bet you guys have had it with me
You'd lose that bet. Not even close!
I also put my complete trust in my vet, and Bob's dose went from 1u bid to 4u bid until it finally sunk in for me. A couple of weeks after I joined here, after doing tons of reading, I decided to "try something different" and I started lowering his doses. The high doses were giving me low numbers in the middle and high numbers at AMPS and PMPS like you have been seeing. When I understood that the high numbers were "bounces" caused by the low number, I started to reduce Bob's doses. Funny thing happened when I did that. All of his numbers started coming down, but not as fast and not as steep. He kept going like that and four weeks later (one year ago this week), he went off the juice.
So, even though I completely understand your faith in what the vet is telling you, and you don't really know us from Adam or Eve, all I can tell you from personal experience is that "this way works".
The 49 you saw this morning was PERFECT number. Unfortunately, it was caused by too much insulin, and the reaction was a higher number than you wanted by the time the next shot came around. There's absolutely nothing wrong with numbers around 50, as long as the AMPS and PMPS numbers aren't close to 400. When a cat goes from that high to that low and back to that high all within 12 hours, it's not going to work well. It doesn't give his pancreas any time to start healing. And until the pancreas starts to heal and can produce some insulin on his own, and his cells are able to absorb the glucose that's currently excessive in his bloodstream, then his numbers won't get better.
We want more than just the one thing Sue mentioned - trying to help Loki. We also want to help
you deal with this, so it becomes just another part of your life, something you do every day and not go crazy worrying about. So, helping you to help Loki is also at the top of our list. At the very top of the list is Loki's safety, because to all of us, he's at least part "ours" now that you both have joined our little family.
Carl