Jasmine's Higher Dose BG

Kim and Jasmine

Member Since 2020
Hi all. It's about 3 weeks Jasmine's insulin was raised to 2u. I am not seeing any change in levels. Should I increase again? I have also read that too much insulin could increase BG numbers too. She is acting normal and put back on 2 pounds (she's 10lbs). I am confused and just want her better. Please advise. Thank you
 
Here is the link to your previous post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-05-jasmines-bg-new-dose.234761/ We ask that you include those links so it's easy for us to go back and see the history.

Have you decided yet which dosing method you want to follow? They are described in the Sticky Note on Dosing Methods. I'm guessing Start Low Go Slow? If so, could you add SLGS to your signature. And it's time to do a curve, which should be done weekly.

With both our dosing methods, you don't want to hold the dose any longer than necessary, if it's not giving numbers we want. With SLGS, the goal is to spend as much time as possible between 90 and 149. And you only hold the dose 1 week if you aren't seeing those numbers. Unless your curve shows numbers in that range, I would increase to 2.25 units.

I have also read that too much insulin could increase BG numbers too.
Not sure where you read that, but that is one of those "urban myth" things that keeps getting repeated. As long as the cat started on a low enough dose (you did), are testing enough to see how low the dose is taking the cat (OK, except for missing curves), and are increasing by small amounts (like the 0.25 units you have been doing), there is no danger the does is too high. Too much insulin is only a problem if you aren't testing enough and seeing the lows that are causing the high number bounces. Typically we only see that if the cat was started on too high a dose, or not following our dosing methods here in terms of testing or increase amounts.
 
Back
Top