Oh no brain fart! It's ok, it's not that bad. Joe is just gonna get a few more pokies tonight. A +1, +2, +3OMG, another blunder. I meant to check Joe at 7pm for his +11 and somehow I got confused and shot his insulin. I would normally not do it until 8pm. So he got it an hour early. Just too many animals to take care of and too many animal duties I guess.
Maybe go back to 3.25 to be on the safe side for the next dose?
Hmm. But you can also base the dose on his AMPS. You could get a +11 and see whereabout he will be in an hour at shot time?Yes she did say it was alright to go back to 3.25 when he was dropping too low.
Interesting and thanks Smorg!
- PZ is an “in and out” insulin, however, it is possible for one cycle to affect the next. This means that the insulin does not build up in the system and stay there.
- PZ dosing can change more often than other insulins, since it is relatively ‘in and out’. But generally - especially at the start of treatment - it’s advisable to stick with a dose for at least 3 cycles; changes can be made after that, as needed.
wait! I did not plan to reduce tomorrow. He is doing good at 3.50. What am I not getting here?Oh, wait. You are doing SLGS. Reductions at 90. So his new dose would be 3.25 tomorrow anyway. My bad.
The one word, "unless"But but but..this is after one week at given dose. He has not been at 3.5 for one week
I see. Thank you Smorg for getting that through my thick head. So I should have dropped it to 3.25 long before tonight. Actually, I never should have gone back up to 3.50 OMG I do not know what I am doingThe one word, "unless"You could ask a Prozinc user or some mods though. I just know for Lantus it's very important to follow 1 dosing method/protocol and not change it up. Because when people help you, they will need to know very quickly sometimes what your reduce point is for feeding advice if Joe gets low.
- Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
I see. Thank you Smorg for getting that through my thick head. So I should have dropped it to 3.25 long before tonight. Actually, I never should have gone back up to 3.50 OMG I do not know what I am doing
Yeah, she did. And the idea I got from that as well was lower to 3.25 for just that one dose as well. Which made me scratch my head. My head was thick and I wasn't considering that you're following SLGS now.In Hindsight, Janet did say to drop it to 3.25 but no one ever told me to raise it. I just assumed I was only dropping for that one dose/evening.

Yes. 3.25. Then if he stays above 90 for a week, you reevaluate his dose, and yes, if nadirs are more than 150 increase by .25.So tomorrow morning go to 3.25 and stay there until
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit................RIGHT?
3.25 this morning and numbers are looking good. His +2 is a smidgen higher then his AMPS, which I THINK is what I am looking for