He's so high now I don't think it matters if some of it is food or not. Was it a full meal? If you feel better waiting 2 hours, and it doesn't matter for your schedule, then go for it! I'm just thinking you don't "HAVE" to wait that long because even at 197 he was probably high enough, and you can see now that he's not dropping.
But your comfort zone matters, Patti, so if it helps you to wait, then that's cool.
There's a great post on "Shooting a dropping number" that might be helpful to read, even if one isn't following the Tight Reg guidelines, it helps to understand "how it works" when one shoots a dropping number. This is listed in the "
Where Can I Find?" thread.
These are the guidelines specific to those following Start Low Go Slow:
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:
In the beginning we suggest following the guidelines in the
FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
- In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
- Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and
they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.
With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus and Levemir users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:
If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
- Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
- Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
- Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near usual preshot numbers:
- Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90, so there is no need to push a cat into numbers lower than that.