Johnny - 11/4 - AMPS - 130 AT ; 92 Contour

Good morning!

I fasted johnny again this morning and his readings were similar to yesterday, so I gave a drop dose.

I’m going into the office today, so I won’t be home to monitor…I think this is ok since he didn’t go too low yesterday under the same circumstances.

He is silly while he’s fasting, just beside himself looking for his food. He was also very playful this morning while we were running out the last 10 minutes of the no food clock. :)
 
Sorry to double post - we have a vet appointment tomorrow to check in on his progress this past week. Anything I should bring up to the vet? I’ll share the spreadsheet again, like last time, but anything else you think is worth mentioning or asking?
 
She may call it remission, it's really up to you how you want to handle it. As mentioned before, this forum has found the strongest remissions come from a cat being 50-100 before discontinuing insulin (he'd have to earn a reduction, or drop below 50, on this drop dose) and then doing a 2 week trial without insulin.
 
Looks like tonight’s drop dose is hitting a bit more than yesterday’s. (I wasn’t home to test during the day today, so I’m not sure how that drop dose hit).
 
Oh I just looked at the contour, much bigger drop to +1 on that one vs AT. I suppose could have been enough to cause a small bounce but rest of cycle will tell.

He really is not getting good duration from ProZinc and it's hitting him pretty hard. Stick with it for now but @tiffmaxee @Chris & China (GA) @Christie & Maverick would it be worth thinking Lantus here? Drop dose doesn't leave a whole lot of room, but maybe if she could snag something off supply closet.
 
I’d hang with the drop dose. It hasn’t taken him too low yet.
No but it's also not letting him spend a whole lot of time in green, well depending which meter you "believe". And that's a ProZinc problem, not exactly a dose problem. It's acting almost like Vetsulin.
 
I fell asleep after that last test. That’s the issue with night monitoring for me. I’m going to be putting another Libre on him soon.

In all fairness, that PM drop dose could have been more of a 2 or 3 drop dose. These new half unit needles don’t have the squishy plunge effect like the other where it’s easy to get a drop in. Every time I practice and squirt to the air to see how much I’d be getting, the drop varies in size and amount depending how I pull. I haven’t been able to find exact consistency yet.
 
I'm going to test my AT against the vet's this evening to see how accurate mine is for sanity's sake. The AT I returned before was significantly off from the vet's.
 
So to get a drop dose push the plunger all the way n before inserting it and hold it in as you pierce the vial or pen. Then once in release the plunger. Pull it out. Shoot and count to 10 if possible.
 
Yeah, I got that…but these new needles aren’t “rubbery” if that makes sense. Like when I push it all the way in, there isn’t a bounce back…if that makes any sense at all. Lol
 
I guess food is possible, though he eats zero carb wet and Young again dry which is 1%.

Am I good to stop testing for the afternoon? His poor ears!
 
Hmm. If it were me I'd grab one more in an hour just to make sure not dropping again, but realistically you're probably fine
 
Back
Top