Jackson's third day on insulin

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Last link: Jackson's first post in Health

I had to take my car to the mechanic last night after work because the ignition would not turn (of course it did last night), in case there was an emergency and I needed to take Jackson somewhere.
I need to leave in a few minutes to go pay the guy.

I had been getting close to 3 hours of sleep a night recently, and over slept this morning (my one day off from work) , so he got his insulin 1 hour late this morning. He went back to trace urine ketones at 3:00am, so that is now two trace ketones in a row. What a relief!
I see I have a package to be delivered today, and I don't know if it's some freeze dried treats on there way across the country from Ohio, or my blood ketone meter testing strips from Amazon.

Can someone tell me what the exceptable blood ketone results should be?

His AMPS this morning was 320. I still need to get my spreadsheet set up, I'll working on that later today.
I have all his tests hand written on paper, and want to go through my glucometer to make sure they are right.
Does anyone know how to get the memory on a Relion Premiere? I'm sure I can figure it out, if not.

Off to feed kitties, then go to the bank, and pay this guy. Hoping my car starts. Back later.
 
there are three buttons on the monitor, the right button you press it, after the first number it will give you, every BG reading as you press it every time front the last reading to the first

@Wendy&Neko
 
To answer the question on blood ketones:

When do ketones show up on a blood ketone meter such as the Nova Max Plus or Precision Xtra Blood & Ketone meters?

Two of the latest scientific studies (linked below) concerning measurement of ketones when using a blood ketone meter provide an up-to-date interpretation that when a blood ketone concentration of 2.4 and 2.55 are obtained, DKA is more likely to be present.


Measurement of ketones - Weingart_J VET Diagn Invest-2012(1).pdf
Measuring ketones - JSAP_Zeugswetter - 2012.pdf
What brand of meter did you order? There are a quite a few more out there now. Ketomojo has cheaper test strips than the above.
 
So if his blood ketones are below 2.4 it's okay?
Both the blood ketone test strips and the treats arrived today.
I have been having a hard time getting blood for glucose tests, so haven't tried the blood ketone meter yet.
I thought my old NovaMax from 2014 was dead, but took it to a jewelers to get a new battery for it and they said it still worked, so I bought more test strips for it. $34 for 20 strips. I saw a meter called KetoSens I think, that had test strips for $1 each. I may be wrong.
 
DKA is more likely if 2.4 or above. You don't want him that close to that point. From what I've seen here, most people get under 1.0. Good price on the strips.
 
Thank you, Wendy.
I just wish the insulin was doing something. 6th dose tonight.
I think I have the spreadsheet linked now (empty). Can you see it?
 
Excellent, I can see the spreadsheet. Tonight is the 5th cycle at this dose.

If you are planning to follow TR, his starting dose would have been higher. The TR suggestion for starting dose is 0.25 units x weight in kilograms (pounds divided by 2.2). With trace ketones, you could consider going up in dose a little quicker than the traditional 5-7 days at the starting dose. Or move up to closer to what could have been his starting dose.
 
Wendy, I read your other comment.
Does high phosphorus come from meat?
My cats have switched from Temptations type of treats to freeze dried 100% meat treats.
Are these high in phosporus?
 
Wendy, I read your other comment.
Does high phosphorus come from meat?
My cats have switched from Temptations type of treats to freeze dried 100% meat treats.
Are these high in phosporus?
I don’t remember how old Jackson is now but with his creatinine at 1.1, I wouldn’t worry about a phosphorous level of 5.4. It could have been influenced by a recent meal. Before Tobey got CKD, his P would be up and down.

But, actually, many freeze dried meat treats are higher in P because the meat is concentrated. Some of them run at about 1.25% P on a DMB and that is fairly high. A non-CKD cat shouldn’t have any issue with that but I think it’s always wise to be a little more cautious with kidneys with a diabetic cat.
 
But, actually, many freeze dried meat treats are higher in P because the meat is concentrated. Some of them run at about 1.25% P on a DMB and that is fairly high. A non-CKD cat shouldn’t have any issue with that but I think it’s always wise to be a little more cautious with kidneys with a diabetic cat.
What test treats can he have then, if he had CKD? He is 11 years old, the same age J.D. was when he started diabetes..
 
What test treats can he have then, if he had CKD? He is 11 years old, the same age J.D. was when he started diabetes..
He doesn’t have CKD. His creatinine and SDMA are normal. I wouldn’t worry about it. He can have any LC treats and the freeze dried are fine for him. It doesn’t matter if the P is higher in them.
 
Back
Top