Jeddie 12-1 ~ shot full dose on an 88

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thought I had shot a full dose on a PS this low*, but looks like 100 is about as low as I have done that. His +2 was 118, so I am not too worried. I will get some later spot checks because it he will probably drop at around +7, give or take.

He was acting weird before the PS test - rummaging for stuff to eat off the floor (bits of fur, dead leaves from a hanging plant, etc.) even though I had put food down. Then he threw up. No surprise there as I think that was what he was after anyway. I identified a dried leaf and a small hairball. Then he wanted to chew on my phone and mouse cords. I have tested him before when he is like this and never gotten a too low number, but I wonder if he was lower 3-4 hours earlier and it made him uncomfortable somehow? Who knows? He is a funny cat about things like this. As laid back as he is, he can get totally OCD at times and it is tough to derail his singularly focused (at the time) mind.

*Yep, I shot full doses a couple of times on numbers this low back in March, but usually I reduce a bit or wait and shoot a rising number a little later.
 
I saw that subject line and thought, "Wow, Sheila's getting brave!"

I wonder if the Prozac makes him act with little oddities from time to time. Your mention of him being OCD made me think that.

What is that called when they want to eat non-food things, pica? Chewing on cords is not too unusual for cats though.

Jeddie, you are a mystery. Shall we call you Jeddie the Magnificent?
 
I know you're uncomfortable with a 60 at +5 and I agree it's cause to test again, even at +5.5. His +2 was typical though, a rise.

I hope this cycle looks as good as I think it might.
 
I only worry about him dropping below 50. The 60 just makes me want to monitor so I can see if he drops more and maybe a dose adjustment needs to be made. Unfortunately, I got busy with work and next thing I knew it was 2 hours later, so I got a +7 after all: 66. I hope he just surfed there for that time. I just fed him after the +7 (there had been food in the dishes at +5 and he ate some).
 
That is excellent. Thanks for posting, I was wondering.

We also need a surfing smiley! Can't you just picture it - a little smiling smiley aboard a surf board, little Bermuda shorts and waving arms so he doesn't fall off.
 
Well, he ended up at 262 for his pmPS (142 at +9), so a bit of a bounce there I think.

But that is his pattern. He will probably have flat 200s for 5-7 days and then another great day like today. It seems like it is too much insulin, but his numbers don't change much on a lower dose. I've been looking at his numbers and wondering if I should just leave him at .5u and take the 7 day cycle as is. The only other thing I could try is to try .45u and see if that tiny change would improve things at all.
 
Don't have an answer for you, Sheila. It looks like he may have held the surf past +7. At this point it's probably better to hold the .5U since it produced such an otherwise good cycle. And maybe he won't have such a long run of higher numbers this time. It's always tempting to lower the dose, but I'm afraid that would keep him running higher without any of these good cycles.
 
I remember a time when 60 freaked me out, but I think it was back in Beau's vetsulin days. Just wait until you get your first 30-something! It's really hard not to panic, but in my experience, they are ok, but maybe ravenous. I always feed when they are below 60. I just don't break out the higher carb until they drop below 40.

But the most freaked out I ever was when when Beau's meter read "HI", which meant over 600! I ran for the insulin! Which, is kinda funny to me now, since it wasn't an emergency, just a big red flag waving at me that I didn't understand.
 
I haven't been on in a little while...but great job Jeddie and to Sheila for being brave and shooting the low number! Vicky and Jack taught me all about "shooting low to stay low" and that made such a big difference for us.
Be a good boy for your momma, Jeddie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top