Jan. 9/Simon/AMPS drastic drop

KarrieK

Member Since 2019
This is new territory for me - last night Simon's PMPS was over 600, and this morning's AMPS was 135. He has not been below 200 in a couple of weeks. In fact, his numbers had been going up (which is why we switched to Lantus). I had gradually increased him to 3 units the past few days. Now wondering if his "depot" is indeed built up, and if so, what dose should I give him this morning?

Note; I did open a new container of test strips this morning but I did run 2 "control" tests and both were in normal range. Seems odd, though, that this sudden drop coincided with using the new strips.
 
Did you test again to see that the test was correct?

Can you stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the number is rising?
Are you going to be able to test during the cycle if you do give insulin? do you have some higher carb food if needed?
It is very late for me and I’m off to bed but I will tag @Sienne and Gabby (GA) to help you further
 
I just fed him as he was begging and I thought better to get some food in him. Guess that was not a good thing to do based on what I've been reading the past half hour. I have to leave for work in a couple of hours so I can check him again a few times. He's due for his shot in half an hour. Appreciate your help - I'm in a mild panic. Thankfully he's acting just fine.....
 
Since you fed him his next test will be food influenced. It's probably best to skip to keep him safe since you have to go to work. You'll get another chance to shoot a blue number. You may need to leave some food out for him today just to be safe.
 
Yes I did. I'm at work now - my husband checked him at noon and he was at 167. I'll be home in a couple of hours and will check him immediately. Will post again as I'll probably need advice on amount. Thank you!
 
I just got home from worked and checked him; he's climbing back up. 356. I normally would be due to give him insulin at 7PM. How much should I give him? Thank you!
 
I would continue to give him 3 units tonight.

It might be beneficial to get a +11 or even +11.5 to see if Simon is climbing up or down. By PS, you'll know and feel more confident shooting lower numbers.

Since you skipped tonight's shot, you would restart the cycle count.

Also, have you picked a dosing method to follow yet? TR or SLGS? I would also change your signature to indicate that you're now using Lantus and which method you choose to follow.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Is that what you meant?

Almost :)

It should read like this: 1/9 Simon AMPS 135 Drastic Drop!

Since you didn't get any tests last night it's hard to say what he was dropping from...to where...is it possible for you to get a test or two before you go to bed? Then you may have seen the numbers falling...just adding to what Crista commented on above - try to get some additional tests in the PM cycle.

:)
 
I would continue to give him 3 units tonight.

It might be beneficial to get a +11 or even +11.5 to see if Simon is climbing up or down. By PS, you'll know and feel more confident shooting lower numbers.

Since you skipped tonight's shot, you would restart the cycle count.

Also, have you picked a dosing method to follow yet? TR or SLGS? I would also change your signature to indicate that you're now using Lantus and which method you choose to follow.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Thank you, I updated my signature to reflect the insulin change. Don't know about the dosing method as I am unfamiliar with what they are. I've just been checking him pre-shot and then doing some at random when I am able to be home. My biggest question now is how much to give him at 7pm. Also I definitely will test him before I go to bed and during the night hours.
 
I would continue to give him 3 units tonight.

It might be beneficial to get a +11 or even +11.5 to see if Simon is climbing up or down. By PS, you'll know and feel more confident shooting lower numbers.

Since you skipped tonight's shot, you would restart the cycle count.

Also, have you picked a dosing method to follow yet? TR or SLGS? I would also change your signature to indicate that you're now using Lantus and which method you choose to follow.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
I didn't skip tonight's shot - I skipped this morning's shot as his BG had dropped drastically from last night. So, it has been nearly 24 hours since his last dose of insulin. Mainly what I am wondering now is how much to give him this evening. Thank you in advance for your help! I am feeling kind of confused and anxious right now.
 
How long until the insulin is due?
Can you get some tests in overnight?
It would be good to know how low Simon is going with the 3 unit dose.
 
How long until the insulin is due?
Can you get some tests in overnight?
It would be good to know how low Simon is going with the 3 unit dose.
He is due in 15 minutes. I can get a test or 2 in sometime during the night. I am thinking to give him 2 units - middle ground - as I am concerned 3 would be too much but 1 not enough.
 
:)
No criticism here, I just want to help you.
When you swapped over to Lantus it would have been best to stay at the 2 units for 5 to 7 days for the depot to fill. Then when you change dose you need to stay with that dose for at least 3 days for the depot to stabilise each time.
Lantus likes consistency so you need to choose a dose and stick with it for a few days and get as much testing in as you can so we can see how low the dose is taking Simon.
If you feel more comfortable reducing to 2 units ( he hasn’t earnt a reduction) then do so but then if you could have a look at the 2 dosing methods that are at the top of the Lantus page.... the tight regulation and the start low go slow methods and see which would suits you better. Then if you follow that you will get better more consistent results. how do you feel about that?
 
His BG is now 723! I am freaking out here. Just gave him 3 units. How can he be so low this morning and so high now? Has this ever happened to anyone else?
 
His BG is now 723! I am freaking out here. Just gave him 3 units. How can he be so low this morning and so high now? Has this ever happened to anyone else?
He is bouncing from the blue number this morning which he is not used to any more. His body reacts to the low number, or what he thinks is a low number and dumps glucose and regulatory hormones into his system. It can take up to 6 cycles for the bounce to stop and for the numbers to reduce. There is nothing you can do about it but wait.
He will be ok
 
Most newly diagnosed diabetic cats will bounce. Some more than others. Try not to stress about it.
I would still get a before bed test in to see how he’s going. He’s probably been bouncing since diagnosis by the look of some of those black/ red numbers.
My Sheba bounced a lot.
 
Always get a Preshot test done and inbetween tests if you can.
Keep your SS up to date as we always look at it when helping.
If you can put what food you feed and when you feed it in the remarks column that would be helpful.
Do you give food during the cycle?we recommend feeding a couple of smaller meals during the am and pm cycles as well as the Preshot meals. It is easier on the pancreas.

I know this is very stressful for you and it’s new and confusing. We all get that as we all started out that way. But it will get MUCH easier. You have come to the very best place for help.
Keep asking lots of questions.

Have you read this link.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
 
Thank you so much for your advice and support. In answer to your question about food; Simon has always been a grazer so he gets several small meals during the day, and I often leave his plate out as sometimes he isn't interested....at the time. In addition, he is on heart medication (which I have to disguise in food) so he gets that with his evening meal. In addition to his diabetes and heart issues he has early CKD. With all of these challenges, I realize I need to be grateful for any progress and/or positive signs as we treat the diabetes. I also need to learn to chill and develop some patience. Sigh.

I am very grateful for the responses and support I have gotten so far. It really helps to hear from others with experience and wisdom in dealing with this unpredictable disease. Thank you again! Fingers crossed his numbers will be on the decline when I check him in a few hours......
 
You do have several Issues with Simon’s health but I think you are doing a very good job.
Don’t be stressed if the numbers don’t come down quickly. Sometimes they bob up and down before they settle back down. When cats are coming off the bounce, they can drop quite quickly during the breaking bounce cycle so just be aware of that and if the numbers drop quite a bit, test more often to see how low they drop.
 
Back
Top