Jeddie Feb 21-28 - He's all over the place

Status
Not open for further replies.
Arrrgh. He was 256 this am after 152 last night. Didn't help that I forgot to shoot 2 nights ago and he was 269 yesterday am, but I thought he was back on track last night with the lovely 152. Sigh....
 
Sheila, don't know if it helps any, but PK has been doing the same thing- morning has been about 100 lower than night time...Maybe it is in the "air"?

No solace, I know...do you think maybe rebound?

Also- have we already covered any health issues that may be causing the higher BG's? Teeth,etc?

just seems the fluctuations may be from pain or feeling icky?

hmmm....maybe an even smaller dose so you can shoot regular instead of having to skip?

How does he look? Fur- any dandryff? Eyes bright?

Is he eating normal- oh- and do you know if maybe he had just eaten before you tested him?

Does anyone know what "normal" cat BG is after eating? I might have to test a few before/after's to find out!
 
normal cats bg won't fluctuate that much - maybe 20-40 pts all day.

I test at roughly the same time in relation to feeding - about 10 mins after. Might have been 30 mins yesterday, but was 10 today - which makes me wonder if he goes higher when not eating and eating brings him down a bit but he can't "stay" down?

His teeth are fine, his appetite is good - no longer ravenous like he was for the first 2-3 months. He seems happy - all the "Ps" covered.

He has not been that different am/ps before. I actually did not intend to skip the shot Monday night. That was an oops. I am wondering if last night was a fur shot. He really does not like getting his shot and struggles so I try to be quick, but he could have wiggled enough that I didn't actually get any of that microscopic dose in him.
 
I wonder what is going on with our Jeddie boy? I hope those numbers come down for you Sheila. Nice that he is feeling good and eating well. That is a plus!
 
The only thing I can think of then, is since he doesn;t like his shot and wroggles, maybe he is telling you he doesn;t need it.

You know our suagrpeas do that, so maybe that is what he is doing.

I've been wondering similar about PK as a few weeks ago he started "fighting" the shot. I couldn't believe it, my passive little lover-not-a-fighter do anything ai tell him to cat was balking at the shot after 2 yrs of NEVER doing that.

That's when I lowered to the .5u and frankly since his numbers are identical on the .75u and he is still wriggly, I am thinking of going back to the .5u or lower.

Might be what your Jeddie Spageddie is telling you? Just a thought.
 
Well, ever since you (Melissa) posted that I should have done a curve before starting insulin again, I have been wondering if he really needed it and if I just "induced" insulin needs and he is just bouncing all the time. But why would he be so high after skipping a shot if that were the case?

Beau is not doing well, I am really worried about his weight loss and need to take him in. I kinda don't want to because I am afraid they will tell me he has cancer... so I am afraid Jeddie is going to throw another potentially expensive vet experience into the mix if I take him in just for a check up.
 
SOmething else I thought of in the wee cold snowy hours this AM, ( yes, I think about YOUR cat in the middel of the night!) was -you said he noshes on carpet and fringes and things like cardboard and such, right?

Well, wondering if there are "sugars" in these items...like when ONE biscuit threw the Beauster back into sugarville for what? Like 2 or 3 weeks? Well- maybe there is an ingredient in the making of whatever he is chomping that is "irritating" the FD?

Is it possible to give him alternate "approved" items to snack upon in your absence? Like the toy dog sized Kongs filled with cat food and water and freeze for longer "play" or some small rope toys steeped in chicken broth, shake excess liquid and freeze then put on kitchen floor ( make sure it is sisal rope and not threaded rope- this toy better given when you are home to observe) or some nip filled scatter toys and such.

Make sure you are keeping the undisireable items out of reash- no paper, cardboard etc, place heavy items on carpet corners where he chews.

Do this for a week or so and see if BG's straighten out?

Another thought- this all seemed to coincide with the tile install....are there irritating chemicals? Kitties are much more sensitive than we are, smaller, process faster and He is home ALL DAY where you have a break and go to work. Just a thought.

Also- if you are concerned about "induced" FD, take him off the insulin for a week, DO THE CURVE, and re-evaluate.

I know you don't necessarily share the idea that the next cylce or two are reflective of the prior cycle or two as I believe, but it is possible that 400 something after missing shot was rebound from the shot before?

