Jax- Surfing the blues...dose too low?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Member Since 2011
Hi all!

Well, we are still in the same position that we have been in since approx mid to late August. Jax is staying in the 'blue range' for AMPS and PMPS based on my current dosing scale. Perhaps he needs a little more insulin to help him out? I am toying with raising the dose this weekend when I can monitor him. Right now my scale is:

120-130 .20
130-160 .40
160-200 .60
over 200 .8
over 300 1.0

Recap:
9/18 AMPS 116 fed and waited an hr for the rise to shoot at 139 BG. Gave .40
+11 129 did not wait the hr to shoot but gave .20 then

9/19 AMPS 161 gave .60
PMPS146 gave .40

Perhaps I am not being aggressive enough? He's been floating on these #'s for so long. I am considering raising my scale by .20 across the board. Will test it out starting Friday night. I am on vacation next week so I have a week to get a new sliding scale together and to see if I can make a difference with an increase in the dose.
 
Hi Lisa,

I think lots of people would be happy to trade spreadsheets with you, but I understand your wanting things to get just a little bit better. I think the .2 increase is a good idea since you'll be able to monitor.

One suggestion - the highest number you've seen since that last yellow PMPS test is a 172. And the 1.2 on that yellow proved to be too much. If you adjust your scale, I would only do so on numbers under 200. You may feel that the scale below 200 is not working good enough, but I wouldn't change any of the scale for number ranges that you haven't seen "fail" yet. Going up on the lower ranges makes sense to me though. With sliding scales, I'm a believer in the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" line of thinking.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top