It me again

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Active Member
I bet you guys have had it with me but it's so hard not follow the vet's orders, anyway the vet said last Friday to up to 3 units and so I did and his reading this morning was 49 . I was so upset but Loki was acting normal, so I fed him and re-tested 2 hrs later and got 391. I am going back to 2 units for the next week, the vet is away anyway. I hope not to bother you guys to much but I may have too depending on his #'s and my nerves.
Will update his SS right now.
Thanks,
 
I know how it is. The vet is the professional, right? I mean, he went to school to learn how to care for our pets, right? The vet knows more than us, right?

In some cases this is very true, the vets know more than us. Unfortunately, it's not always true when it comes to diabetes. For us (humans) we can go to specialists for different issues, such as diabetes. Our pets are stuck with going to vets who are not specialized and are supposed to know about a lot of things. When our fuzzies are diagnosed with diabetes, it's obvious we start searching the internet to educate ourselves (it's how we found this place, right?).

In our searching, we find lots of information. Some of it differs, from site to site. How lucky were we to come across this place with tons of folks in the very same situation as us! I know I don't always follow the advise I'm given here, just as I don't always follow every bit of advise my vet gives. We take the advice we feel is best for our fuzzy. The same as you are doing by not giving Loki the 3u. ;-) If you were to keep following your vets directive and continue to give Loki 3u, you know what would happen, right? You are using your best judgement from everything you've learned.

That's what I like most about this place. A whole bunch of folks sharing what they've learned. :-D
 
No, we certainly have not "had it with you" :-D Everyone of us understands how hard it is to consider trusting some people on the internet over your vet. But we worry when the vet is suggesting something that we have seen be dangerous.

It is clear 2.5 units is too high (as was the 3) The scariest part of the 74 and the 49 is how low he might have been overnightif those numbers were his amps.

It is really likely that he will be high at pmps. His last shot will be 24 hours ago. But it isn't a "real" number because it isn't influenced by insulin. I would shoot 1.75 to 2 units regardless of your number, get midcyle numbers tonight and see what your amps looks like in the am. It may take several cycles to clear the bounces and skipped shots, so be patient.

And be sure to test for ketones while he is in the higher numbers.

Our only goal here is to try to help Loki.
 
bet you guys have had it with me
You'd lose that bet. Not even close!

I also put my complete trust in my vet, and Bob's dose went from 1u bid to 4u bid until it finally sunk in for me. A couple of weeks after I joined here, after doing tons of reading, I decided to "try something different" and I started lowering his doses. The high doses were giving me low numbers in the middle and high numbers at AMPS and PMPS like you have been seeing. When I understood that the high numbers were "bounces" caused by the low number, I started to reduce Bob's doses. Funny thing happened when I did that. All of his numbers started coming down, but not as fast and not as steep. He kept going like that and four weeks later (one year ago this week), he went off the juice.

So, even though I completely understand your faith in what the vet is telling you, and you don't really know us from Adam or Eve, all I can tell you from personal experience is that "this way works".

The 49 you saw this morning was PERFECT number. Unfortunately, it was caused by too much insulin, and the reaction was a higher number than you wanted by the time the next shot came around. There's absolutely nothing wrong with numbers around 50, as long as the AMPS and PMPS numbers aren't close to 400. When a cat goes from that high to that low and back to that high all within 12 hours, it's not going to work well. It doesn't give his pancreas any time to start healing. And until the pancreas starts to heal and can produce some insulin on his own, and his cells are able to absorb the glucose that's currently excessive in his bloodstream, then his numbers won't get better.

We want more than just the one thing Sue mentioned - trying to help Loki. We also want to help you deal with this, so it becomes just another part of your life, something you do every day and not go crazy worrying about. So, helping you to help Loki is also at the top of our list. At the very top of the list is Loki's safety, because to all of us, he's at least part "ours" now that you both have joined our little family.

Carl
 
Hi all, first I want to thank you for such great advise and support. I told Loki we have added to our family, he just looked at me and blinked his eyes.
Anyhow his # this AM was high but I was much calmer about it, also the covering vet called me and she was concerned also about the 3units. I explained to her that I finally understood that it will take time for his body to adjust to a different amount of insulin and that I intend to give him as much time as he needs. I started last night with 2 units and will go from there. This is what I came up with, please let me know what you think.
- 100 no insulin
200- no insulin
200-300 1 unit
300 + 2 units.
being somewhat still new I hope this scale will work, if you guys feel that it needs revision please let me know.
Thanks
 
You should bother us anytime you have a question, that's why we hang around here.

I tried to put together a sliding scale for you but there really isn't enough good data to do it.

After studying your ss the only consistant numbers you have gotten were on doses of 1 unit to 1.5 units. If it were me I think that I would start over at 1 unit and go from there.
 
Hey I am the poster child for torn between vet advice and the good input here - I've bounced back and forth myself between trying to go by the vet - after all his advice did basically get Robbie OTJ first time around (sort of) but everyone here has helped me more with so man things and the input has been invaluable. I"m going to be looking to them now for some help as something has shifted for Robbie and he is reacting to the insulin much differently. Remember you are the one who holds the needle and only you really "call the shot" so read as much as you can and absorb it all and try and talk to your vet - I've done that and gotten some good feedback from the vet on his thoughts about what I hear on this forum - he is not negative about it and while it's not how he typically advises patients it's not as far off as it once was with him and he works with me adjusting what he advises for us because of the input I give him. It's not ideal but I do feel he's on our side and understands why I don't just follow his plan blindly . Best of luck to you and trust me - these people here don't get sick of anyone - they haven't tossed me out on my ear yet and I think I've been a real pain in the ass...
 
Best of luck to you and trust me - these people here don't get sick of anyone - they haven't tossed me out on my ear yet and I think I've been a real pain in the ass...

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Our asses have a high tolerance for pain!
I have yet to see anyone (including myself) wear out their welcome in PZI. As long as you keep posting, we'll keep responding. We're family.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top