JINX 12/1/21 AMPS: 495 seeking dosage advice after low BG

Georgie and Jinx

Member Since 2020
Good morning,

Following on from last nights events: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jinx-11-1-21-5-92.241314/

I'm wondering if @Bron and Sheba (GA) or @tiffmaxee could be so kind to provide some dosage guidance for Jinx this morning after his really low numbers yesterday. Jinx is 495 this morning and due for insulin in just over an hour.

As mentioned yesterday, we think he is probably being over dosed with insulin which we discovered when we changed from shooting with a pen to syringes yesterday and realised the pen was not working properly and we've probably been injecting less than the 3U we thought we were providing. Last night we reduced the dose back to 3U but his numbers went really low. Is it possible to safely reduce his dose down to 2U today?

Jinx's spreadsheet is here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...eVulaO-be6spQlt4ws2gchksQ/edit#gid=1117719986

Thanks so much for your help :cat:
 
49 is not really low, it is just under 50 which is the reduction point on TR. I would go back to 3.25 units. We don't really know what dose you were shooting with the pens, but what if it was accurate. You don't want to go too low in dose. Especially with ketones in the recent history.
 
49 is not really low, it is just under 50 which is the reduction point on TR. I would go back to 3.25 units. We don't really know what dose you were shooting with the pens, but what if it was accurate. You don't want to go too low in dose. Especially with ketones in the recent history.

Thanks Wendy, i'll go ahead with 3.25U and see how we go for today, he is really slow this morning but just eaten so will shoot and see how we go today. Thanks :)
 
Back
Top