It may be a reach, but your little Jeddie is a toughie right now so looking for answers.

keep us posted.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Well, ever since you (Melissa) posted that I should have done a curve before starting insulin again, I have been wondering if he really needed it and if I just "induced" insulin needs and he is just bouncing all the time. But why would he be so high after skipping a shot if that were the case?

Beau is not doing well, I am really worried about his weight loss and need to take him in. I kinda don't want to because I am afraid they will tell me he has cancer... so I am afraid Jeddie is going to throw another potentially expensive vet experience into the mix if I take him in just for a check up.

Sheila, I'm sorry to hear Beau is losing weight. What makes you think it might be the C-word? Just the weight loss alone? I don't want you to think the worst. I have a tendency to do that too and I know how stressful it is.

What about cardio stuff? Does he have a murmur or has he had an EKG?

How does his weight now compare with how much he weighed before diabetes? Or Hyper-T? Hang in there with both of them. No advice on Jeddie, but letting him go without insulin doesn't seem like a good plan. Shooting and testing seem more reasonable. Sorry the ride's gotten bumpier for them. And you.
 
Well, the "Pica" issue is worth considering. I did tape over the edges of the carpet once I moved the sofa and could get back there - I think that was Sunday night? I can't think that there is anything "carby" in the carpet or pad though. He has catnip toys to play with and does so. Hmmm... just going to have to study his numbers and see if anything "clicks" for me.

With Beau, his weight loss is dramatic, that just the best word for it. He is around 8 lbs now. Way before his diagnosis he was 16-17 lbs and very overweight. He was supposed to be 12-14, but I think 11-12 is better when he is fully muscled. At diagnosis he had dropped to 10.5 lbs and he had stayed there between 10.25 and 10.5 since diagnosis, through hyperT, etc. until last fall. I can't remember his last weigh-in, maybe Nov when they checked his T4 levels and he was, I think, 10 lbs 3 ozs.

This morning he would only eat food I heated up and it was about 1.5 ozs between the food and the chicken treats. And he did not come out to the kitchen for breakfast he stayed on the bed. He also did not come out to the testing area when I tested Jeddie, which he normally does. He DID get up on the bed during the night and paw to get under the top blanket and then stay there a long time. I am taking him to the vet Sat at 10am.
 
yeah- it sounds like vet time to me, too...I am sorry he isn't feeling so hot.

Give him scritchs from his cyber family, please and a special kiss on his top noggin from me and PK...I kinda think of the two of them - PK and Beau- in pairs...dunno why.

Feel better Beau-ster!
 
Melissa, I know what you mean. They went through their time on vetsulin in such a similar manner and at about the same time.

I had a dream last night that I "got" a new cat and in the dream I was sort of resigned to it as the kitty "needed" me, but then I saw him and it was PK so I told him he had a perfectly good home and couldn't say here. How weird is that? I am dreaming about YOUR cat!
 
I am sorry Sheila....that breaks my heart that he is not coming to eat and then staying under the blanket. It does sound like he just doesn't feel good. I hope by tomorrow you will wake up and find he is okay and eating well again.

Sending lots of hugs for you and prayers for our Beau.
 
Just checking to see if there's a Beau update. How did he do this mornng with breakfast?

Glad he's going to the vet tomorrow. Wish we lived closer so i could go with you.
 
Well I HAVE been threatening to mail him to you since OTJ molecules seem to hang in the air at your house!

I'll let PK know a woman is dreaming about him! Should be a boost for his kitty ego.

He is in mega trouble this AM...he keeps attacking one of my old ladies- the shelf kitty, SuziAnne. Man, she screams bloody murder! I just laid into him ( loud scolding) and he stared me down and growled at me, the little ba**ard!

He's sleeping on the shelf where I argued him to, like he chose the spot on purpose and decided to fall asleep as a nose thumbing in my direction.

Careful, your "dreams" may come true! Check the mailbox! :o

We WILL all be there at the vet tomorrow....when you feel that warmth on your shoulder, that's Michele's hand there....your presence of mind to ask the right questions and make the best decisions, that's Vicky and Pamela's sensibilities....strength to endure and stand on your own two feet, that's me....feeling like you are not alone, that's all the lovely Lev peeps supporting you from afar.

We'll be there, too. ;-) :YMHUG:
 
Thanks, Melissa. I know you guys will all be thinking about him and sending good vibes.

