? Jett AMPS "hi" PMPS 108 +1 574

Status
Not open for further replies.

PJ Brown

Member Since 2016
HI Everyone - I have a lot to learn about feline diabetes and the ups and downs of testing. I wanted to get your thoughts on Jett's #s tonight. His AMPS was "hi" and his PMPS was 108, so I waited an hour and gave him 2.25 units when his BG was 244. I waited another hour and his +1 is 574! :woot: What the heck causes such a huge jump?

Thanks for your help!
Patti + Jett
 
Just my guess, but with that 108, I suspect he got a lot lower somewhere during the middle of the day. He could also have done a big drop down from AMPS. In either case, it was enough to cause another bounce. :rolleyes:
 
I'm still getting big swings in Jett's #s. What causes the bouncing? Is there anything I can do to help him not bounce so much?

Thanks!
Patti + Jett
 
I see Jett is using fluoxetine.


According to this page:

https://www.drsfostersmith.com/Rx_Info_Sheets/rx_fluoxetine.pdf

"Use with caution in animals with liver disease and in diabetic animals since fluoxetine may alter blood sugar levels."

And this page

http://www.wedgewoodpetrx.com/learn...monographs/fluoxetine-for-veterinary-use.html

  • Fluoxetine usually is not prescribed for animals with diabetes mellitus or seizure disorders. Animals with impaired liver function may need reduced a dose.

Not sure if this may be causing some of the big swings but thought I would throw it out there for others who may be using it or have used it with their kitties since I have no experience with it.
 
I'm still getting big swings in Jett's #s. What causes the bouncing? Is there anything I can do to help him not bounce so much?
In addition to dropping lower than he's used to, bounces can also be caused by big drops in blood sugar. Yesterday, the 9th, he went from Hi to 200 in 5 hours. That's a drop of over 400 points in 5 hours and probably enough to cause yet another bounce. When are you feeding Jett? Sometimes spreading out food into smaller meals at the beginning of the cycle can help slow the drop. Maybe some smaller meals around +2/+3?
 
Thank you! To answer your questions, I have transitioned Jett off of the Royal Canin Glycobalance dry and wet food and back to 100% Weruva Fowl Ball and Chicken Frick A'Zee canned food. He's been on 100% canned for a week and a few days. The better BG #s last week were so encouraging and now he's back to the dramatic swings. I feed Jett throughout the day (when he wants it). I will definitely start initiating the feedings at +2 and +3 to see if that helps. Thank you for this suggestion!

Ok. Thank you for the fluoxetine information. It's great that you found this and shared it with me. It should be in the notes somewhere for all members to read. The very first question I asked the vet when she communicated the elevated BG and diabetes diagnosis was...could fluoxetine have caused this? She said, " Oh no, it doesn't have an impact on blood sugar." Well, months go by and I am researching like crazy to figure out why diabetes came out of no where, and I find the information that Wendy posted. THIS IS NOT KNOWN BY VETS! My cousin who is a vet looked into their national research database (I don't recall the name) and didn't find anything on it. I was actually trying to slowly wean Jett off fluoxetine when the diagnosis occurred, so I'm still suspicious that it caused the initial elevation because he has been on it for years and the taper (albeit slow) was not a good thing for him. When I couldn't get any regulation at all, you'll see that I started him back on it in hopes that it would help stabilize his BG. I am so sad that he is still in this pattern of big swings that have to be causing damage to him in some way. I am consistently giving him 100 ml SubQ fluids every other day and that seems to be helping him.

Thanks for listening.
Patti + Jett
 
I am so sad that he is still in this pattern of big swings that have to be causing damage to him in some way.
It is still better than doing nothing. Hang in there. :bighug:

Great advise here. Keep reading and posting.

She said, " Oh no, it doesn't have an impact on blood sugar." Well, months go by and I am researching like crazy to figure out why diabetes came out of no where, and I find the information that Wendy posted. THIS IS NOT KNOWN BY VETS!
I had a similar issue with potassium gel I was giving Gizmo. One morning hubby was in charge of tfs and forgot to add the gel to his food and Gizmo's BG dropped significantly that day. We were all completely baffled here. Couldn't figure it out. Finally called hubby to ask if he had given it (he hadn't). There was no ingredients listed on the tube of gel and we couldn't find the ingredients listed anywhere on the web. I called the vet and she couldn't find out if it had sugar in it either.

I discontinued the gel. I now have a potassium powder if he ever needs potassium again.
 
Thank you for the fluoxetine information. It's great that you found this and shared it with me. It should be in the notes somewhere for all members to read. The very first question I asked the vet when she communicated the elevated BG and diabetes diagnosis was...could fluoxetine have caused this? She said, " Oh no, it doesn't have an impact on blood sugar.


This is more information I found on fluoxetine. It is written for people, but there may also be similar reactions with kitties. I don't know if this applies to Jett but it may be something to consider that may be affecting glucose levels.

:The medical reference UpToDate reports that in patients with diabetes, fluoxetine affects blood sugar regulation in an interesting way. Patients who take fluoxetine may have more episodes of hypoglycemia, or low blood sugar--but when they stop taking fluoxetine, instead of their blood sugar reaching normal levels, patients’ blood sugar level goes above normal. This is called hyperglycemia, and this observation suggests that fluoxetine is somehow impacting the blood sugar regulation mechanism of patients with diabetes. Because of this, a patient who is taking medication for his diabetes and is also put on fluoxetine for depression, should be especially vigilant with checking his blood sugar levels. Changes to his diabetes medication, both while on fluoxetine and after fluoxetine is stopped, may need to be made to minimize the risk of hypo- and hyperglycemia associated with this medication."

http://www.livestrong.com/article/255629-antidepressants-that-cause-high-blood-sugar/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top