Jack 03/08 - AMPS 325, +2 304, +5.5 284 +7 226, +9 181, PMPS 199, +2 114, +3 94, +4 75, +5 74, +6 85

AngelaMiao

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Increased to 1.50u.

I was kind of excited to increase him to 1.75 but he had a single yellow number of 289 last night (every other reading has been above 300). I'm a bit worried that I'm not increasing him fast enough to prevent any glucose toxicity since that 289 could have been as high as 348 considering meter variation and all of his other readings being above 300
 
It's very early days yet.
ince that 289 could have been as high as 348 c
or as low as 230ish:)

I remember feeling exactly like you take a look at George back in 2015 when he first went on insulin. I just felt I wasn't moving fast enough to keep up with his diabetes. We were a sea of red/pink, until we took a dosecrease and then we started to see a dramatic difference. Just keep reassessing that dose every 6cycles, you'll get there.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
If he stays pink the next 6 cycles then take him up by 0.5.
 
You will get there. With Olive I actually thought she was getting water instead of insulin. It didn't touch her and she was already up there in units. Didn't know about the acro then. It was so disheartening. You keep going on and you will break through.
 
Thanks guys! I have a feeling that my ReliOn Prime tests low. I got a Contour Next last week that I will switch to when I run out of ReliOn strips so that I don't have to go back to the USA. I did a few tests with both and the Contour consistently gives results 50-70 points higher than the ReliOn when I convert it from mmol/L to mg/dL

I live in Canada but bought the ReliOn in the USA since it was way cheaper but I managed to lie and get a test strip prescription to put under my insurance and bought the Contour + 300 strips at 80% coverage (strips sre expensive here - it came out to the same price as the ReliOn after the insurance).
 
I had the Relion Confirm/Arkray Glucocard 01 as my main meter and the Bayer Contour as my backup. I found that the difference in points was a lot less as the numbers got lower. At the very high end, the Contour was lower. At first I got the test strips send to a friend of a friend, since the friend visited the US frequently. Then I switched to a US post box just across the border, about a 45 minute drive. Lucky you getting insurance on the test strips.

Down Jack, let’s see some blues.
 
He's not looking too great today. He's shaking, sleeping a lot, eyelids are sticking to his eyes :(
 
No :( I really know I should. Just having a really hard time getting him to pee anywhere but his litter box with regular litter. I tried the empty box, pee pads, and plastic pellets and he wont pee - he can hold it up to 48hrs. Also won't go into the box without a lid so I can't do the ladle thing runs out as soon as I take the lid off. Can't afford to start using that special clay litter. Way out of budget. Also refuses to use the litter unless it's in my room since we moved him in (big dog in the house) and baby sleeps with us, so wed have to change the litter as soon as he uses it so we'd have to throw the clay litter away right after he uses it.

Next step is to empty his bladder myself.
 
There are blood ketone monitors available, not sure of the cost, that might be an easier alternative, I've never used them, my guy is not shy about the box at all, in fact none of my kitties are. He wouldn't go in the empty tray though, would hold on and on and on.... the ladle worked for us.
He finally got blue numbers!!
I just saw!!:cool:
How's he feeling? Any better? Has he been eating today?
If he's still blue at preshot flat or falling, you may have an interesting cycle tonight, I'm keeping my fingers crossed he can do better than blue.:cool:
 
I would get a +11 and if he is still falling or flat change your title to ask for helps so someone can support you if you are faced with shooting a lower than usual number.
It is also good to get that +11 so you can tell which direction the numbers are heading, as this might influence your decision to shoot.

I would take the time now to read up on shooting and handling lower numbers, so that you are comfortable with what you need to be doing, a little refresher if you like.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
He's eating and perked up a little bit.

Definitely can't afford the keytone blood strips, not with the amount of time he spends over the renal threshold. I'm gonna try the ladle again.

Basically my way of testing him for keytones has been making him play with a lazer, smelling his breath and making sure he's willing to eat :/
 
I'm gonna try the ladle again.
I just swoosh it under his bottom, don't have to take the lid of the box, as long as he's not facing out.
He was 199 at shot time, was so happy.... And then I think I got a frickin fur shot! Arghhhh :'(
Good shooting. Try not to worry about possible fur shot, it happens to all of us, at least you remembered to give him his shot, I just clean forgot to give him his insulin one night.
 
He only faces out when he goes :(

I'm hoping the wetness was just the excess insulin that I sprayed out to get rid of bubbles. He's been flinching more since I switched to 8mm syringes
 
:D

Glad you only ncreased by 0.25 units.

Surf’s up Jack. If you haven’t already, I would give him 1-2 tsp of his regular low carb food to see if he will even out and surf the safe greens.
 
He free feeds and is sleeping next to his food bowl right now. I usually keep the bowl full at all times or he follows me around all day or wakes me up in the middle of the night lol.
 
Back
Top