Last night he did not come to eat in the kitchen again, so I brought his food to the bed. But he did come when I opened a can of tuna for my dinner and gave them all the juice and some tuna (unsalted). He did not finish all the tuna. I made a blanket tent for him and he stayed in there all evening and slept on the bed all night. He DID come to the kitchen for breakfast, but didn't eat much and I had to follow him around with the dish to get him to eat even an ounce. He did eat the yogurt I gave him, but that was only about 1.5 tsp. When I left for work he was sleeping on his kitty bed in the sun in the living room. Oh, and he was at the door when I got home last night. He gave me a very hard warning bite when I was patting him during the evening.

All of the stuff this week is like he has p-titis, but he has never lost weight like this with it before, and the wt loss was before he stopped eating anyway. The weight loss has been since the beginning of the year when I thought his hyperT was causing it.

I'm thinking IBD/triaditis although he has never had IBD symptoms/signs before.

I don't want to lose this guy. He has had so many health issues and fought them all so hard and done so well. He was given a prognosis of 2-5 years at the age of 3, but blew that out of the water. Every day is a gift with him and has been since he was 8. I KNOW he has lived a lot longer because of the care I have given him, but still... I am not ready to let him go. He isn't even 12 yet.
 
First of all, if you add the one ounce you chased him to eat and the 1.5 ounce of yougurt, he has eaten HALF his daily rations already at 2.5ozs!

Yes, his appetite is off, but he IS eating, and eating enough so far. Maybe you could syringe some to fill in what he is missing...pureeing and microwaving gets my old crabby ladies to eat- try it?

Second, we'll have no talk of loosing Beau.

Positive IS as Positive DOES....You can be hopeful and postive while still guarded.

Visualize and it will Materialize....I visualize Beau having a decent check up tomorrow and getting some test results that CAN be dealt with.

Last- no matter what happens, you have done your very bestest with this guy, given him far more many chances than he would have had on his own or with someone else and any illnesses are by no means a reflection on the care you offer nor is it any failure on your part.

One day at a time, Positive thoughts..."WE" can do this!
 
1.5 tsp - not ozs - of yogurt. About a 1/4 oz. He has eaten about 2.5 to 3.5 ozs a day for the past week. I have even been giving him 12 Evo kibbles per day because he will eat them. I have no idea how many calories that is. I just remember that Dr. Lisa gave Benny 11 Evos a day to slow his weight loss. He has also been eating the dried up crumbs of wet food that fall on the floor over the sides of the dishes, but that has to be about a 1/4 tsp at most. I don't think that is enough...
 
my bad, sorry for the mistake.

can you spread out some canned food on a dish and make dry crumbles on purpose?

Also- when I transistioned the kids from Wellness kibble to Wellness canned I crushed the kibble into dust and spread on wet food...do you think Beau might eat more canned food if it had Evo dust on it?

Maybe try serving fresh canned with Evo dust on top and also maybe mix up some into canned and dry into crumbles for him...

Hang in there Sheila...(((hugs)))
 
Sheila, you have no doubt done this before, but perhaps it's time to syringe some food to him. You can get another 2 to 3 oz into him a day that way, even with working. As long as he isn't vomiting, he should be able to hold down 45 to 50ml at a time which is about an ounce and a half. Make sure it's something high in calories.

I know the waiting on blood work results is hard. They don't have CBC results available right then or did they send off for Free-T4, etc?
 
They don't do blood labs right there - some place they get results the next business day. We are not doing a free T4 at this point, just a regular T4.

Yep, I have syringe fed him. He hates it, of course. I feel like "high calorie" is an impossibility with a diabetic that is prone to pancreatitis - and may even being in the midst of a flare right now. Without going overboard on fat, and carbs being a non-no, that doesn't leave bunch in the way of calorie dense alternatives. I have been giving him 10-12 Evo kibbles once a day. He will eat those, but I don't want him expecting them and, therefore, not eating wet food.

He has eaten about 2.5 ozs so far today. He is still sleeping under the comforter.

Jeddie was 200 at amPS and 199 at +4 - ??? Must have been a fur shot. Last night he was 144 at PS. He seems to have a bit of diarrhea from the new food.
 
Is sleeping under the covers a good or bad thing? When i first read that, i assumed it was a good thing but now i'm seeing that maybe you mean that that's maladaptive behavior for him.

I wish i had some food suggestions for you - like Vicky said, you've been down this road before and you know Beau better than anyone else.

Will look for updates, hang in there my friend and know we're all thinking about you guys.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top