? Jack 03/27 - AMPS 378, +3 372, +6 304, +9 198, PMPS 52 - Please help!

AngelaMiao

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Pretty sure he got into some dry food last night at my mom's. Whenever I go to my mom's, I go inside while Jack is still in the car and take away all the dry food. I usually dump it back into the bag but this time I forgot it on the counter. He never goes on the counter but I think if he were to see one of the other cats eating he might. The bowl was empty this morning. :(
 
Last edited:
Jack is due for his insulin in 15 minutes but his sugar is at 52. Its never been this low before.

How do I proceed. I freaked out and opened a packet of honey but then realized the lime green starts at 2.7 so I didn't give it to him.
 
What you might want to do is stall, which is waiting without feeding for 20 minutes, and see if he comes up on his own.
 
Yes, looks like he was still on his way down. Give him a tsp of higher carb food to see if you can put the brakes on.
 
My mom ended up using my HC wet food while I was gone with the other cats. I gave him a bit of dry food while I was running around like a headless chicken and can mix honey with his regular food. How often should I test?
 
test again in 20 minutes. it takes that long for the effects of the HC to be felt. A drop of honey mixed into LC will be a good alternative.
 
OK, that's good. You have two options now. Option 1 is a skip tonight. Option 2, if you can delay your shot times up to a couple hours, is to wait until he zooms up to shoot. And he's officially earned a reduction. With either option, I would still test in half an hour. You want to make sure he stays up. And if you skip, still get testing in to make sure he stays up.
 
I dont mind delaying a few hours. I do my shots at 4am/4pm so that I can afford to stall.

At what point can I safely say it's safe to shoot and should I take the food away for now to make sure he's going up on his own?
 
How much has he eaten so far? And what type of food? What you are looking for is for his numbers to really start zooming up, without addition high carb food. Just do LC now.
 
I gave him 20 pieces of dry food (found some leftover Purina DM) and now he just has the usual FF pate out but he only had a few bites and went upstairs.
 
Probably over three hours now. If you shoot now, your new AMPS will be 12 hours after now.mwould that work for you? You can move the shot time back 15 minutes a shot or 1/3 hour once a day.
 
Back
Top