Joey: I finally got a bg reading.

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuthV

Active Member
After a lot of false pokes this am, I bought some finer lancets and got down to business. I found that the lancet device was robbing my touch, I think. I'll keep it, tho.

At 7:55 pm I got a 114. Thrilled
I fed him normally this am (no shot) and this aft, then just gave him his 8 pm meal. Wolfed it down.
LItter box - back to normal.

SO......I did not give a shot. Am I doing the right thing?

Should I schedule a curve?

Continue to test at home - if so, how often?

I am elated, so far. I dream of not having to board him again.

btw, I bought more test strips today - hey - these are not cheap at yer local CVS. I will be looking for a cheaper source.

Thanks to all who have spent time reading and replying on this Joey saga.
 
Awesome Yes you must keep testing. I dont know your insulin so I cannot comment on that but just wanted to say GOOD JOB. Others will be by to give advice...

jeanne :RAHCAT
 
Fantastic! Yes, 114 is a great no shot number. You could test again tonight to see if it goes up or down after eating. (Down after eating is a great sign - means the pancreas is starting to work.) We bought our strips on ebay for less than 1/2 the price in the drugstores. Just be sure it is a seller with a good reputation and check the expiration dates.
 
Hi Ruth. What a great number! I agree to not shooting. I also agree that it's a good time to check to see if he brings himself down after eating. That would be great data to have, especially with that number you got. Something good may be happening and with testing you can find out.

Report the numbers you get before and after eating and then several hours after eating and we can see whether he's bringing himself down. Could be that he needs a wee bit of insulin to jumpstart that pancreas or maybe none or who knows. That's why we need to hometest!

Hooray for you! Doesn't it feel good to know where he is?
 
Update: Today is Friday,
fed him at 7:45, got a test in a 9:15 ---128!!
At least he is not minding the test too much and I'm improving my technique.

I gave no shot, by the way.
 
This is looking great! Keep testing and keeping a record, including what you fed and how long before or after the shot. Looks like Joey doesn't want to stay on the juice.
 
Looking pretty nice in Joey's condo today! Good for not shooting those lower numbers. I'm courious to see what the rest of the tests look like today.
BTW, I use the ReliOn meter and test strips from Walmart. Meter is $12 and strips are $20 for 50 strips. This is an awesome meter, too.
 
good for you!!!! way to go!!! I found the target meter and stripes to be the least expensive. I was able to buy 50 stripes for $20! on sale.. off sale cost is $22.48.
 
Saturday - fed at 7:45 - Friskies Turkey and giblets - 1/2 can - tested at 9:45 -- 88. He hasn't had a shot since Tuesday morning.

When will the Lantus in his system wear off ? At what reading should I shoot?

Sorry if this is coming in dribs and drabs. I'd better look into that spreadsheet business.
 
Great job, Ruth (and Joey, too!)

If it were me (and since you've got this testing thing down), I'd consider doing a curve and see what Joey's numbers look like over the court of 12-hours. This means you do your regular AMPS test (and, of course, don't shoot if the number doesn't support it), and continue to test every two hours thereafter. It could be that Joey isn't getting any diabetic BG numbers over the course of the day and, if so, and if that proves to be the case over several tests...YAY!!! flip_cat
 
Jana + BK + Chester said:
Great job, Ruth (and Joey, too!)

If it were me (and since you've got this testing thing down), I'd consider doing a curve and see what Joey's numbers look like over the court of 12-hours. This means you do your regular AMPS test (and, of course, don't shoot if the number doesn't support it), and continue to test every two hours thereafter. It could be that Joey isn't getting any diabetic BG numbers over the course of the day and, if so, and if that proves to be the case over several tests...YAY!!! flip_cat

Is a one day curve enough of an indication? Let's say i have a day's curve in the correct range, how often should I restest - once a week, once a month?
 
Let's start with a one day curve, then make future decisions after seeing that. Of course, you should always do your AM and PM pre-shot test...unless we reach a point where it is clear Joey is OTJ.
 
Jana + BK + Chester said:
Let's start with a one day curve, then make future decisions after seeing that. Of course, you should always do your AM and PM pre-shot test...unless we reach a point where it is clear Joey is OTJ.

How often or when shud I take readings on that one day curve?
 
Start with your regular AMPS test at the regular time. If the AMPS test number doesn't support a shot of insulin, don't shoot. Go ahead and feed Joey normally through out the day, but note when you feed him (if he free feeds, that is OK - just try and note when he has one of his snacks). After the AMPS, test every two hours, including his PMPS test. So, what you will end up with is this:

AMPS = BG#
+2 = BG#
+4 = BG#
+6 = BG#
+8 = BG#
+10 = BG#
PMPS = BG#

If you haven't already, this would be a good time to get Joey's SS started.
 
Jana + BK + Chester said:
Start with your regular AMPS test at the regular time. If the
AMPS = BG#
+2 = BG#
+4 = BG#
+6 = BG#
+8 = BG#
+10 = BG#
PMPS = BG#

If you haven't already, this would be a good time to get Joey's SS started.

In case he won't tolerate all that testing, cud I eliminate the +4, and the +6, just to thin it out a bit?

I'm working on the ss.
 
I'd avoid it, if possible. Part of what you are trying to determine when doing a curve is the nadir (the point at which Joey's BG level is lowest). Althought ECID, the nadir should be about mid-point in the 12-hour curve. If you miss a test, it is possible to miss the nadir.

In Joey's case, he had an AMPS test of 88, which is excellent. What would not be so excellent is if, at nadir, his BG level drops into the hypo range, and that would certainly be something you need to know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top