Jan 20 - Bacardi - shooting blue for the first time

BacardiTheGreat

Member Since 2018
Hi guys, Bacardi’s today AMPS was 193, which is the lowest he has ever had. I went back to the Shooting low numbers” topic to see what to do and found out that a no shot number is usually much lower - so I guess Bacardi should get his AM shot and I should probably test sooner than at +6 to see how he’s dropping, to have time to feed him if he’s too low, is that right?

Overall, we are getting lower and lower slowly, which is good :)
 
193 is a safe number to shoot but since your AMPS numbers have been so much higher I would definitely not wait until +6 to test. My cat often drops from the 180 range into the 90s by +3. I am still relatively new to this too but I think since you don't have a lot of mid-cycle data, I would grab a +2 and see where he is. After that, depending on how low his numbers go, you might need to test every hour until you know he isn't going to drop too low. It will be interesting to see how low he goes. Good luck.
 
Also, I’s been 11th cycle on 1.5 units, but this time we got some relatively good numbers (including 126 at +5 this night, so he might have dropped even lower later at night) - so I guess we should hold that dose at least 3 more days to see what it does, right?
 
Kate, I've been there. Buddy has been a roller coaster ride. We spend a few days in the blues and greens, then earn a reduction, then bounce high and end up having multiple increases. It's not easy and some cats are just harder. I look at other spreadsheets and am amazed at months of nothing but blue and green but have accepted that my Buddy will probably never get there.

The first time I shot in the blue (not long ago) I was terrified. I was also terrified the first few times that Buddy dropped into green and would immediately dig out the high carb food. Trust me, with the support of this wonderful group and more data, you will start to feel more comfortable about these things.

I'll peek back in on you tomorrow and see how Bacardi did. I hope you get some nice low, but safe numbers!
 
Bacardi is looking good so far! I'm glad to see the blue, but I'm hoping to see some green! I am not completely sure about the dosing advice, but let's definitely see what he gets up to with this cycle.
 
I was hoping for our first green too, but Bacardi decided he likes purple better - already bouncing back up to his usual numbers. But we have seen more blues recently, which is good. I am learning to be patient :)
 
Back
Top