? Jack 02/21 - AMPS 314, +3 350, +6 331, +9 359, PMPS 363, +2 317, +4 338

AngelaMiao

Member Since 2019
Hello,

I switched over from SLGS to TR (last post here) and I'm wondering if his current trend is normal. I increased his dose 2 days ago and he's just been cruising flat with slight increases mid-cycle (often higher post shot) and it worries me because he's had better numbers on lower doses. Jack's been feeling really crummy too, sleeping all day, hiding and eating like a madman.

I was supposed to go from 0.25 to 0.50 but messed up with my new syringes and ended up giving 0.75 twice so decided to just stick with it since he had been on 0.75 before and I lowered it before he would have earned a reduction on TR.
 
The suggestion was to increase to 0.5 units, especially as he had been seeing blue numbers. It’s possible you have gone overdose. NDW or New Dose Wonkiness just occurs in the first few cycles after an increase. That should be over by now.

Can you get a +4 tonight? With the +2 quite a bit lower than preshot, he may be going lower tonight.
 
Did my +4 - BG is up again.

Cat is very lethargic and has tremors - this always happens when his sugar is high, but usually he has better numbers at least some parts of the day, even before insulin, so it's usually not as consistant as the last couple of days. He's eating and drinking but I need to keep the bowls next to him because he doesn't want to leave the nightstand he's sleeping on.
 
No need for more tests if the +4 is up.

When was the last time Jack saw a vet? The tremors sound odd. Can you video then to show the vet?
 
Have you tested for ketones in the urine?
You can buy Ketostix from the pharmacy.. not expensive. You just need to collect a urine sample and test as directed on the bottle. It’s alwaus good to test for ketones when kitty is unregulated and/ or in high numbers. Any ketones above a trace needs a vet visit
 
Last time he saw the vet was just over two weeks ago. They tested him for infection (via blood and urine), kidneys, thyroid, and a few other things. His teeth are pretty good. He's the one cat that never has bad breath. The vet said he had good teeth and gums.

I haven't been checking his ketones which I know I should. I'm going to get some Ketostix today. What's the easiest way for me to do it? He only pees when people aren't looking (very timid bathroom habits since he was a kitten). If I were to try non-clumping litter, would I basically have to use it all the time if his blood sugar is constantly above 250? I wonder if I could tape the sides of a pee pad over the litter so that he goes on the pad and then use the urine on the pad.
 
So I just went play around with my cats teeth and I actually noticed that one of his teeth is bleeding!

I don't know what to do, I can't afford a teeth cleaning right now. I'm on maternity and just spent over 600$ on vet visits, food, Insulin, syringes and test strips. :(
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20190222-052445_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20190222-052445_Gallery.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 110
The way I've done it is by scooching a ladle under my boys bottom to retrieve a sample when he is peeing, once they have started they don't stop.
If you can't get a sample it's possible to check for ketones using a a blood meter. here's a link to a couple that I know of there are probably other brands.
Nova Max Plus or Precision Xtra Blood & Ketone meters
 
I don't know what to do, I can't afford a teeth cleaning right now. I'm on maternity and just spent over 600$ on vet visits, food, Insulin, syringes and test strips.
I'm not sure what I'm looking at in the picture you posted. I'm guessing it's the tooth at the top of the pic with the red mark that concerns you it does appear a little inflamed. He doesn't appear to have much plaque on his teeth, but there again I'm no expert.


What I can say is that bad teeth made my kitty very unwell, we knew he needed a clean but his vet here in Spain didn't want to put him under, she was afraid of the risks due to his age and diabetes, the bad teeth eventually ended up in a really bad gum infection, BG went up (he was in remission at the time), he was lethargic, and he stopped eating, was hungry but had a painful mouth, he was in a really bad way, his sinuses had also become infected, eyes were watering, he was sneezing and snorting, had a temperature, seemed dizzy, and even had some mini fits. I managed to find a vet who was willing and capable of doing a dental procedure. He was put on AB to clear up the infection, and painkillers, that immediately made him feel better, once the infection was cleared up he had the procedure he had a lot of teeth removed, just has his canines and two molars now. He recovered really well from that and went straight back into remission.
 
I got some hydrophobic sand and a small disposable litter box. Put the litter box in a 13 gallon garbage bag and then the sand in the lb. When I wanted to get urine I would put the regular LB in the bathtub and close the door and then put the lb with sand where the normal LB usually is. There isn't much sand but enough that Gizmo could "scratch" around. The pee would run off into a corner and I would use pipettes to collect and test.

Gizmo was a shy boy with bathroom duties too. :rolleyes:
 
He usually waits until I'm gone to use the litter so it's rare that I see him go in and when I do, I can't get to him without removing the lid from his litter box and he usually runs out when I take it off (he won't use it without the lid and just holds it in until I put it back or ends up peeing on the floor). I'll try the sand, but doesn't it get expensive to do that everyday? I'd have to get another of the same litter box to re-use for that since he won't pee in any other box than the ones we've been buying since he was a kitten

I wonder if putting a random Scott towel in the litter box would work. He generally explodes as soon as he gets in the litter box and doesn't look where he's peeing (he also doesn't bury his pee, never did, so I think he might just leave the soaked Scott towel in the litter box untouched). My cousin also offered to show me how to empty his bladder which might be an alternative. My cat is very tolerant of me doing random things with him lol

They did a pre-op test when he was diagnosed last month since it covered most of what they needed to check, and other than his diabetes everything was perfect, so I think he's good for anesthesia if it's needed. I tried brushing his teeth today and he doesn't seem like he's in pain at least and I surprisingly got no blood, so not sure what I was seeing this morning. But I definitely want to check it out.
 
You can use lentils or aquarium sand in the litter box. Both are non absorbant, and you can wash them afterwards. Some people put a little Saran Wrap under the litter and that will sometimes capture a little pee.

Yeah for yellow.
 
Back
Top