Jax flirting with remission- Questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Hello everyone,

I'm writing this again as I have no idea where my 1st post went! grr...

It has been a while since I have been on the boards since moving to a larger home and I will apologize in advance for not filling in Jax's SS in months.... bad me. :oops: With so many things happening in my everyday life it has been very hard for me to keep it updated. I pretty much had his dosing down to a science so I was not really pressed to keep the SS up to date.

Over 300 gets 2u
250-300 gets 1.8u
200-249 gets 1.6u

I was pretty much following this until Jax started flirting with lower and lower numbers. I atrribute this to him being able to exercise to his hearts content and he races about the house all the time, zooming from room to room. I am happy to report that he is now on his toes in the front and back and is no longer scarfing down his food. (Yay!) He is content to have a bit and leave the rest, deciding to eat at his leisure. Super unusual for my little Hoover cat.

Anyway, a few weeks ago I came home to see a PMPS in the 80's. I was shocked. I skipped his shot as I simply could not believe he was so low. The next day AMPS was in the mid to lower 200's. This happened over the course of a few days...his PMPS would trend in the 70's and 80's and I would skip the shot. I decided to try to reduce the dose in the morning so I could shoot a PM dose.. he still continued to trend low. His PS's averaged in the mid to high 100's which I started to shoot into.

I was thrilled to see AMPS and PMPS trending mid to low 100's but I am wondering...what is considered normal?? The lowest # I shot into was probably 135-140...I'm at work now and not having an updated SS sure doesn't help :oops: but I'm wondering...when do you NOT shoot? How low should that # be? When he is in the low 100's I have given anywhere from .2-.6.

I am hoping that we are flirting with R (anti jinx)..although this morning the AMPS was 312. Super unusual as of late but DH gave him a token dose in the evening (.4 I think) because PMPS was the low 100's. I really hope it was basically a 'one off' and PMPS will continue to trend with the #'s he's been having as of late. we shall see tonight.

So...FDMB family...what PS# would you NOT shoot into? What would be considered normal? The 90's? 80's? I am hoping beyond hope that I will be faced with these kinds of problems to be decided upon.

I hope that he continues with these #'s but I am down to the last drops in his current vial..and so nervous to start the new vial. For any of you that remember us, new vials have not always been kind to us. :?

Thanks for any thoughts on what a normal BG # is and what remission would look like.
 
Jax! You sly devil!

Good to see you , Lisa. :smile:

"Normal" for a cat without diabetes is down near 40 or so. For our sugar babies, if they stay in double digits for 2 weeks, they are considered OTJ. I dare not suggest what I would shoot into lower numbers as Carl has been saying I have BOS. :lol:

Good luck to you and Jax...and take a few moments every once in a while to keep us updated. You both are missed, ya know! :YMHUG:
 
How wonderful to hear from you, Lisa, and what lovely news from Jax. Hurray!

This is where the dance gets complicated. A cat is considered in remission if, off insulin, he ranges from 40-120 with the majority of the time in double digits. He is getting there. One thing you could try is to really reduce the carb count (if possible) and see if that helps bring his numbers down.

I don't think many people ever shoot under 150 with ProZinc. What you might try this weekend when you have time is to "chase" the number. So you get a 70 at pmps. Then, keep monitoring until he is in the 150 range and then shoot that tiny dose. You will have to feed him at some point and take that into account. (Have you done a pancreas check and tested before food and then after food without insulin to see if food brings him down?) You will be completely off a 12/12 schedue, sort of shooting on demand (as long as he is sure rising and it is later than +12) So you might shoot at +18 after a low pmps for example, keeping him away from that rise at amps.

I can't remember what a new vial did. Did his numbers really go down? That might be dicey to work with.

A nice problem to have, but a challenge also.

You might check the remission thread on the top of the page. Cantannc has an interesting one as does CellosMom. Both flirted with lower numbers for awhile before going OTJ.
 
Thanks for the feedback! I know I've been away for a while. I just could not remember what "normal" is supposed to look like.
It is good to know the ranges.

Sue, he is still on FF classics and I don't think I can go lower carb. I guess could start looking into the lowest variety of the classics and take it from there.

Also, I think you are right and I may have to 'chase' the number. Gosh, I'm so not used to this... I have given food and tested him afterward...sometimes he holds the #, other times he can gain 100+ points within 3 hours.

Today his PMPS is 43. The lowest it has EVER been. Of course, it gives me pause because I wonder how low he went throughout the day! It is possible that he held the # for the majority of the day but I don't know. nailbite_smile

I just fed him and will wait for the rise then shoot into a mid 100 #. We shall see what the morning holds.

Thanks Teresa and Sue for your thoughts. :YMHUG:
 
Lisa,
What's the lowest number you have shot at, and what was the dose?

Carl
 
Hi Carl,
On 8/10 PMPS was 148, he got .2u. Strictly a token.
+4 was 145
8/11 AMPS was 107 and I waited three hours for the rise. he hit 216. I retested and he was 175.

I will update his SS over the weekend. I know it is easier to see the #'s that way.
 
Also on 8/2 PMPS was 88 I fed and waited. +2 was 132. I did not shoot into that number and AMPS was 180. He got .4 then and PMPS that evening was 77. I skipped that PM shot he was 346 in the morning.

I will try to update the SS as soon as I can.
 
Lisa,
I know once you get behind on the ss, it's almost impossible to catch up. Forget July, just pick up the last week or ten days if you can.

I shot low numbers, and I think you could too. I just don't want to give you specifics without seeing what you've been seeing:-)
Carl
Carl
 
Hey Lisa!

Great For You and Jax! When Chewy was going OTJ, I never shot below 150. I know ECID, but that worked for Chewy.

And, I won't mention Spreadsheets!!!
 
Hi Lisa - welcome back! Glad to see Jax doing so well... I agree w/ Sue - seems like the marathons like Grayson initially had, might be the ticket to OTJ. I've seen folks on Lantus/Lev shooting really low numbers, but it freaks me out. I think the 150 Sue & Kim mentioned is probably a good place. I like the "shooting on demand" philosophy!

Congrats on getting to this point!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top