less total units. Most of them are 1/2 cc or 3/10 cc size, which would hold 50 or 30 units total. Those have a mark for every unit, and some even come with marks off the other side of the centerline that show half units.

Let me see if I can find those pics. They were posted here recently.

Carl

I just looked again and these hold 100 units total. They are 1ML capacity. Guess I'll be going out to look for new syringes in the morning. I would come home with MONSTER syringes for my cat. lol. Back to the store!
 
+7 - 139.

I think that'll be it for testing for tonight. She's definitely heading up. Now time to go Neosporin up those poor lil' ears!
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/download/file.php?id=5176&mode=view

That is a u100 syringe that holds 30 units max. You can see to the top are the whole unit marks, and towards the bottom of the pic are the half-unit marks. The longer lines towards the top are the lines that mark 5 unit increments.
It would say "U100, 3/10cc, 5/16"" on it. The 5/16th is how long the needle part is. They also come with 1/2 long needles.

Carl
 
That's great Holly. You did a super job dealing with this cycle, and giving her just enough carbs to keep her safe without causing her numbers to jump up really high.

Carl
 
carlinsc said:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/download/file.php?id=5176&mode=view

That is a u100 syringe that holds 30 units max. You can see to the top are the whole unit marks, and towards the bottom of the pic are the half-unit marks. The longer lines towards the top are the lines that mark 5 unit increments.
It would say "U100, 3/10cc, 5/16"" on it. The 5/16th is how long the needle part is. They also come with 1/2 long needles.

Carl

OK, great, thanks for the link. Yes, I'll be sure to get those tomorrow!
 
carlinsc said:
That's great Holly. You did a super job dealing with this cycle, and giving her just enough carbs to keep her safe without causing her numbers to jump up really high.

Carl

Thanks! And thanks for all of your help, particularly the dosing advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top