Izzy - Bg=41

Status
Not open for further replies.

Izzy's Buddy

Member Since 2013
Good Morning,

Izzy has been taking 2 units of Lantus twice daily and has been doing well. Her water consumption and urination have decreased. She has been very playful.

This morning, however, she was whining very loudly for food. Usually before I feed her, we play with her favorite toy. She had no interest in playing and her eyes looked funny like they were not focusing. I was concerned, so I did a BG test which was 41. I fed her her breakfast, but did not give her AM shot. She is still whining for food and I have to go to work soon. I will be home for lunch at 12 and I will call her vet when they open in 45 minutes. Is there anything else I need to do? Should I feed her more?

Thanks for your help!
 
That is a very low number. Please give her some karo syrup, a couple of drops or 1 teaspoon of gravy from High carb food to bring that number up.

Please test again now. Please.

You may have a hypoglycemic episode on your hands. This is one of the signs
She had no interest in playing and her eyes looked funny like they were not focusing.

No insulin for this morning.
 
How is izzy doing now?

The low number means the dose is too high, and it looks like your vet started her on too high a dose to start. You want to find a dose you can shoot twice a day so I would move her back to 1unit. Then hold that dose for 3-5days (unless she drops below 50 again) .

You need to let lantus build up in her system for a few days before making a dose change to allow the "depot" to build and really see how the dose is working. Lantus is best with consistency.

Wendy
 
Hello,

Izzy is acting like her normal self again. I did not give her a shot in the morning. At noon her BG was in the 276 and at 6:30 it was 436. The vet told me to give her 1.5 units 2x daily and to continue pre-shot tests.

We have been working on getting her regulated since January. We started at .5 units x2 daily and gradually moved up to 4 units x2 daily. Then it started looking like she was going into remission and she went back down to .5 units. But then she started having high numbers again. There have been lots of ups and downs... Is this normal? Or should we have found a stable dose by now?

I appreciate everyone's help with this. Izzy does, too.
 
That's good she is feeling better.

Definately continue preshot tests, shooting without those is like driving with a blindfold. Can you imagine what would have happened today if you hadn't tested!!!eeeek nailbite_smile

Also get a few midday tests in if you can. I see in April that 1.5units took her to 54 and that is almost too low (under 50) and we don't want her going too low. Personally I think it would be safe to start at 1unit and work up if it isn't good enough than to start too high and have another low like today!

In terms of getting her regulated, we might be able to help with that too if we get more info.. Firstly, what are you feeding her? Wet? Dry? Type/brand?

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top