Josie - 116 at 3+ - please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Josie

Active Member
PMPS - 317 - 1.25 units
3+ - 116

I am currently feeding her some low carb wet food, should I give her high carb food? She doesn't normally peak until at least 6 hours. I'm panicking!
 
Holly -

I would keep testing every 15 -30 minutes or so, keeping close eye on those numbers and posting. I'm sure someone with more experience will be looking soon and catching your thread. Have the high carb food out in case you need to give her some gravy or Karo syrup.

Lu-Ann
 
Hi Holly, I just saw your post. Don’t feed too much right now, you may want to get more food in her later.
 
Lu is right, you want to test her in 15 mins to see where she is, sometimes food takes 1/2 hour to an hour to show up.
 
Don't panic. You and Josie are ok, you are on top of the numbers and have the tools to keep him safe.

Don't feed high carb yet. Let the low carb slow down the drop.

Take a few deep breaths.
 
Things you want to have on hand: mid to high carb wet food, treats she may like to get her to eat if she looses interest, honey or karo syrup, extra test strips....
 
OK guys, while I was waiting for responses I fed her about 1 tsp of low carb wet and 1.5 tsp of low carb dry (Evo.) Is that too much? Too little?

Should I test in 15 minutes or wait 30 minutes until the food hits her?

Thanks for your responses!
 
Since you are feeding the drop the hope is to slow her down. You don’t want to overfeed in case you need her to eat something higher carb later.
You are doing real good. It is excellent that you caught this when you did. Breathe :-D
 
You are keeping an eye on this so don’t worry, it does take a bit for the food to get into their bloodstream.
 
Just looking at your spreadsheet, looks like you dose on a sliding scale? You have shot this amount before into a similar number I see.
 
Don’t know what time zone you are in, but let’s get another test at a quarter after the hour or + 3 3/4
 
OK, fed a teaspoon of high carb food. She gobbled it up. Yeah, I guess I do dose on a sliding scale because I can never seem to give her the same amount each time. It's either too much or not enough. I knew I should have just done 1 unit today. I really wish I had.
 
Good, that is excellent she wants to eat for you. Lets get a test at quarter after and see where she is. You are doing fine momma. I know it can be worrysome but you are on top of this.
 
She's getting SO mad at the testing. I am not nearly as good at that aspect of her care as my husband is, and these things seem to always happen when he's gone! We have a LONG night of testing ahead of us and I'm worried that she's not going to put up with this.
 
Good. Let’s keep the testing at every 15 mins for right now until we see her come up a bit. Hang right now on food. She has a decent amount in there with the low carb, the evo and the higher carb.
 
If you have treats for after testing, that is fine, or make a big fuss over her if she likes that. Anything to make her put up with you for a little while longer :-D :shock:
 
Thank you so much for your help and encouragement, Donna! I really do appreciate it. I would be going crazy if I were all alone with this.
 
No worries momma :-D We’re all here to support each other. Many have done it for us in the past. (and still do!!!)
 
We're all still here with you. Just don't want to confuse you with everyone telling you what to do.

You're doing great - just continue to hang in there!
 
4+ - 84. It was a pretty small amount of blood, too. She moved from the best position for me to test her and I had problems getting a good poke. I hope that # is accurate and that it's not lower.
 
I think that is fine, so it seems she’s leveled off a bit which is good. Let’s test again in 15.

You have real food in there, so once it hits the bloodstream it will last awhile, and the Evo since it’s dry, should last a little longer.

We want her to keep from dropping too much until she hits her nadir. Once that happens she should come up on her own too. So we keep testing to make sure she doesn’t need more food to come up more.
 
If her next test is lower or the same, I’d say let’s feed a little bit more....again we don’t want her to get sick of eating too early in this process.
 
Ok, that is good Holly. Just keep in mind your last 3 readings are essentially the same, so really she is holding for you. Feed a little more higher carb and test again in 15. You are doing a great job here. Keep breathing :-D
 
Yeah, I am grateful that thus far she isn't dropping. I am trying to remind myself that one time, at 4+ we tested her and she was at 29. Another time, she was at 39. She is higher than that this time. This is why I test at 3 hours if at all possible. Why, oh, why do I have a cat that goes hypo so easily? I would say I am overdosing her, but at lot of times these same amounts of insulin leave her completely flat. Other times, they send her into super low numbers. I don't understand why.

I am trying to be calm, but it's not easy. In the past, I've given her honey or Karo and within an hour she's in the high 100's. It's scary not to do that, but at the same time, I don't want her to be at 400+ tonight.

Lets hope that 1.5 tsp of high carb wet will help her for the next test!
 
Sometimes I don’t think anyone truly understands why they do what they do Holly :lol:
You are on top of this and she is not in dangerous numbers right now.
I agree about not wanting her to be in the 400s tonight. We just need her to be safe now, so you can feed as necessary, and you have the karo only if you really need it.
 
After Josie gets thru today’s events you should probably have a chat with someone here that is a little better at dosing than I. Maybe you want to adjust her sliding scale if that’s how you have been dosing. Or another school of thought it to keep things as consistent as possible for as long as you can, so hold the dose and feed the same amount everyday.

But that is for later. Right now you are doing great so keep on keepin’ on. Let’s look at another test when you get it.
 
104. It took several tries to get blood this time. So it was a fairly small sample. I HATE small samples, because I feel like they're inaccurate sometimes. I really hope that is accurate.
 
I think you are fine with that. It makes perfect sense that is where she'd be after this.
 
Now I would say its up to you...you can test agin in 15 minutes, or you can wait a half hour to give her a break. I think you still should keep an eye on her to make sure she doesn't need food again. I'll be here.
 
Would you give more food, or wait until the next test? If so, do you think I should give high carb or low carb?

I am going to try to wait 30 minutes, but that is going to be hard! If I can wait, I will, because she really does deserve a break. Poor thing.

Thank you for being here!
 
If Josie were my kitty and this happened at night I would give more food so I could sleep a little bit. Since this is a daytime thing, I wouldn’t give more food now until I’d test again and she went down.

If it would make you feel more comfortable tho, you could feed a little more. By my calculations you are almost at +5?
 
It’s possible the insulin effected her more today as the meds (from her uti?) are leaving her body and the infection is gone too. It’s hard to say. She does seem to go lower at night for you so when you decide on a new dose for her, I’d keep that in mind....
 
Ok Holly, let’s see where Josie is at a quarter to the hour. This is +5 1/4 for you now?
 
I went ahead and tested at 20 minutes. I couldn't wait any longer, plus I had just brushed her and she seemed calm so I decided to go ahead. She was at 100. I was kind of surprised it wasn't higher. I fed her some low carb food and she gobbled it right up. I am lucky that's she's such a good eater. I don't know why I decided an the low carb, I guess I just thought we are getting close to the nadir so maybe I should lay off the high carb food. I hope that was a good decision.
 
We must have posted at the same time :-D I think you are fine Holly. She’s holding, 104 and 100 are the same really. I’d say test in another half hour.
 
I would keep testing until you get past her nadir and you are convinced she is on her way up. Can be every half hour or so if you are comfortable with that. Even farther apart if she comes up more.

See, you are calm and doing a great job with this!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top