? Jack 02/27 - AMPS 407, +3 308, +6 343, +8 412, PMPS 441, +2 451

AngelaMiao

Member Since 2019
So I just upped my cat to 1 unit and his BG went up. I know that cats can have higher numbers the first day that they're on a new higher dose but I feel like his numbers just keep getting worse as I increase his doses. I got a lot less green, blue and yellow while he was on 0.75 units than I did when I was on 0.25 and 0.50.

What am I doing wrong? Is it possible that this is his body resisting the insulin and that I got him used to higher numbers by allowing too much bouncing in earlier cycles?
 
Give the 1u some time, it can take up to 6 cycles for the depot to fill, so we don't expect to see an improvement in numbers straight away.

Holding on to a dose too long can lead to glucose toxicity, it's possible that the dose reductions taken down to 0.25u saw him spend a little too much time in those higher numbers which lead to glucose toxicity. It's not unusual when that happens to find that you have to take the dose up a little bit higher before you start to see a break through in numbers. You are early days yet, so don't panic, you will get there, just keep following the protocol. It took George over 9 weeks to see his first blue, and then his numbers were all over the place for a while, it takes time for them to settle down, it's normal.

As you are doing TR you want to be reassessing that dose every 6 cycles, look at the nadirs and let them guide you. He saw green only a short while ago so let's see if he gets back to it when the depot builds.

With that 62 you really had to hold on a little longer, see the instructions from the TR guidelines on increasing the dose. I don't think you have done anything wrong.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.

Hope that makes sense
 
I really hope that's it. I didn't realize he was on 0.25 for too long. He was getting some good(ish) numbers on it and was only on it for 8 cycles before I increased.

Does that mean I should only wait 3 days for his next increase if his nadir is over 200? I'm finding it difficult to follow because his last bounce took almost 6 cycles to clear so I never know what I'm looking at anymore
 
Does that mean I should only wait 3 days for his next increase if his nadir is over 200?
If in 6 cycles his nadirs don't get below 200 then you go up again after 6 cycles, no need to wait for the bounce to clear, because the dose just isn't getting him low enough, we don't need to wait to see if he'll get there again.
If he were to see blue or green, because he is new to these numbers, you'd want to wait to see if he can make it back there again. That's why the protocol allows a longer time between dose increases when they go lower.

And now I think he's bouncing off the yellows from last night :(
Possibly and maybe some New Dose Wonkiness NDW, we sometimes see numbers go up the cycle after we increase, it's just one of those things. Don't get discouraged you will get there, you're doing a great job of monitoring and gathering data so slowly the picture will become clearer to you.
Also because you get such a good spread of numbers, we can be fairly sure that you are not missing anything.

I should ask is he OK in himself? If they are under the weather, have and infection, bad teeth, constipation, for example, it can affect their numbers?How are all his 5 p's?
  • preening
  • playing
  • peeing
  • pooping
  • playing
 
Whenever he's sailing pinks, he's usually in a crappy mood, but whenever he bounces into red, he's suddenly in a great mood and very social, as if his liver is screaming THANK YOU. He's basically in a good mood as long as he's over 400 or under 250. Anything in between and he's a potato.

The peeing is pretty bad right now, that's generally how I can predict that he's over 400 before testing. He'll be peeing and sucking the water dish dry but happy and energetic. The excessive peeing and drinking usually stops around 300 for him, but his mood only improves below 250.

No infection and his teeth are okay. Only random thing I noticed is that recently he started sneezing whenever he cleans himself but it only happens once or twice a day and it's only while grooming.
 
No infection and his teeth are okay. Only random thing I noticed is that recently he started sneezing whenever he cleans himself but it only happens once or twice a day and it's only while grooming.
Great.
Odd about the sneezing grooming thing. George started sneezing last year, and had a watery eye, turned out it was his teeth, he got pretty poorly before we put two and two together.
 
With Jack it's literally only when he grooms and I can usually see the hair going in his nose when I started paying attention to it. It's just weird that he didn't do it before

I had the vet check his teeth recently and he said they were above average for his age. He doesn't even have bad breath. He had one bit of gum that looked red 2 weeks ago, but it went away after some brushing (I think it was from this spiky branch the dog brought in that I found him chewing on). No bleeding when I brushed. He doesn't have much plaque either.

I wanted to do a preventative cleaning but I'm on maternity leave and low on cash. Cost me 700$ to get him started with all this.
 
I just got my first black reading! :( It was 554 so I tested it 2 more times and got 395 and 441, so I'm guessing the 441 was the closest to accurate. But still, I've never gotten a black result before :(
 
Back
Top