Joe 's mom did a major blunder

Status
Not open for further replies.
Awesome! That's a nice number. Hopefully you can leave after the test in 30 minutes, if it's not too late to make the appt.
 
OMG, another blunder. I meant to check Joe at 7pm for his +11 and somehow I got confused and shot his insulin. I would normally not do it until 8pm. So he got it an hour early. Just too many animals to take care of and too many animal duties I guess.
 
OMG, another blunder. I meant to check Joe at 7pm for his +11 and somehow I got confused and shot his insulin. I would normally not do it until 8pm. So he got it an hour early. Just too many animals to take care of and too many animal duties I guess.
Oh no brain fart! It's ok, it's not that bad. Joe is just gonna get a few more pokies tonight. A +1, +2, +3 ;)
 
Well I couldn't find anything about "aborting the cycle" in any stickies. But essentially, it is done when you have to leave and be gone at the middle of their cycle. Based on the data you have in your SS, you determine if your kitty may get too low while you're gone.
You then leave higher carb food out for them to eat while you're away. Sometimes free-fed, sometimes in a feeder to give them when they are due to get in the lower numbers.
Here's a little something I found.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-abort-the-cycle.227193/


ETA: Anyone reading, We are NOT discussing aborting this cycle. Unrelated from last thread.
 
Let's kill that other thread, too long.
Maybe go back to 3.25 to be on the safe side for the next dose?

I don't know, I think it's ok to lower and then raise again tomorrow with Prozinc as it's an in/out insulin?
The other night Janet said it was ok to lower, right? See what she thinks?
 
Last edited:
Yes she did say it was alright to go back to 3.25 when he was dropping too low.
Hmm. But you can also base the dose on his AMPS. You could get a +11 and see whereabout he will be in an hour at shot time?
I feel it's good to have regular doses if his AMPS is a number you're comfortable shooting.
 
  • PZ is an “in and out” insulin, however, it is possible for one cycle to affect the next. This means that the insulin does not build up in the system and stay there.
  • PZ dosing can change more often than other insulins, since it is relatively ‘in and out’. But generally - especially at the start of treatment - it’s advisable to stick with a dose for at least 3 cycles; changes can be made after that, as needed.
 
  • PZ is an “in and out” insulin, however, it is possible for one cycle to affect the next. This means that the insulin does not build up in the system and stay there.
  • PZ dosing can change more often than other insulins, since it is relatively ‘in and out’. But generally - especially at the start of treatment - it’s advisable to stick with a dose for at least 3 cycles; changes can be made after that, as needed.
Interesting and thanks Smorg!
 
Going to bed, he seems to be at a good number and I need an early night. I will check back here after doing all other going to bed things to make sure there are no objections to that
 
I agree, he's getting better numbers. But there is a process, and it's to keep him safe.
You can amend your reduce point once you've got a bunch more data iirc, but for now it's reduce at 90 on SLGS method.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

The info for SLGS:



Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
But but but..this is after one week at given dose. He has not been at 3.5 for one week
The one word, "unless" :( You could ask a Prozinc user or some mods though. I just know for Lantus it's very important to follow 1 dosing method/protocol and not change it up. Because when people help you, they will need to know very quickly sometimes what your reduce point is for feeding advice if Joe gets low.
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
The one word, "unless" :( You could ask a Prozinc user or some mods though. I just know for Lantus it's very important to follow 1 dosing method/protocol and not change it up. Because when people help you, they will need to know very quickly sometimes what your reduce point is for feeding advice if Joe gets low.
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
I see. Thank you Smorg for getting that through my thick head. So I should have dropped it to 3.25 long before tonight. Actually, I never should have gone back up to 3.50 OMG I do not know what I am doing
 
In Hindsight, Janet did say to drop it to 3.25 but no one ever told me to raise it. I just assumed I was only dropping for that one dose/evening.
 
I see. Thank you Smorg for getting that through my thick head. So I should have dropped it to 3.25 long before tonight. Actually, I never should have gone back up to 3.50 OMG I do not know what I am doing

Don't even, I think I've read the dosing method sticky for Lantus at least 20 times, and still a couple days ago I missed something so dumb.
Yeah, on SLGS you would have reduced the dose the PM cycle after you steered him with that 64/72/61.
But it's fine, you kept a good eye on him and he's ok.
 
In Hindsight, Janet did say to drop it to 3.25 but no one ever told me to raise it. I just assumed I was only dropping for that one dose/evening.
Yeah, she did. And the idea I got from that as well was lower to 3.25 for just that one dose as well. Which made me scratch my head. My head was thick and I wasn't considering that you're following SLGS now. :banghead:
 
So tomorrow morning go to 3.25 and stay there until
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit................RIGHT?
 
So tomorrow morning go to 3.25 and stay there until
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit................RIGHT?
Yes. 3.25. Then if he stays above 90 for a week, you reevaluate his dose, and yes, if nadirs are more than 150 increase by .25.
 
  • 3.25 this morning and numbers are looking good. His +2 is a smidgen higher then his AMPS, which I THINK is what I am looking for

    Consider them equal since the +2 is 2 points higher and that's within meter variance.
    But that's a nice low preshot, he's doing great. Keep an eye on him with a +4 and ideally a +3 if you can get one, since he's able to move quickly down from even a PS in the 400s.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top