AngelaMiao
Member Since 2019
Previous posts for context here and here
Is it normal for a bounce to last this long and is this really a bounce? He went down to 3.4 at +6 on February 23rd and his BG has been crap for the last 4 cycles - today he's up to 412 at +3 from a 307 pre-shot. I don't even know what to do with his dose anymore because I have no idea if the 3.4 was a fluke from something like him eating less without me noticing and it's becoming really hard to anticipate anything since he'll go from bouncing to a flat curve and back to bouncing. I can't tell if his dose is too much or too little because this is all so new to me that I just don't understand how certain things happen.
Also can't judge anything based on how he acts because today he was super energetic and social, like a new cat so I expected a good BG at +3, but nope, 412, highest reading in 5 days. He's usually in a good mood when he's under 200 or over 400, makes no sense.
Not sure how to proceed. Should I continue with 0.75 or go down to 0.50 to see if he'll bounce less? I was expecting to increase his dose but then his BG suddenly went down and now I know he's capable of achieving a 3.4 on 0.75 units. I feel like because he's bouncing for longer periods than he is in good numbers now his body is becoming accustomed to even higher numbers and making him even harder to control than it was at the beginning when we just started insulin.
Is it normal for a bounce to last this long and is this really a bounce? He went down to 3.4 at +6 on February 23rd and his BG has been crap for the last 4 cycles - today he's up to 412 at +3 from a 307 pre-shot. I don't even know what to do with his dose anymore because I have no idea if the 3.4 was a fluke from something like him eating less without me noticing and it's becoming really hard to anticipate anything since he'll go from bouncing to a flat curve and back to bouncing. I can't tell if his dose is too much or too little because this is all so new to me that I just don't understand how certain things happen.
Also can't judge anything based on how he acts because today he was super energetic and social, like a new cat so I expected a good BG at +3, but nope, 412, highest reading in 5 days. He's usually in a good mood when he's under 200 or over 400, makes no sense.
Not sure how to proceed. Should I continue with 0.75 or go down to 0.50 to see if he'll bounce less? I was expecting to increase his dose but then his BG suddenly went down and now I know he's capable of achieving a 3.4 on 0.75 units. I feel like because he's bouncing for longer periods than he is in good numbers now his body is becoming accustomed to even higher numbers and making him even harder to control than it was at the beginning when we just started insulin.
Last edited:
