Jean Luc 7/22

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=75284#p816955

We had a very flat red day. I guess all the blues from yesterday caused a bounce (maybe). He has been very lethargic and hungry. I guess it was a sleep day after his exciting drops yesterday. He does preen and purrs when petted. PMPS was 375 which was lower than AMPS. No ketones. Perhaps, he will be more active later during normal cat prowling hours. Still no poop yet!
 
Jean Luc is definitely my little early am partier. I think he'd sneak out for joy rides if his hands and feet could reach the peddles.

He is at 54 +8 tonight and swatting toys under table. Gave him more food. Should be climbing soon. Any suggestions on morning dose in 3-4 hours?
 
Wow, that came out of nowhere! I have no idea what he had in mind. He could stay low, or he could bounce higher....
2.25 has been dropping him 350 points (tonight, and during Saturday's AM cycle.) This morning's cycle and last night's cycle look like bouncing from the lows yesterday. I have to think he's going to bounce from this too, and it might not show up in 3 or 4 hours, but look delayed like this mornings cycle looked.

I'm thinking low dose, like 1 or 1.5? That's assuming he gets up to 200 or higher by AMPS. I love the numbers tonight, they're just confusing. :o

Carl
 
Can do. He seems to be enjoying the green oz land. Has been jumping at his mouse on string. He exhausts me though. We are holding at 63
.
 
No more poop this am after he pooped early last evening. I did add probably about 3oz of water to his canned food today. Perhaps, that will help today. Can't get midcycle #'s during the day, but will be able to monitor this evening.
 
Looks like we're having a repeat of 7/19 - 7/20. Pumps was 575 gave 2.25. +2 is 408. Gave 2.25u because last time the insulin ran out prior to +9. Little guy was really hungry this afternoon and then crashed for about a 1.5 hour nap. These bounces are frustrating. It is now 1 hour before next meal and cat is pacing (casing) the food bowl.
 
Had trifecta of little things this morning - coughed up hair ball between (+10 & +11), pooped sometime after +5, and had AMPS of 527. Gave 2U. These bounces are frustrating (if that is what this is).
 
Yes bounces are frustrating. Especially if you are trying to control them with more insulin, like on a roller coaster, you shoot a dose that is a little to much and their bg drops to blue or green and their liver panicks and dumps glucose to protect themselves and your next PS is red or black so you raise the dose and they drop to blue or green and the roller coaster takes off for another spin around the track. Bounces will clear by themselves but sometimes it takes 3 to 5 days for the rebound hormones to clear out of their system.

Personally I would drop the dose to 1.5u and stick with it (as long as the PS's are high enough) and let the bouncing stop. You will probably lose the blue and green nadirs but you should also lose those ugly black PS's. Once the bouncing stops we should be able to see the true patterns and get a better idea of the ideal dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top