Jack's numbers have been too low for insulin

Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)

Very Active Member
Jack’s bouncing all over the place, and other than yesterday morning, his numbers have been low. Tonight, and last night, he was too low to shoot. Tuesday night, he was 210 at PMPS. I dosed him 1.5U and tested him a few times after. His BG went down to 62 @ +4, and he was 415 at AMPS on Wed morning. I thought that was high for being so low during the night. He stayed low all day, and last night at +11.5 he was only 121. I waited 30 minutes, and he went down to 111 at PMPS. I didn't dose him. This morning, his AMPS was only 312. I was afraid to give him 1.5U (I gave him 1U) because I worked today. His PMPS tonight was 151. Again, I didn’t give him insulin.

Also, I think he may be reacting to the low numbers, but that didn't click with me until today. He has been alert, and eating, and as sweet and affectionate as always, so I wasn't thinking there was any problem. But it hit me today: Jack was trembling last night. It was short lived, but obvious. A friend was here fixing my shower, and he noticed too. And my daughter said that Jack was walking a little shaky today-sort of jumpy or jerky movements. She said it was so subtle that she wasn't sure if she was imagining it. I have no idea what his numbers were doing all day, as I was working, and I'll be at work tomorrow too.

I think I’m going to go low and keep him there for a while. I can only monitor him on the days I’m off – always Wed, Sat, and Suns. Sometimes, I have an additional day as well. But my work days are usually long, so I don’t get testing in.

Any thoughts? I’d appreciate all the help and feedback that I can get.

Thank you!
 
Geez is it the moon or something? There are a bunch of us experiencing this the last couple of days. As the saying goes better high for a day than low for a second. You have to take your well being into account when dosing as well so going low will keep him safe and you sane. We all want to make sure our babies are getting the dose they need but as I have been reminded this is a dance not a sprint so we need to always error on the side of caution to keep them safe. Sending hugs your way.
 
Geez is it the moon or something? There are a bunch of us experiencing this the last couple of days. As the saying goes better high for a day than low for a second. You have to take your well being into account when dosing as well so going low will keep him safe and you sane. We all want to make sure our babies are getting the dose they need but as I have been reminded this is a dance not a sprint so we need to always error on the side of caution to keep them safe. Sending hugs your way.
I only gave him .5U this morning. I can't be home to monitor him, and a full unit yesterday seemed to make him shaky and kept his BG down too low to shoot at night. I'm not sure if I should keep it at .5 for a while before I raise it. I'm kind of confused about what I should do right now.
 
Last edited:
Love seeing those blue numbers appearing! Let's see what happens with the 0.5u today. My hunch is it's not quite enough, but I think you made the right decision since he's still pretty new to this dance and you won't be home. It is important to be a little extra cautious with new kitties :)
 
This morning, Jack's PS was 289 after not being dosed last night. I gave him .5U. I just came in from work, and his BG was 147 @ +10. My daughter said he was playful today! That made me sooo happy! Jack has always been a very playful cat, but he hasn't been feeling good for a while now. She said he was even carrying a toy around with him, which is what Jack loves to do. This morning, he was trying to bat around the lancet that I put on the floor, and I had to move it. I didn't test him all day, but it's my guess that his numbers didn't go real low. I'm curious to see what happens now, with just giving him .5U and taking it from there.
 
Love seeing those blue numbers appearing! Let's see what happens with the 0.5u today. My hunch is it's not quite enough, but I think you made the right decision since he's still pretty new to this dance and you won't be home. It is important to be a little extra cautious with new kitties :)
I feel like I just need to start again, go slower this time, give him more time to adjust to each dose, and then only raise it .25U each time.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top