Kim and Jasmine
Member Since 2020
Hi all. We are just barely 1 month into this and for the most part, Jasmine's BG has been 200's-300's using Contour Next One meter. She is on Lantus 1.5u. Very rarely has she gone below 200. Last night's pmps was 385. This morning amps was 56! I did not give her insulin. I fed her and monitored again approx 45 min later was 76, and an hour after that was 152. My sister who has diabetic ex-husband and daughter, scolded me and said I should've given Jasmine the Lantus because her BG will spike high without it. Is this true? Should I have given it to her anyway? This is all still new to me. She is due for a vet check up this week and given her previous numbers, I thought I was going to have to increase her dose. I will be continuing to monitor her throughout the day.


...Whatever the possible reason this would seem to 'not' be a good time to raise the insulin dose...