? Jett - Pet sitter dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PJ Brown

Member Since 2016
Hi Everyone - I am traveling for 5 days with huge trepidation over leaving Rhett and Jett. My parents will be giving them lots of attention and I have a vet tech coming to give pills and Jett's insulin twice a day. Should I stick with the 1.0 units of Levemir for now? His BG improved after the initial dose increase a few days ago, but now I've gotten 3 consecutive "hi" readings.

Thanks for your help!
Patti + Jett
 
Jett is probably still bouncing from a couple of days ago. Sorry about those high numbers. I think you might want to stick with this dose while you are done. It gets him to mid blues, which is not bad for a petsitter dose. And more importantly, it's on a line and easy/consistent to measure. I'm guessing there will be little to no testing going on?

When you get back, you can do a curve, but I suspect he might need an increase after you get back.
 
I second Wendy's advice. This looks like a good, safe dose for Jett. I assume the sitter will leave you notes on the BGs he/she gets at shot time? Although it's unlikely Jett would drop that low, it might be a good idea to leave a "no shot" number. The most common one is 150.

Try to relax a little while you're gone, Patti. You've been through so much and really need a break.
 
Thank you, @Wendy&Neko and @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey . I will have a vet tech test before each shot. Jett's PMPS was 261, so that was great to see. Both Rhett and Jett are not eating tonight. I guess they sense that I am going to leave tomorrow. They are such smart little creatures. My parents arrived this afternoon to take care of them. I haven't even started packing yet, but they know. I hope they will eat tomorrow. I am in knots!

Thanks for your help!!
Patti + Jett
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top